Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 11th July 2006   #1
DeWei

Default Wedding Shot, which custom curve?

Hi I will shoot some outdoor wedding photo for my friend tomorrow, may I know which custom curve is strongly recommended? Thanks.
Old 11th July 2006   #2
glennyong

Default Re: Wedding Shot, which custom curve?

HAR ??? custom curve for wedding ??

never heard of it before leh...

what do u wish to achieve anyway ??

maybe u can tell the forum more... because even low educated pple like me also dun understand..
Old 11th July 2006   #3
DeWei

Ops...I forgot to mention I'm using Nikon D70. The color out of the cam is dull so I plan to use some of the custom curve in my friend's wedding. There are plenty of custom curves available such as SReala, Velvia, Optima, white wedding, Photogenic...etc, just dunno which one suitable for outdoor wedding..any pro out there?
Sponsored Link
Old 11th July 2006   #4
jopel

Originally Posted by DeWei
Ops...I forgot to mention I'm using Nikon D70. The color out of the cam is dull so I plan to use some of the custom curve in my friend's wedding. There are plenty of custom curves available such as SReala, Velvia, Optima, white wedding, Photogenic...etc, just dunno which one suitable for outdoor wedding..any pro out there?
i will suggest you shoot raw.
Old 11th July 2006   #5
ronaldjace

either the "fotogenics" white wedding curve or just use RAW + sREAL2 curve
Old 11th July 2006   #6
_espn_

Since not sure, don't use any.
Old 11th July 2006   #7
zaxh81

D70 colour dull? i have no problem with it,actually i miss my D70.
Old 12th July 2006   #8
zac08

As mentioned, all these curves are custom for certain light conditions or for certain applications and may not work like magic for every situation.

It's better that you know how to get the cam to work for you better than to just rely on such curves to help you along. Shoot more and figure it out.
Old 12th July 2006   #9
glennyong

my take.

shoot raw.

post process in NC..

problem solved.

why need custom curves ? believe in nikon's software..

(gosh.. i have been telling people to believe in nikon... )
Old 13th July 2006   #10
renegade150

RAW is good...time consuming...but if ur important shots buang still can save...haha
Old 13th July 2006   #11
TMC

shoot raw and adjust according to your liking.
Old 13th July 2006   #12
glay78

Originally Posted by renegade150
RAW is good...time consuming...but if ur important shots buang still can save...haha
lol...shot buang...got any software to solve my hankshake buang?
Old 13th July 2006   #13
Zerstorer

Originally Posted by DeWei
The colour of the D70 is anything but dull if your WB is correct. Even the lowest in camera contrast setting is more contrasty than real life scenes. If you are getting dull colours, with the in camera curves, then you certainly need to post process or tweak your white balance settings even with any other curve. Having the correct WB is essential for good colour and if the light is really dull, no 'magic' curve is going to make it work.

What you want to use would be a matter of your personal style. Some people prefer low contrast, some people like disney colours.

When I was using the D70, I would use either the Astia curve or Fotogenetics White Wedding as they both have lower highlight and midtone contrast than even the D70 -2 setting. However, this might be the opposite of what you are seeking....
Old 13th July 2006   #14
longkangman

This should be in general or tech talk.
Old 13th July 2006   #15
Artosoft

Originally Posted by longkangman
This should be in general or tech talk.
Ok lah, since custom curves only applied for Nikon Camera. No other cameras can use custom curve except Nikon .

Arto.
Old 13th July 2006   #16
DeWei

I've used SReala v2 yesterday and I really happy with the skin tone.
Old 13th July 2006   #17
longkangman

Originally Posted by Artosoft
Ok lah, since custom curves only applied for Nikon Camera. No other cameras can use custom curve except Nikon .

Arto.
Old 13th July 2006   #18
Yatlapball

Another happy user of sreala
Old 13th July 2006   #19
_espn_

Aiyah.. shoot first talk later lah...
Closed Thread