Thread: How do I do this?

Talking How do I do this?

Hi all,

I am not a professional and I still shoot mainly in film.

I would appreciate if anyone out here can tell me how Lisa Cohen gets her shots done. Here's the link:

http://www.lisacohenphotography.com/

They are contrasty, sometimes over exposed, there's a grainy feel to the images and the blacks are really solid. Almost graphical but yet you can tell they are photos.

Really hoping to see this effect on film rather than on digital prints manipulated by Photoshop.

Thanks!

Default Re: How do I do this?

If we're not talking about any post work later (given negs can be scanned and then becomes "digital")... i stress no post work (except maybe a bit of lab work for negatives)

A good understanding of lighting, metering/exposure, the way different films react to light (a quick generic way is slides more contrasty, punchy blacks, vs more subdued more latitude neg film). You'll need to have the necessary equipment. A good sense of what you want to achieve.

Say for eg. the walnut cake and glass of red juice on the main page. You could do a rough one by have a white backdrop and placing it near your window. The source of light would have to be a strong but diffuse (no direct sunlight unless u got a diffuser). You'll also need to fill up the shadow side with a white card or similar and your final shot is about 1 feet across tops, since we're not involving any lights (if you do, then you can try to use it, but the fill side has to be very soft) There is generally insufficient light in this very cheap setup, so camera on tripod and long exposure is good. DoF seems quite deep, so a 5.6 or 8 on a 50mm sounds pretty okay. (Film wise, it's somewhere btwn slide and neg???)

Your colour temperature has to be spot on for slides and if neg, i think you can do some tweaking when printing at the lab. Otherwise, a range of CC filters would be needed. It's a bit towards the cold side maybe 6000k on a 5600k film??