Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 91

Thread: Dual display

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Behind a lens
    Posts
    2,312

    Default Dual display

    Anyone here used dual display monitor intensively for photo editing?

    Was thinking of getting a 20/24" wide LCD but my present monitor is working perfectly ok. So, kind of waste to sell/throw. I wanted dual more space as my 17" is kind of too small when I used photoshop due to all those actions/layer etc.

    Need some recomendation for AGP dual display card too. Ya, my present LCD is analog one, so need at least 1 analog output.

    I used my setup mainly for photo editing, internet and office applications.

    Thanks all.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Dual display

    I am using dual display for Photoshop, a 17" and a 21" LCD monitor (both Samsungs). One thing I must warn you is two displays will take up quite a bit of your tabletop space, therefore you'll need a table of at least 6'.

    For me, besides the two monitors, I also have a medium format film scanner, a 6x8 tablet, wireless keyboard and mouse, speakers, an external hardrive, an Epson A3 printer and my little coffee/soda corner. I have an 8' table .

    Most new video cards support 2 monitors with digital and analog outputs. You can't go wrong with either ATI or Nvidia based cards. Choose one with a memory of at least 256MB. You don't need a really hi-end video card for image editing. A mid-range model will do the job perfectly.
    Last edited by photobum; 7th August 2006 at 08:54 PM.

  3. #3
    Member NeTHaCk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    786

    Default Re: Dual display

    actually, what i normally do is hook up an old s3 PCI graphics card ( NOT Pci-E) and use both graphics card, agp and also the pci graphics.

    if u find 17'' too small, try 19" ..
    Nikon D7000 : Tamron 17-50VC f2.8, SB-900
    Nikon D90 : Nikon 18-105 VR, SB-600

  4. #4

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum
    I am using dual display for Photoshop, a 17" and a 21" LCD monitor (both Samsungs). One thing I must warn you is two displays will take up quite a bit of your tabletop space, therefore you'll need a table of at least 6'.

    For me, besides the two monitors, I also have a medium format film scanner, a 6x8 tablet, wireless keyboard and mouse, speakers, an external hardrive, an Epson A3 printer and my little coffee/soda corner. I have an 8' table .

    Most new video cards support 2 monitors with digital and analog outputs. You can't go wrong with either ATI or Nvidia based cards. Choose one with a memory of at least 256MB. You don't need a really hi-end video card for image editing. A mid-range model will do the job perfectly.
    Can you please share which Samsung model you are using in 21" ???

  5. #5

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiip
    Can you please share which Samsung model you are using in 21" ???
    Samsung 214T (not a widescreen model).
    Last edited by photobum; 8th August 2006 at 08:19 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default Re: Dual display

    Check on Joho's Blog.....he has one 24 inch Dell Wide Screen Display and 2 x 19 inch CRTs.

    His table is about 6 feet in length and 3 feet in width.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by binbeto
    Anyone here used dual display monitor intensively for photo editing?

    Was thinking of getting a 20/24" wide LCD but my present monitor is working perfectly ok. So, kind of waste to sell/throw. I wanted dual more space as my 17" is kind of too small when I used photoshop due to all those actions/layer etc.

    Need some recomendation for AGP dual display card too. Ya, my present LCD is analog one, so need at least 1 analog output.

    I used my setup mainly for photo editing, internet and office applications.

    Thanks all.
    Just one point to note though... It's best you get a card with a dual output and use identical monitors because in Windows, you only get to use one monitor profile for both monitors. Another way is to profile one monitor for the images and use the other for the menu etc etc. I don't know if there are other solutions available because I would definitely like to profile each monitor independently.
    Last edited by lsisaxon; 8th August 2006 at 11:07 AM.

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    3,539

    Default Re: Dual display

    Ah bin, what you need is.

    Mac Pro

    Support up to 8 30" Apple Cinema Displays

  9. #9

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Check on Joho's Blog.....he has one 24 inch Dell Wide Screen Display and 2 x 19 inch CRTs.

    His table is about 6 feet in length and 3 feet in width.
    Does he have a Nikon Coolscan 8000, a Wacom Intuos 6x8 tablet, a pair of Altec Lansing satelite speakers and an Epson R2400 printer on his table?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    http://360.itcow.com
    Posts
    2,363

    Default Re: Dual display

    2 x 24" will never go wrong no matter what you do with them.





    more @ http://manman.homedns.org:2625/geekl...umName=album96
    Last edited by etegration; 9th August 2006 at 01:33 AM.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Behind a lens
    Posts
    2,312

    Default Re: Dual display

    Thanks for all the reply..

    Workspace could be a problem... even if 2x17", needs to do quite a bit of adjustment.

    No $$ to buy Mac pro..

    2x24" is out due to cost.. haa haa

    I will be doing profile for the monitor I used for the pic.. No need profile for the lcd for those tools bar I guess..

    Will properly look see at the coming IT show.

    Any pitfall in using 2 lcd beside space consideration?

  12. #12
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    3,539

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by binbeto
    Any pitfall in using 2 lcd beside space consideration?
    Can't think of any

  13. #13
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,170

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by _espn_
    Can't think of any
    2x19" < 1x24"
    ???

  14. #14

    Default Re: Dual display

    i can profile both monitors seperately leh using ATI 9000 only

  15. #15

    Default Re: Dual display

    walao sibei kiasu..
    Tink you guys got wide-angle eyes..

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by firestone
    walao sibei kiasu..
    Tink you guys got wide-angle eyes..
    Actually our eyes is quite wide.......

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum
    Does he have a Nikon Coolscan 8000, a Wacom Intuos 6x8 tablet, a pair of Altec Lansing satelite speakers and an Epson R2400 printer on his table?
    I don't think so yet......

  18. #18
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,170

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Actually our eyes is quite wide.......
    YA... we always pan to look for beautiful things.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by quekky
    i can profile both monitors seperately leh using ATI 9000 only
    Being able top profile 2 monitors seperately is different from being able to load 2 seperate profiles, one for each monitor. To do that under Windows, you generally need either 2 seperate graphics cards or a single graphics card that supports seperate LUT's (typically, this would be a higher-end Matrox solution).

  20. #20

    Default Re: Dual display

    Quote Originally Posted by Firefox
    Being able top profile 2 monitors seperately is different from being able to load 2 seperate profiles, one for each monitor. To do that under Windows, you generally need either 2 seperate graphics cards or a single graphics card that supports seperate LUT's (typically, this would be a higher-end Matrox solution).
    i can see both monitors have a different colors before and after i profile them. ie. after I profile monitor 1, monitor 2 didn't change color. then when i profile monitor 2, monitor 1 was still the same but the colors for monitor 2 changes. i dunno much about what cards can do this what cards cant do this, i just happy with what i got

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •