Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Problem with developing digital prints

  1. #1
    Checkers
    Guests

    Default Problem with developing digital prints

    Thanks for clicking on this thread,

    Had a problem at adelphi's Colourlab Photofinishing...

    The shop rejected some of my images cos their software can only read files edited by photoshop 5.5 and below...( i'm using photoshop 6)
    So how am i going to crop and do other adjustments?

    Is the only solution to find photoshop 5.5 or to totally dun edit the image?

    Is this the same for other digital labs?


  2. #2
    Member kiama's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    .SG
    Posts
    1,074

    Default

    what kind of software are they using? for reading the images ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    you could use the software that came with your digicam.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    557

    Default Re: Problem with developing digital prints

    Why not save file as TIFF or large JPEGs.

    Originally posted by Checkers
    Thanks for clicking on this thread,

    Had a problem at adelphi's Colourlab Photofinishing...

    The shop rejected some of my images cos their software can only read files edited by photoshop 5.5 and below...( i'm using photoshop 6)
    So how am i going to crop and do other adjustments?

    Is the only solution to find photoshop 5.5 or to totally dun edit the image?

    Is this the same for other digital labs?

    Camera with no built-in flash, some lenses, some Lights.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/pentiumpc/

  5. #5

    Default Re: Re: Problem with developing digital prints

    Originally posted by PentiumPC
    Why not save file as TIFF or large JPEGs.

    If i am not wrong, the other time i was there, a man also use TIFF file, but was rejected. Their software can't read TIFF... Big joke!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,315

    Default Re: Re: Re: Problem with developing digital prints

    Originally posted by bearycute

    If i am not wrong, the other time i was there, a man also use TIFF file, but was rejected. Their software can't read TIFF... Big joke!
    then try other lab, why bother there?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    397

    Default

    As long as the file is save as JPEG should be ok. I edited my image using PS7 and saveas JPEG, no issue.
    They are using Fujifilm FinePix Viewer to browse the image, this is to ensure all the image are readable.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    557

    Default Re: Re: Re: Problem with developing digital prints

    I never had problems with TIFF even 16bpp TIFFs, so change Lab...

    Originally posted by bearycute


    If i am not wrong, the other time i was there, a man also use TIFF file, but was rejected. Their software can't read TIFF... Big joke!
    Camera with no built-in flash, some lenses, some Lights.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/pentiumpc/

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    Haven't sent to colorlab for digi prints yet but maybe this will help:

    I find out that I need to remove the exif info from the image as it is no longer true to the adjusted image. (I'm using photo elements). I think the machince had priority in choosing the size set by the exif info compare to the actual pixels of the file.

    I use fotohub (35mm at Bt Timah). They can read TIFF files.
    Initially, I had problems because of the above mentioned.
    I resample my 1280 x 853 files to 1800 x 1200 for them to print. Some print ok, some don't.

    After removing the exif info, it works fine now!

  10. #10

    Default

    Note that Photoshop 7.0 has a known problem with creating JPG files. Photoshop 7.01 solves this problem and is an essential upgrade if you are using jpg format.

    However, note that that 7.01 will not be able to patch many of the Photoshop 7.0 installations as the 7.01 patch contains an internal database of known pirated copies of 7.0. If the patch detects a known pirated copy (via serial number), the patch will not install.

  11. #11
    Checkers
    Guests

    Default

    I sent in JPG format...

    Not sure wat software they are using...
    Thanks for all Yur suggestions peeps...

    change lab? i like the colours done at adelphi...
    = P


  12. #12

    Default

    Really? What kind of problems will occur? I just edited my photos on Photoshop 7.0 and have sent them for developing.


    Originally posted by robinchee
    Note that Photoshop 7.0 has a known problem with creating JPG files. Photoshop 7.01 solves this problem and is an essential upgrade if you are using jpg format.

    However, note that that 7.01 will not be able to patch many of the Photoshop 7.0 installations as the 7.01 patch contains an internal database of known pirated copies of 7.0. If the patch detects a known pirated copy (via serial number), the patch will not install.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Re: Re: Problem with developing digital prints

    Originally posted by bearycute


    If i am not wrong, the other time i was there, a man also use TIFF file, but was rejected. Their software can't read TIFF... Big joke!
    Most software can only read Uncompressed TIFF. TIFF files can come with LZH, ZIP or even JPG compression schemes.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore bo gway hai!
    Posts
    396

    Default

    i actually gotten some prints back from colourlab adelphi.....

    but results not so good.......a bit of underexposure on some prints...

    if tampines mall is a good location for u...i think its a nice place to develop ur prints there.......

    I did print mine there a couple of times there...n the results are not bad ...to me tho..

    At least i get what i see on my monitor...
    n they bothered to brighten up quite "terok" underexposed pics ....whereas colourlab didn't

    my 2cents

  15. #15
    Checkers
    Guests

    Default

    they will just not develop those that have been edited by photoshop 7...


    Think for photolab, you have to specifically ask not to edit your photos else the default is they would edit it rite?
    I told them not to edit and I got what i saw in my monitor...
    is this the case for all?

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    557

    Default

    I have actually done that. I did 1 batch ask them not to adjust anything.

    It came out underexposed, adjusted my monitor and send out another batch, this time it is actually quite close.

    Now I let them adjust abit, you can see what they adjust from the back of the photo.

    I guess we can never calibrate our monitor to their photo printer unless we have the target profile and our monitor must be calibrated. Other factor come into play as well e.g when they change the chemicals.

    For me 70-80% close is good enough, usually the exposure is around there, as for colour, they will adjust abit.
    I am happy with what I get up to now.

    Originally posted by Checkers
    they will just not develop those that have been edited by photoshop 7...


    Think for photolab, you have to specifically ask not to edit your photos else the default is they would edit it rite?
    I told them not to edit and I got what i saw in my monitor...
    is this the case for all?
    Camera with no built-in flash, some lenses, some Lights.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/pentiumpc/

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •