Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > Newbies Corner

Newbies Corner The best place for those new to photography and ClubSNAP.

Old 24th July 2006   #1
tiramzai

Default I m a newbie n without budget

Hi there,

I m thinking of buying a DSLR either Canon or Nikkon but I can only pay it by installment ,

any recommendation of which shop that I can go to?

Last edited by tiramzai; 24th July 2006 at 02:53 PM.
Old 24th July 2006   #2
Deadpoet

Default Re: I m newbie n without budget

What camera are you using now? Do you really NEED a DSLR? Don't forget, all the other cost involved in owning/shooting a DSLR.
Old 24th July 2006   #3
clicknick

Without budget means --- money no object? Or means u no money?
Sponsored Link
Old 24th July 2006   #4
hanamasa

buy a Canon, you will nvr regret.

go CP.... good price (must know ppl there and compare price lah)no additional charges with 0% installment.
Old 24th July 2006   #5
Static

Originally Posted by clicknick
Without budget means --- money no object? Or means u no money?
With budget = To a certain amount

Without budget = No restriction to any amount

Recommend him the best system
Old 24th July 2006   #6
CYRN

No budget better means no DSLR.
Old 24th July 2006   #7
AReality

Can only pay by installment means u don't need it.
Don't buy one.

Old 24th July 2006   #8
ortega

p&s also can take good pictures what
Old 24th July 2006   #9
Cactus jACK
Contributor

Originally Posted by Static
With budget = To a certain amount

Without budget = No restriction to any amount

Recommend him the best system
budget of $xxx = can spend upto $xxx

without budget = no $$ to spend

unlimited budget = 1*D2xs, 17-35df2.8, 28-70f2.8, 70-200f2.8, 85f1.4, 105f2, 105f2.8VR... and 1*1DsII, 16-35f2.8,... (as above)...

okay... OTing too much... question is want to pay installment, which shop to go... off the top of my head, Harvey Norman, Courts, Cathay Photo...
Old 24th July 2006   #10
CYRN

Originally Posted by CYRN
No budget better means no DSLR.
Ooh... I missed out the second part... about installment.

Check the price list in this forum for the street price, then try CP. Might not get the price as listed but can bargain a little.

Can try HN or courts and such... but they normally sell at RRP.
Old 24th July 2006   #11
dr34mc4st3r

once u go into slr...u cant get out of the black hole ever again...u can try...but u will fail
Old 24th July 2006   #12
jbma

Originally Posted by blazer_workz
Since paying by installment..go for the most high end one..like Canon 1D or Nikkon D2Xs..
Are you serious? He said he is a newbie. If he get those bodies then what about the lens? You don't expect him to use cheap lens.

My advise is get an entry level DSLR if you must and 'play' with it first. The kit lens should be enough for a start. But beware! Like others has mentioned, once you start, it is a never ending process of buying.
Old 24th July 2006   #13
jdredd

heh you guys crack me up. heres a guy, who cant afford to buy with cash for a dslr, so wants to pay by installments, and people are recommending a 1D? hello?

to the guy asking the question - can check with CP and MS color, they offer installments i believe with certain credit card companies. but my own advice is you think a bit more about getting into DSLR photography and maybe save up a little more, because it is not a cheap hobby.
Old 24th July 2006   #14
tiramzai

I m using Olympus c-8080 for 2 years already, it is a good camera, but i find it has some limitation, for example the lens can not be changed.

i undestand the cost would b really REALLY high, but i think i m addicted now.
Old 24th July 2006   #15
tiramzai

haha, got some budget la, DSLR normally cost $1+++ mah, I just started to work, i think is good for me to pay by installment.
Old 24th July 2006   #16
bigu2fan

Your header "without budget" is very funny. Apart from the suspect English, it invites a lot of hilarious(and unnecessary) replies. You might want to rephrase.

I just bought a dSLR a few months ago, don't know much but here's my buying philosophy. There are many good dSLRs and good lenses out there, but you need to research which is the right one for you. Price is important, but hardly the only thing.

Try to find out what type of pictures you like to shoot(landscape, people, animals, sports) etc otherwise you might find the focal length too long or short, aperture not wide enough etc. If you are a newbie like me, you might have to factor in a flash/dry cabinet/tripod, bag etc etc. The base unit for my 350D was about $1500, but the add ons are not cheap either. And I don't even want to talk about my lenses.
Old 24th July 2006   #17
CYRN

Originally Posted by tiramzai
I m using Olympus c-8080 for 2 years already, it is a good camera, but i find it has some limitation, for example the lens can not be changed.

i undestand the cost would b really REALLY high, but i think i m addicted now.
You already got a 8080... I suggest you wait till Sep/Oct when new DSLRs will be intro.

Sony jumped the gun by intro A-100 and Nikon will intro something new on a couple of weeks time. And Canon's 350D is also due for replacement model to be announced.
Old 24th July 2006   #18
jdredd

Originally Posted by blazer_workz
who says newbie cannot use 1D or D2Xs..all DSLR apply the same fundamentals of photography..since paying by installment, why not installment the lens oso..

the depreciation for a good camera body is slower..and it is highly sought after..can sell off as 2nd hand when newer bodies come..and u still won't lose out too much..
can i have what you are smoking? cos it seems like good stuff.
Old 24th July 2006   #19
tiramzai

Originally Posted by CYRN
You already got a 8080... I suggest you wait till Sep/Oct when new DSLRs will be intro.

Sony jumped the gun by intro A-100 and Nikon will intro something new on a couple of weeks time. And Canon's 350D is also due for replacement model to be announced.
hm... sounds nice, then I'll have more time to save money!
Old 24th July 2006   #20
smallaperture

Now, what about buying used? There are quite a few nice used dSLR out there, either from BnS here or from some of the shops at Peninsular. And add a kit lens and you're on liao.