Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good walkaround lens for Canon 30D

Default Good walkaround lens for Canon 30D

Hi,
    Newbie here. Just bought a Canon 30D. Saw some one post "Good walkaround lens for Canon 350d", so thinking of ask any recommandation for Canon 30D?
    Bought this main purpose is for taking photo for my new born baby. But the kit lens not good enough.
    Thanks for advice.

Default Re: Good walkaround lens for Canon 30D

Quote Originally Posted by TitanPua
    Hi,
    Newbie here. Just bought a Canon 30D. Saw some one post "Good walkaround lens for Canon 350d", so thinking of ask any recommandation for Canon 30D?
    Bought this main purpose is for taking photo for my new born baby. But the kit lens not good enough.
    Thanks for advice.
    kit lens not good enuf? mind elaborating that? like focal length not good, AF too slow, too unsharp, colours not nice, etc.......

If problem is other than focal length, go for the 17-55 2.8 IS. that one rocks. if tight budget, the 17-40 4L would do.
    If problem is focal length, like not tele enough, the 24-105 4L would be nice. if tight budget, the 17-85 IS or 28-135 IS would be nice.

harro...
    hmm, if just to take photo of ur beautiful baby.. kit lens should be more than enough... although not as sturdy looking, but its a sharp lens man..
    but if u want t good walkabout lens, i'm using a 28-200mm to take pics.

I think you can take the suggestions in the canon 350D thread and apply it to your camera.
    Both have same mounts, crop factor and nearly similar megapixels

get the 50 f18 for your newborn baby. Excellent lens for indoor portrait

Quote Originally Posted by satay16
    kit lens not good enuf? mind elaborating that? like focal length not good, AF too slow, too unsharp, colours not nice, etc.......

If problem is other than focal length, go for the 17-55 2.8 IS. that one rocks. if tight budget, the 17-40 4L would do.