Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 5th July 2006   #1
Gymrat76

Default Canon S3 purchase question

Just a quick question. Just purchased the Canon PS S3 IS for a friend, and wanna check on the current Canon promo. Besides the stuff in the box, I got:

1. 3-in-1 bag, cleaning kit and tripod
2. 512MB Toshiba SD
3. GP 2100 batts + charger

I didn't actually collect these items from Canon like I was supposed to, but the shop I bought from gave it to me and chopped the "REDEEMED" on the warranty card. Are these the correct items?

Also, can this camera benefit from the use of high-speed SD cards? Both the 512MB card and the Kingston 1GB SD card I bought do not have any speed ratings, so I assume they're the normal speed ones. Besides file transfers, does buying high-speed SD cards make a diff for this camera? Thanks!
Old 5th July 2006   #2
sentientpuppets

Default Re: Canon S3 purchase question

Hi Gymrat...I haven't yet bought an S3 but was looking at the ads (interested that's why =p)

so I can't say for sure, but it seems like you have got the right deal =) -- only at what cost I guess?

have fun with the new cam!
Old 5th July 2006   #3
boogle

Originally Posted by Gymrat76
Also, can this camera benefit from the use of high-speed SD cards? Both the 512MB card and the Kingston 1GB SD card I bought do not have any speed ratings, so I assume they're the normal speed ones. Besides file transfers, does buying high-speed SD cards make a diff for this camera? Thanks!
Look in this thread for the discussion on the SD cards:

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...185616&page=21

Page 27 onwards also got some more discussion

Last edited by boogle; 5th July 2006 at 11:45 PM.
Sponsored Link
Old 6th July 2006   #4
Gymrat76

Originally Posted by boogle
Look in this thread for the discussion on the SD cards:

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...185616&page=21

Page 27 onwards also got some more discussion
Ah thanks... so it doesn't perform well if shooting high-res videos.. you'd need a fast card for that! Now wondering if I should tell my friend about it?
Old 6th July 2006   #5
david_goh

Ah thanks... so it doesn't perform well if shooting high-res videos.. you'd need a fast card for that! Now wondering if I should tell my friend about it?
Why not? That's what friends are for...
Old 6th July 2006   #6
Gymrat76

Originally Posted by david_goh
Why not? That's what friends are for...
Haha, just kidding... already informed him la
Old 6th July 2006   #7
lastboltnut

Tell your friend then ask him to sell you the standard speed card at 1/2 price loh!

What SD card model your friend has? It might be highspeed woh, they dun always display the speed....may be tell us and see we can tell? A photo is best.

Old 6th July 2006   #8
eng_keow

Just a quick question. Just purchased the Canon PS S3 IS for a friend, and wanna check on the current Canon promo. Besides the stuff in the box, I got:

1. 3-in-1 bag, cleaning kit and tripod
2. 512MB Toshiba SD
3. GP 2100 batts + charger

I didn't actually collect these items from Canon like I was supposed to, but the shop I bought from gave it to me and chopped the "REDEEMED" on the warranty card. Are these the correct items?
What you have received is correct. It is standard practice that they chop the card with redeemed once you have collected the items.
Old 6th July 2006   #9
_espn_

Which shop you got it from? Some shops redeem and claim for you already so when you buy you get them without making another trip down to the stupid place @ harbour front.

If not then it's a case of 'cheating' liao.
Old 6th July 2006   #10
Gymrat76

No problem la, don't think I got cheated as I frequent that shop often. Just that the redeemed items were from another shop, but everything seems to be there, so no biggie la. Anyway, my friend still hasn't decided on the high-speed card vs. ordinary card thingy, so never mind la
Old 6th July 2006   #11
_espn_

No problem la, don't think I got cheated as I frequent that shop often. Just that the redeemed items were from another shop, but everything seems to be there, so no biggie la. Anyway, my friend still hasn't decided on the high-speed card vs. ordinary card thingy, so never mind la
Ohh.. as long as got the items can liao lor, if you need help just let me know
Old 7th July 2006   #12
atomicdust

Mind to share how much u got the S3?
Old 7th July 2006   #13
Gymrat76

Slightly over $800 with an extra 1GB Kingston SD.. including the 2% extra for credit card

Last edited by Gymrat76; 7th July 2006 at 03:23 PM.
Closed Thread