Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > IR/UV Photography

IR/UV Photography Seeing the world in a different light.

Old 21st August 2006   #1
teerex

Default Night Photography

Test shot done earlier tonight from my balcony. Apologies for the bad composition, just want to share these pics and seeking opinions.

Maybe with better composition and scene, we can participate in the Night Photography Sub-Forum as well

Night IR

Old 21st August 2006   #2
quekky

Default Re: Night Photography

not much color, same as what i usually get

if u set iso1600, u could try handheld
Old 21st August 2006   #3
cerebrus

25 seconds....

Interesting concept, get a different viewpoint.
Sponsored Link
Old 21st August 2006   #4
teerex

Originally Posted by quekky
not much color, same as what i usually get

if u set iso1600, u could try handheld
Post your pics and show lah! You have a modded cam for so long and the only pic from you is the one of your friend shot at night with a flash.

Can share some of your landscape shots from the modded cam for comparison or for some to view so that they can see what type of results can be got from a modded cam.

A picture is worth a thousand words. Show some pics better than saying "mod, mod, mod"

No hard feelings, but I'm just saying what I feel.
Old 21st August 2006   #5
teerex

Originally Posted by cerebrus
25 seconds....

Interesting concept, get a different viewpoint.
I have been wondering what night IR would be like, so gave it a try tonight. Yes agree, gives a different viewpoint/concept to night photography.

Will go to city to shoot some more to share with you guys.
Old 21st August 2006   #6
quekky

i'll try to pp my photos and post them. at the meantime take a look at the fireworks i posted at irphoto
Old 21st August 2006   #7
teerex

Originally Posted by quekky

i'll try to pp my photos and post them. at the meantime take a look at the fireworks i posted at irphoto
Saw that liao.

How about some landscapes? Share with us leh!
Old 22nd August 2006   #8
Incastasman

Hmmm not bat leh..i wanna try..hehe
Old 22nd August 2006   #9
teerex

Originally Posted by Incastasman
Hmmm not bat leh..i wanna try..hehe
I think can be better with more practice.

Will contact you when I get the cable release.
Old 22nd August 2006   #10
gooseberry

Interesting stuff teerex, looks good.
Old 22nd August 2006   #11
teerex

Originally Posted by gooseberry
Interesting stuff teerex, looks good.
Just playing around with the cam. Will have to improve on sharpness and control of the highlights.
Old 22nd August 2006   #12
Hosea

Lee, this pix looks interesting...particularly the blur trees in the midst of exp lighting.
Which IR Filter+ cam you used and are u using the mod IR camera?
Did u used tripod for this photo?
Can you share your post processing too?
Curious on why only certain light position ( ground floor) and one on highest floor turn
bluish?
Good Idea to have IR Night photography..
Old 22nd August 2006   #13
teerex

Originally Posted by Hosea
Lee, this pix looks interesting...particularly the blur trees in the midst of exp lighting.
Which IR Filter+ cam you used and are u using the mod IR camera?
Did u used tripod for this photo?
Can you share your post processing too?
Curious on why only certain light position ( ground floor) and one on highest floor turn
bluish?
Good Idea to have IR Night photography..
The blury trees is what attracts me in the pic, that's why I want to try more of this.

Done with tripod mounted Mod D70 and filter almost same wavelength as the P007 at f/8, 25sec.

Post processing is channel swap and H/S done to reduce the blue in some of the lights.

The bluish lights you see are from flourescent tubes, and the white lights are from incandacent and sodium light from the street lamps.
Old 22nd August 2006   #14
Hosea

Originally Posted by teerex
The blury trees is what attracts me in the pic, that's why I want to try more of this.

Done with tripod mounted Mod D70 and filter almost same wavelength as the P007 at f/8, 25sec.

Post processing is channel swap and H/S done to reduce the blue in some of the lights.

The bluish lights you see are from flourescent tubes, and the white lights are from incandacent and sodium light from the street lamps.
Thx lee.. do u used a normal day-light IR WB for this photo too? Wonder there would be
a different if shoot with a non-mod cam.
Old 22nd August 2006   #15
teerex

Originally Posted by Hosea
Thx lee.. do u used a normal day-light IR WB for this photo too? Wonder there would be
a different if shoot with a non-mod cam.
CWB was set in daylight on 18% gray card.

Why not try it on one of your night shoots with a non-mod cam and show us your results. It may open another avenue for IR photography.
Old 22nd August 2006   #16
Hosea

Originally Posted by teerex
CWB was set in daylight on 18% gray card.

Why not try it on one of your night shoots with a non-mod cam and show us your results. It may open another avenue for IR photography.
Let me try one of these night. Btw, wonder why choose 18% gray.. is
there any theory behind this..thx for sharing.

Last edited by Hosea; 22nd August 2006 at 01:14 PM.
Old 22nd August 2006   #17
archlover

try it few times... >_<
some of the samples... original from the cam, no processing, wb on normal green grass...

#1 about 7pm... still quite bright...

#2 about 9pm... no sunlight, put in the floor 4 secs...

uhmm without the sun the color more blue-ish, while got some sunlight color more purple-ish... >_<
Old 22nd August 2006   #18
Hosea

Archlover,
Is this with mod cam?
#2 can see the glow of leaves( character of IR)as compared to #1
Old 22nd August 2006   #19
archlover

Stan, yea its my mod cam..
#2 more glowing maybe because got direct light from the spotlight under it...
i think the ir not only catch infrared light from the sun but also from the lamp / artificial lighting...
Old 22nd August 2006   #20
Hosea

Originally Posted by archlover
Stan, yea its my mod cam..
#2 more glowing maybe because got direct light from the spotlight under it...
i think the ir not only catch infrared light from the sun but also from the lamp / artificial lighting...
Thanks Well ! #2 is a good indication that you can have beautiful IR landscape photograph s as long as there are strong lighting ( street or spot light) with your mod IR cam.
Just hv to play with the wb....
Now I hv to check whether it works with non mod cam. Love my current IR preset wb.. not sure when I will try on this.Thx for sharing.
Closed Thread