Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Droplets on filter

  1. #1

    Question Droplets on filter

    Hi Everyone,

    I can capture water droplets on the filter to my photo...
    but this does not happened to my film EOS300 camera...
    I thought we will not be able to capture whatever that is on the filter....
    Is this because EOS300 is using TLL system???

    Any software or help available to save my photo if the droplets are captured?


    Shenny

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Quote Originally Posted by shenny
    Hi Everyone,

    I can capture water droplets on the filter to my photo...
    but this does not happened to my film EOS300 camera...
    I thought we will not be able to capture whatever that is on the filter....
    Is this because EOS300 is using TLL system???

    Any software or help available to save my photo if the droplets are captured?


    Shenny
    .

    Any picture to show?

    Regards,
    Arto.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Depends on focal length, aperature setting or is it just dust on yr sensor?

    Tell us yr camera used, lens and best is show us the photo. just crop out a bit if not convenient to show whole photo. With PS some photo can be saved.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    I am using DMC FZ30 and at that phototaking time, it was drizzling...

    My pictures can be seen, nice & clear but there are blurry patches on my photos...
    I will try to upload one later as I am working now....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    I get what you mean liao. Initially I tot you can see water droplets clearly on the photo. Your photo got this blur blur effect right? Well you got yourself a free soft focus filter. In the early photography days, sometimes we create a soft focus filter for potrait shots by breathing into the filter or apply some gel onto the filter to get a soft image. Well water droplet also gives this effect unfortunately for your case.

    If the damage is not too much, can use PS to clone and try to restore the photo if it means a lot to you. otherwise, just reshoot. PS can do wonders. I just attended a demo on the power of PS.
    Last edited by DeSwitch; 31st July 2006 at 10:58 AM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Hi DeSwitch,

    I know what you meant too... But this time, it left blur patches on my photo instead..
    So it meant that digital camera capture whatever it is on the filter too..
    If not, it is because the droplets went to other compartments of my camera? Any advise?

    This is the photo link, not sure if this work....
    <a href=http://shennydotcom.multiply.com/photos/album/6>Droplet Patches</a>

  7. #7

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Check this instead... manage to upload... can PS save this image?

    Last edited by shenny; 5th August 2006 at 06:03 PM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    It also depends on how big your sensor and aperature. when u use a smaller aperature, object right infront of the lens will be quite clear. however, when you are using a bigger aperature, it will almost dissapear.

  9. #9

    Exclamation Re: Droplets on filter

    wow... abit hard to save this pic.... the droplets are BIG!

    Next time remember to clean ur lens before shooting!

    Quote Originally Posted by shenny
    Check this instead... manage to upload... can PS save this image?


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Quote Originally Posted by shenny
    Check this instead... manage to upload... can PS save this image?

    Sorry didnt check this section the past days. I think it can be saved with PS. I try and see first.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    OK, I tried to rescue the photo but I notice that the resolution and sharpness of this photo is not that good to start with. Nevertheless it can be done. As the original image is of low quality, I can only do a rough one just to show that it can be done.


  12. #12

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Brilliant!!! How you did it? You didn't use clone tool right?
    I can't upload a higher resolution file...
    And I have a few more with my friend on it...
    I would appreciate if you can share with me on how you save the photo?

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Quote Originally Posted by shenny
    Brilliant!!! How you did it? You didn't use clone tool right?
    I can't upload a higher resolution file...
    And I have a few more with my friend on it...
    I would appreciate if you can share with me on how you save the photo?

    I use clone, cut and paste with transform. When cloning, try to select areas you can use to repair the damaged area and adjust the contrast/shade and rotate angle. I'm also newbie in PS so I'm still experimenting with it.

  14. #14
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,118

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Quote Originally Posted by DeSwitch
    OK, I tried to rescue the photo but I notice that the resolution and sharpness of this photo is not that good to start with. Nevertheless it can be done. As the original image is of low quality, I can only do a rough one just to show that it can be done.

    OMG!..Digital artist at work..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    Quote Originally Posted by DeSwitch
    I use clone, cut and paste with transform. When cloning, try to select areas you can use to repair the damaged area and adjust the contrast/shade and rotate angle. I'm also newbie in PS so I'm still experimenting with it.
    I think there is a great job! I used clone tool before but I don think my results will be like yours... is gets patchy...

    Thanks for all your help and sharing...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Droplets on filter

    thanks for the comment. Just play around and soon you will get the hang of it and improve.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •