Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Anti shake

  1. #1

    Red face Anti shake

    Hi I am a newbie to Lumix FZ30..

    I just wondering if any faults to my Image Stablizer... or it was me?
    My photo are blurred when I took... especially for candid shots.
    Like I tried to shoot my friends having dinner...
    Or a cake with candle lighted
    I am unable to freeze the moments...
    It goes the same in a Karaok room... except when I used flash.
    Can I freeze moments with the room ambience?

    My friend told me that her colleague got compact lumix...
    He can shake the camera and take a steady of buildings...
    I tried mine but I couldn't do it...

    I have seen some compact digital camera's effect seem better in their IS..
    Is there a difference?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Anti shake

    hi, anti-shake isn't meant for you to freeze movement. for that, you need high shutter speeds or flash. you can combine use slow sync flash (flash + slow shutter speed) to freeze the subject yet keep some ambient light.

    anti-shake is to help counter handshake. it makes it possible for you to use slower shutter speeds (when it's darker) without the picture becoming blur because your hand moves the camera during the exposure. it can't do miracles though - you still need good technique. and got limit one, don't expect to shoot a 2 sec exposure handheld and get it super sharp.

    what kind of shutter speeds were you shooting at when you got your blur pictures? and was everything blur, or only moving objects like human beings?
    Black lens, white Lens, can take picture is a Good lens

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by shenny
    Hi I am a newbie to Lumix FZ30..

    I just wondering if any faults to my Image Stablizer... or it was me?
    My photo are blurred when I took... especially for candid shots.
    Like I tried to shoot my friends having dinner...
    Or a cake with candle lighted
    I am unable to freeze the moments...
    It goes the same in a Karaok room... except when I used flash.
    Can I freeze moments with the room ambience?

    My friend told me that her colleague got compact lumix...
    He can shake the camera and take a steady of buildings...
    I tried mine but I couldn't do it...

    I have seen some compact digital camera's effect seem better in their IS..
    Is there a difference?
    AntiShake help to minimize vibration/shake in camera. So you can use slower shutter speed than without AntiShake. It won't help if the subject move/shake. To stop subject movement/shake, you need fast shutter speed (or flash).

    Regards,
    Arto.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Anti shake

    as what have been mentioned above...

    Anti Shake is to reduce the vibration cause by user jabbing their shutter release button hence causing shaking. Your friend is right when he is talking about taking sharp picture of the building in low light condition, because building don't move but poeple do.

    Your situation is due to the subject movement, with the condition you mentioned, the shutter speed would be around 1/10-1/50 which subject movement will be a problem.

    However, if you could use shutter speed of at least 1/125sec, the movement become (less) problematic. To do that, you might need to increase ISO or use of flash.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,

    Hart

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Anti shake

    pumping up the iso might introduce more noise. i thnk a flash would be a good solution.

    i remember last time when i asked about IS, it isnt that effective also....

    faster shutter is the right way. but in indoor, sometimes its impossible to do fast shutter.
    D70s-er Since 2005

  6. #6
    Member smtan24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    1,496

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Anti shake helps a little in low light situations. You still need to hold the camera properly to reduce shakes. Setting a higger ISO will also help but in some situations a tripod is the best solution.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Anti shake

    why not post some pics which you took that a blur? dun delete the exif info so that we can see the settings.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Anti shake

    It is useful in evening time when you wish to take photos of places while on tour.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by smtan24
    Anti shake helps a little in low light situations. You still need to hold the camera properly to reduce shakes. Setting a higger ISO will also help but in some situations a tripod is the best solution.
    maybe it hard to carry a tripod around when on tour.... maybe find somewhere solid to hold the camera steady? like a railing or a pillar to lean on?
    D70s-er Since 2005

  10. #10
    Member smtan24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    1,496

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by zcwnfx
    maybe it hard to carry a tripod around when on tour.... maybe find somewhere solid to hold the camera steady? like a railing or a pillar to lean on?
    Agreed that in some situations a compromise must be made. Using a pillar or railing reduces the shake to some extend.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Anti shake

    there is a joke

    iso = image stabilizer on
    muahahahahah

  12. #12
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    @ AMK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by Chiang
    there is a joke

    iso = image stabilizer on
    muahahahahah


    haha....i like that...

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Anti shake

    wah, thats a good one! never thought of that!
    D70s-er Since 2005

  14. #14

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Wasnet that joke from an old thread where a salesman tried to con a CS member pretending to be a newbie or sth?
    Furry Photos - Photography for the Modern Pet

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Anti shake

    image sharpness off?

    hai, i realize best is to use faster shutter, flash, tripod.
    D70s-er Since 2005

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    http://esmondng.com
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: Anti shake

    it may b a good idea to do some reading up on iso, aperture and shutter speed.

    ambient light is not always enough. esp in dark places like a karaoke room; where flash is almost most definitely needed. If u set in automatic mode, u will notice the flash will go off in such situations. (prove tt flash is needed in bad lighting)

    in moving subjs, always try to aim for a shutter spd of at least 1/zoom. ie. if u are zooming at 80mm, ur shutter spd shld at least be 1/80.

    this shutter spd is achieved using a combination of:
    1. iso when in P mode (recommended for hassle free candids in karaoke room; no thinking needed)
    2. iso and/or aperture when in A mode (i use this mode the most often)
    3. iso and/or shutter spd when in S mode (most of time for panning)
    3. iso and/or aperture and/or shutter spd in M mode (always used when u can control lighting eg. in studio or for long exp night shots)

    cheers

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor84
    Wasnet that joke from an old thread where a salesman tried to con a CS member pretending to be a newbie or sth?

    yeah u r rite , it never fails to bring in the smile , but i cannot find that thread... so sad ...

  18. #18

    Default Re: Anti shake

    It's really quite difficult to take indoor candids without flash, even with an SLR.
    It's even worse for FZ30 cos of the noise... and as the rest have pointed out, OIS only counters some hand shake, not the movement of your subject.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,164

    Default Re: Anti shake

    Quote Originally Posted by genegoh
    It's really quite difficult to take indoor candids without flash, even with an SLR.
    It's even worse for FZ30 cos of the noise... and as the rest have pointed out, OIS only counters some hand shake, not the movement of your subject.
    Even if you manage to squeeze the highest ISO, the widest apperture, the perfect exposure and anti-shake to boot, you may end up with less sharp photos than you really want. The other alternative is drag the shutter with flash.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Anti shake

    but might spoil the ambience light?

    seems that LSPJII is a good thing to have.... gives warm colours....

    hai.... BBB?!?!?!?
    D70s-er Since 2005

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •