Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 14th July 2006   #1
allsmilez

Default 350d vs 300d?

Hi guys,

Only got a few years experience in photography and now am considering upgrading my film SLR to DSLR. currently using an eos650 with ef 28-70 lens, but thinking of going more serious.

due to budget constraints i'm looking at either a 300d or 350d, maybe 2nd hand so can buy more lenses like a prime and maybe a bigger zoom.

300d is significantly cheaper compared to 350d, aside from MP count, is it more worth it to get a 350d cos pricing will cost me quite a few hundred bucks more? I heard the startup time for 300d is laggy wondering if thats irritating.

or should i get a nikon d70 or d50? haha i ask this is canon forum surely kenna zham...

thanks!
allsmilez
Old 14th July 2006   #2
djork

Default Re: 350d vs 300d?

the long startup time of the 300D has made me miss quite a few shots, and noise wise the 350D is quite an improvement.

check out this link, which i did a simple comparison between the noise of the 300D and the 30D, where the 30D's performance should be similar to the 350D's.

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...ighlight=djork

hope it helps !

Last edited by djork; 14th July 2006 at 02:00 PM.
Old 14th July 2006   #3
solarii

Originally Posted by allsmilez
or should i get a nikon d70 or d50? haha i ask this is canon forum surely kenna zham...
Honestly, you won't "kena zham" for asking this. We're objective folk.... nothing wrong with asking if the competition is better.... we're all users, not stake-holders of the company.

However, you will get "zhamed" for asking questions which have been brought up for the umpteenth time.

Anyway since nobody brought this topic up for quite some time (thank god!), it's perhaps fitting for a reassessment. Currently, there's no point gettting a 300D, based on currently 350D prices both new and used which are very low. There's no need to compare individual differences.... both are very affordable so it makes sense to choose a newer model w a better feature set.

Last edited by solarii; 14th July 2006 at 02:21 PM.
Sponsored Link
Old 14th July 2006   #4
djork

i agree with solarii..

though i find the 350D's body a little small, feature-wise its the clear winner.
Old 14th July 2006   #5
Beaver21

Originally Posted by djork
i agree with solarii..

though i find the 350D's body a little small, feature-wise its the clear winner.
If you get the battery grip for the 350D, you'd get a slightly better grip but it's also heavier at the same time. I din't mind the additional weight cos I find the grip better with the battery grip. To each his/own, I guess. Or should I say, YMMV!
Old 14th July 2006   #6
lsl03

I have own both

350D
Old 15th July 2006   #7
Venom81
Workshop/Shoot Organiser

350D much better noise control over 300D.
Old 15th July 2006   #8
AhmadH

if you on tight budget 300D is for you.
But if you have extra cash go for the 10D,20,or 30D.
If compare will no end.
Old 15th July 2006   #9
Klose

Either get a second hand 10D or else the 350d. Dont waste money on the 300d.
Old 16th July 2006   #10
AhmadH

Why get a second hand 10D buy a new 30D
Old 16th July 2006   #11
roadrunner_552

350d is a better choice.
Old 16th July 2006   #12
EOSFILM

if u are going to get a 350D, I'ld rather u spend slightly more to get a D70s. Alternatively, a used D70s kit would cost less than a 350D.

Features wise, it's definitely a notche above the 350D.
Old 16th July 2006   #13
AhmadH

Both 300D and 350D body material is plastic (matte finish)
The 10D , 20D and 30D body material is magnesium alloy.
Correct me if I am wrong
Old 16th July 2006   #14
user111

if you dont mind the smallish body, 350d is a good choice
Old 16th July 2006   #15
dEthANGeL

Originally Posted by EOSFILM
if u are going to get a 350D, I'ld rather u spend slightly more to get a D70s. Alternatively, a used D70s kit would cost less than a 350D.

Features wise, it's definitely a notche above the 350D.
D70s viewfinder is quite a far bit darker than the 350D counterpart.

Noise control on the 350D is definitely better than the D70s ...
Old 16th July 2006   #16
Klose

Originally Posted by AhmadH
Why get a second hand 10D buy a new 30D
Obviously, TS on a budget.
Old 16th July 2006   #17
satay16

you are on a budget? well since you are having D70 on your list, i recommend you waiting for the sony's A100. it's 10MP, use the same CCD as D200, but about the same price as a 350D.

dun flame me for infiltrating into canon thread
Old 16th July 2006   #18
csisfun

Originally Posted by satay16
you are on a budget? well since you are having D70 on your list, i recommend you waiting for the sony's A100. it's 10MP, use the same CCD as D200, but about the same price as a 350D.

dun flame me for infiltrating into canon thread
hahahahaha
Old 16th July 2006   #19
lsl03

Originally Posted by Klose
Either get a second hand 10D or else the 350d. Dont waste money on the 300d.
Agree don't waste money on 300d, You will think of upgrade next time.

350d
1.8mp
2.better noise control
3.faster startup time
4.faster read/write time
5.more accurate exposure
6.more feature - AI focus,metering,fec control and etc...
7.smaller and lighter

Me after buying not going to upgrade liao, it suits my needs already.

Last edited by lsl03; 16th July 2006 at 01:22 PM.
Old 16th July 2006   #20
allsmilez

thanks guys for all the help
be keeping and eye out for good deals on b & s

cheers
Closed Thread