Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 57

Thread: Hdr

  1. #1

    Default Hdr

    anyone konw can photoshop cs2 generate HDR photo ?

    Last edited by Chew Siow Ming; 21st August 2006 at 07:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    2,836

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    anyone konw can photoshop cs2 generate HDR photo ?

    Download Photomatrix, its a free software that allows you to generate a HDR photo.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by wildstallion
    Download Photomatrix, its a free software that allows you to generate a HDR photo.
    tks, I know photomatix pro2.2 can generate HDR, just wondering can ps cs2 perform the same operation ? if yes, how ??

    http://www.hdrsoft.com/

  4. #4

    Default Re: Hdr

    Hi,

    I have come across this tutorial:
    NatureScapes - The High Dynamic Range (HDR) Landscape Photography Tutorial

    and in one of the steps the author describes using Photoshop CS2 for the HDR workflow.

    Hope this helps abit.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by ah.zeep
    Hi,

    I have come across this tutorial:
    NatureScapes - The High Dynamic Range (HDR) Landscape Photography Tutorial

    and in one of the steps the author describes using Photoshop CS2 for the HDR workflow.

    Hope this helps abit.
    I am getting a fault msg "there is not enough dynamic range in these photos to construct a useful HDR image" while attempting to merge my 3 pic into HDR using PS Automate->merge to HDR function..... what does that mean ??
    Last edited by Chew Siow Ming; 22nd August 2006 at 07:58 AM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Hdr

    Maybe your 3 images's exposure is too close thus not much difference in dynamic range?

    Anyway, photomatix generates nicer HDR images compared to Photoshop based on my experiences.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by silvergetz
    Maybe your 3 images's exposure is too close thus not much difference in dynamic range?

    Anyway, photomatix generates nicer HDR images compared to Photoshop based on my experiences.
    my 3 photos are bracketed @ 3EV apart.

    I tried opening photomatix generated HDR file in PS, but unable to save it as JPEC format.
    and HDR file seems to be alot over exposed when opened in PS, is this normal ?
    plse help... thks

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: Hdr

    Hi there,

    Please follow this tutorial about HDR tonemapping in Photomatix. Hope it helps. Cheers!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/amery/100264396/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/amery/100264209/

    Hazmee

  9. #9

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee
    Hi there,

    Please follow this tutorial about HDR tonemapping in Photomatix. Hope it helps. Cheers!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/amery/100264396/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/amery/100264209/

    Hazmee

    thks.... actually what I meant was, after generating the HDR image in photomatix + tone mapped.... there isn't a JPG file option in the SAVE AS, hence I saved it as TIFF, and I open the photomatix HDR image in photoshop, it also doesn't have a JPG option in the SAVE AS.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Hdr

    HDR files are 32bit/channel. U have to change the setting to 8bit/channel before you can save as JPEG. Hope this helps.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    thks.... actually what I meant was, after generating the HDR image in photomatix + tone mapped.... there isn't a JPG file option in the SAVE AS, hence I saved it as TIFF, and I open the photomatix HDR image in photoshop, it also doesn't have a JPG option in the SAVE AS.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut
    HDR files are 32bit/channel. U have to change the setting to 8bit/channel before you can save as JPEG. Hope this helps.
    Hey ! it works... tks alot

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Hdr

    No prob. Can share your HDR pic? I am trying to learn HDR too...but my S3 IS can only expose upto 15sec...

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    Hey ! it works... tks alot

  13. #13
    Senior Member yilishengxian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pandan 花园
    Posts
    3,925

    Default Re: Hdr

    I did one example .



    I know not nice, but its HDR ...
    Every Photo Speaks for its Photographer. 开心就好。
    I wanna be the no.1 GWC !!!

  14. #14

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut
    No prob. Can share your HDR pic? I am trying to learn HDR too...but my S3 IS can only expose upto 15sec...
    actually I just started ystdy. took a pic outside my house, still trying hard to learn the tone mapping, looks like Photomatix can generate a much better HDR image than PS. post my lousy result in a minute.....

    I bracket my exposure in an increment/decrement of 1EV, total 5 pic were taken. i.e. >> -2EV, -1EV, 0EV, +1EV & +2EV. REMEMBER to use tripod hor..... unless you have damn steady hands

    you can try Photomatix trial version to merge all 5 pics follow by performing a tone mapping & finally save.

    don't bother to use PS, result not as good as photomatix.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Hdr

    Hi yilishengxian,

    Thanks for sharing. Did you using Exposure bracket or shutter speed?

    and I think your "Signature" on the pic can be improved abit...it's slanted and the font is a bit out for the pic.....hope you dun mind my opinion.

    Quote Originally Posted by yilishengxian
    I did one example .



    I know not nice, but its HDR ...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Hdr

    I having been using shutter speed rather than exposure...is the photomatix trail time base? 30days only?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    actually I just started ystdy. took a pic outside my house, still trying hard to learn the tone mapping, looks like Photomatix can generate a much better HDR image than PS. post my lousy result in a minute.....

    I bracket my exposure in an increment/decrement of 1EV, total 5 pic were taken. i.e. >> -2EV, -1EV, 0EV, +1EV & +2EV. REMEMBER to use tripod hor..... unless you have damn steady hands

    you can try Photomatix trial version to merge all 5 pics follow by performing a tone mapping & finally save.

    don't bother to use PS, result not as good as photomatix.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut
    No prob. Can share your HDR pic? I am trying to learn HDR too...but my S3 IS can only expose upto 15sec...
    after seeing yilishengxian HDR, actually i was abit reluctant to post mine here... too embarrass to post mine. no time to go out to shot, just took a pic outside my house....

    TADANG...... MY 1st HDR... don't laugh hor.



    as you can see... there are watermarks printed too, its trial version, thats why.

  18. #18
    Senior Member yilishengxian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pandan 花园
    Posts
    3,925

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut
    Hi yilishengxian,

    Thanks for sharing. Did you using Exposure bracket or shutter speed?

    and I think your "Signature" on the pic can be improved abit...it's slanted and the font is a bit out for the pic.....hope you dun mind my opinion.
    I used exposure bracketing and continuous shooting to get 3 different exposures of the image of +/- 1.5 EV. Then used photomatix to create the HDR image.

    As for my signature. I'm using a new one, but its slanted too and the same position. Personal preference.
    Every Photo Speaks for its Photographer. 开心就好。
    I wanna be the no.1 GWC !!!

  19. #19
    Senior Member yilishengxian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pandan 花园
    Posts
    3,925

    Default Re: Hdr

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    after seeing yilishengxian HDR, actually i was abit reluctant to post mine here... too embarrass to post mine. no time to go out to shot, just took a pic outside my house....

    TADANG...... MY 1st HDR... don't laugh hor.



    as you can see... there are watermarks printed too, its trial version, thats why.
    Well your 1st time was better than my 1st time .
    Every Photo Speaks for its Photographer. 开心就好。
    I wanna be the no.1 GWC !!!

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Hdr

    Hey nice effect on the antenna wire! If only the sky is more dramatic.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    after seeing yilishengxian HDR, actually i was abit reluctant to post mine here... too embarrass to post mine. no time to go out to shot, just took a pic outside my house....

    TADANG...... MY 1st HDR... don't laugh hor.



    as you can see... there are watermarks printed too, its trial version, thats why.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •