Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: which WB to use

  1. #1

    Default which WB to use

    What WB do u use for outdoor shot with flash ? AWB or WB for the ambient or WB for flash ?

  2. #2
    Member eng_keow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mt Alvernia Hospital
    Posts
    1,022

    Default Re: which WB to use

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    What WB do u use for outdoor shot with flash ? AWB or WB for the ambient or WB for flash ?

    Use daylight about Temp 5000.
    My Webspace
    ##See and listen with your heart, for beauty will reveal thyself##

  3. #3
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    @ AMK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: which WB to use

    Quote Originally Posted by Chew Siow Ming
    What WB do u use for outdoor shot with flash ? AWB or WB for the ambient or WB for flash ?

    use RAW setting...go home and adjust the WB....

  4. #4

    Default Re: which WB to use

    Quote Originally Posted by eng_keow
    Use daylight about Temp 5000.
    will it make the skin tone too warm ? I've tried using WB=Flash, skin tone ok, but the background color turned out to be too warm.... can PS set diff WB for both subject & background ? what i meant was one layer for subject and the other one for the background, and set diff WB for both layers and than flatten them together ???

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: which WB to use

    use RAW, if yr camera dont have RAW, use AWB and adjust on PC. Make sure you calibrate yr monitor to get good result.

    Alternatively the best way is to use custom WB. Just change the CWB when you change location. (easy to forget if you are not used to it)

  6. #6

    Default Re: which WB to use

    How do you custom WB?

    I amc currently using D70

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    @ AMK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: which WB to use

    Quote Originally Posted by genetric
    How do you custom WB?

    I amc currently using D70
    set to P mode...

    Select the PRE wb setting...

    Then press and hold the wb button till the PRE display starts to blink...

    Then shoot at the colour you want...

    Then you will see the GOOD display blinking...and you are done..

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    915

    Default Re: which WB to use

    if it is not diff from my d50, go to CWB, hold for bout 2 secs and a "PRE" wld appear blinking.
    aim the whole frame on a piece of white paper and shoot, if its ok i wold appear "GOOD"

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: which WB to use

    I'm not Nikon user so guess WestWest1 and VR2 answered yr question.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ipoh, Malaysia
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: which WB to use

    Quote Originally Posted by westwest1
    set to P mode...

    Select the PRE wb setting...

    Then press and hold the wb button till the PRE display starts to blink...

    Then shoot at the colour you want...

    Then you will see the GOOD display blinking...and you are done..
    I do that too but I use a expodisc from http://exposdisc.com with it
    To get the Best White Balance ... So far I think I do

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •