Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Intuos or Graphire??

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default Intuos or Graphire??

    Anyone has tried both?? How does it perform?? I am thinking of getting one of these.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    intuos... if u can afford it.

    everything just feels better. graphire is normally smaller size. just think... the pad = the whole of your screen, if u got a big screen, then u move abit across the small pad = a big leap in screen. hard to control sometimes.

    wacom patent the pens, it feels nicer cos its light as there is no batteries. and intuos have variety of pens to choose from also.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Intuos has "palletes" which the graphire don't ... they act more like shortcut keys ... instead of pressing a key combo and working on the tablet at the same time.

    When buying tablets... try not to scrimp and get the smallest as you might face the problem DCA mentioned.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    I am using a A6 Graphire with a 19" LCD screen. No compainto so far.

    My Graphire has been with me for 5 years. I have dropped the pen so many times that the joint is cracked and the side switch falls out. But it is still useable. I have a new pen ordered online. The new Graphire 4 pen has a better grip as it is fatter and rubbery. It has a sexy feel about it.

    I switched to using pen tablet because I developed tendontitis on my right elbow because of long hours of computer work.

    Intuos costs double of Graphire. I can't afford it but there is nothing to stop me to lust about it. If you can't afford a classy and sexy Intuos, marry a Graphire. It will make a good wife.

    Now where did I put the damned Gaphire pen again?

  5. #5
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Depending on your drawing style, getting too big a pad may have a problem. If you're artist trained and draw from the elbow, then a big pad is good. If you're not artist-trained or draw from the wrist, then a smaller pad may be worth considering.

  6. #6
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    i'm using the wacom pen partner. super small but it works well for me.
    tried both intuos and graphire liao but all too big and thus slow down my work.

    i dont really need very precise control when using tablets cuz i use it mostly for masking and such. if precision is required, i would go back to using a mouse.

    palettes are kinda useless for me too cuz i'm too used to keyboard shortcuts.
    sigh.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    intuos... if u can afford it.

    everything just feels better. graphire is normally smaller size. just think... the pad = the whole of your screen, if u got a big screen, then u move abit across the small pad = a big leap in screen. hard to control sometimes.

    wacom patent the pens, it feels nicer cos its light as there is no batteries. and intuos have variety of pens to choose from also.
    Actually I think 'Your Mileage May Vary' ..
    I have used a 6x8 before and traded that in for a smaller 4x5..
    Cos it was really tiring to use the 6x8 for long periods of time as the whole hand has to move across the tablet.. with the 4x5, my hand remains stationary, only my wrist moves..

    By the way I use a dual screen.. and the 4x5 is still ok.. would prefer the new wide version. .think it's 6x11..

  8. #8

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by willyfoo
    Actually I think 'Your Mileage May Vary' ..
    I have used a 6x8 before and traded that in for a smaller 4x5..
    Cos it was really tiring to use the 6x8 for long periods of time as the whole hand has to move across the tablet.. with the 4x5, my hand remains stationary, only my wrist moves..

    By the way I use a dual screen.. and the 4x5 is still ok.. would prefer the new wide version. .think it's 6x11..
    Willy, when you are using 2 screens, the tablet just split up into 2 sections, one for each?

    I use an Intous now, got one of the big ones, can be difficult to navigate as I have to move my arm all over, but then when I have to do detailed stuff, it's amazing. Compromises.
    deadpoet
    my portfolio

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpoet
    Willy, when you are using 2 screens, the tablet just split up into 2 sections, one for each?

    I use an Intous now, got one of the big ones, can be difficult to navigate as I have to move my arm all over, but then when I have to do detailed stuff, it's amazing. Compromises.
    tats the advantage...

    normally i set my mouse to sensitive, so can move fast, then tablet to draw fine stuff.

    if set to wide screen on normal tablet, u have multiple options...

    1 is use the default screen, or use both, sacrifice the bottom & top become longitudinal, or have distorted full panel...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    525

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpoet
    Willy, when you are using 2 screens, the tablet just split up into 2 sections, one for each?

    I use an Intous now, got one of the big ones, can be difficult to navigate as I have to move my arm all over, but then when I have to do detailed stuff, it's amazing. Compromises.
    If it's the big ones why not just set the quickpoint mode and use a smaller area. Can be set one. I set a small square at the top on my 9x12 top right for quick navigation and a larger on the bottom left for rotoscoping work. Now, I can't go back to using a mouse anymore.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpoet
    Willy, when you are using 2 screens, the tablet just split up into 2 sections, one for each?

    I use an Intous now, got one of the big ones, can be difficult to navigate as I have to move my arm all over, but then when I have to do detailed stuff, it's amazing. Compromises.
    Yes.. splits into 2 sections.. but I checked 'Force Proportions', which uses only uses the top 45% approx of the top portion of the 4x5.. which I'm still comfortable with.. meaning my tablet becomes only a 2x5 effective..

    When I need to do fine work, I just zoom in with photoshop..
    Of course the new wide version is nice..
    http://www.wacom.com.sg/price/intuos...s3_A5wide.html

    Anybody wants my 4x5 so I can upgrade??

  12. #12

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by viix
    If it's the big ones why not just set the quickpoint mode and use a smaller area. Can be set one. I set a small square at the top on my 9x12 top right for quick navigation and a larger on the bottom left for rotoscoping work. Now, I can't go back to using a mouse anymore.
    I can't seem to find the quickpoint mode... where is it accessed?? or am I using an older driver? 4.93-3

  13. #13
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    I also don't recall a quickpoint mode that allows you to separate the tablet area like that....or maybe cos I'm using a outdated Graphire 2 :P

    Quote Originally Posted by willyfoo
    I can't seem to find the quickpoint mode... where is it accessed?? or am I using an older driver? 4.93-3

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by vince123123
    I also don't recall a quickpoint mode that allows you to separate the tablet area like that....or maybe cos I'm using a outdated Graphire 2 :P
    should be in the intuos driver...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    should be in the intuos driver...
    Downloaded and installed the newest version.. still can't find it..

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,884

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    I use Graphire 6X8" . So far no compalint. Its good enough for my usage to do minor touch ups for wedding day shots.

    I am quite attached to it now, some times I even use it to surf net...ha ha....

  17. #17

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    It is Intuos for me. I have been using it for almost 7 years, from the original Intuos to the current Intuos 3.

    If you can afford, go for 21" Clintiq.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by willyfoo
    Downloaded and installed the newest version.. still can't find it..
    It's in the mapping tab. Select from the tablet area drop down selection box.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Thanks for all the great feedback. So it seems that the Intuos would be a better buy if the budget allows but the Graphire is sufficient for photoediting. Any shops to recommand for a good price?


  20. #20

    Default Re: Intuos or Graphire??

    Quote Originally Posted by Zplus
    Thanks for all the great feedback. So it seems that the Intuos would be a better buy if the budget allows but the Graphire is sufficient for photoediting. Any shops to recommand for a good price?

    sorry, im too lazy to read through. as far as i know graphire is good enough, even though i use a very old intuos. oh yeah you don't really need big ones, 6x8" is a good size, any bigger is for the better of your wrist so you use arm more, but its really more tiring and generally for ppl who work on it around the clock. ^^ graphire shouldn' be ex these days..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •