Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

  1. #1

    Default Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    hi all,
    heard ppl mentioned that the sigma lens (let say 70-300mm APO Macro) has both nikon mount and canon mount...
    humm... just wondering if can differentiate them from the design of the lens (pls bear with me hor cos i only see the nikon lens b4 but haven't see the canon lens )
    anyone can help to explain?
    thanks in advance leh :P

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    i think canon mount is bigger....
    D70s-er Since 2005

  3. #3

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Ya, the throat of the Canon mount is significantly larger than that of the Canon. And if using the original Sigma rear lens cap, it is also denoted which mount on the underside of the cap.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    IIRC for Nikon mount, the contact pins are on the side of the lens but for Canon its on the bottom below the rear element.
    Furry Photos - Photography for the Modern Pet

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by luddock
    Ya, the throat of the Canon mount is significantly larger than that of the Canon. And if using the original Sigma rear lens cap, it is also denoted which mount on the underside of the cap.
    Not really "significantly larger". From here it is 7mm (yes millimeters) and the registration distance difference is 2.5mm. That is why you get a lot of adaptors for the various mounts available.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    hi all,
    thank you for the information
    i have learn additional knowledge from your now

  7. #7

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by Watcher
    Not really "significantly larger". From here it is 7mm (yes millimeters) and the registration distance difference is 2.5mm. That is why you get a lot of adaptors for the various mounts available.
    humm... by the way is there any adapter (or converter) that can convert canon mount to nikon mount or vice-versa... sorry for my newbie question hor

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Potong Pasir
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    can have a adaptor to fit nikon lens to canon, but i haven heard of canon on nikon b4...

    but u loses metering i think....
    D70s-er Since 2005

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by shashin
    humm... by the way is there any adapter (or converter) that can convert canon mount to nikon mount or vice-versa... sorry for my newbie question hor
    There is no converter for Canon to Nikon as the registration distance means that you will not be able to focus at infinity if you try. It is as if there is an extension tube attached to it.

    In any case, all modern Canon lens (EF-mount) are all driven by electronics. With an adapter, you can't set aperture, you can't AF nor use IS (no power). For Nikon to Canon bodies, the non-G Nikkors have an aperture ring.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    i see, i see...
    thank you guys for the information

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by shashin
    humm... by the way is there any adapter (or converter) that can convert canon mount to nikon mount or vice-versa... sorry for my newbie question hor
    I believe and there is a shop in USA that does conversion of canon mount to nikon but once covert it cannot be mount on canon.

    The shop name is as follow
    Tempe Camera Repair Incorporated
    606 W University Dr
    Tempe, AZ 85281-3410
    (480) 966-6954

    I am currently using nikon lens on canon body, cost of the adapter is 150~200.

    YMMV

  12. #12

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    if you are refering to the older Tamron lenses, there is such a thing as an adaptive mount.
    the lens is universal. just get the correct mount for the respective brand.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by GmbH.
    if you are refering to the older Tamron lenses, there is such a thing as an adaptive mount.
    the lens is universal. just get the correct mount for the respective brand.
    Is it something like M42 (IIRC)?.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft
    Is it something like M42 (IIRC)?.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    yes, something of that sort.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Nikon mount? Canon mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by shashin
    hi all,
    heard ppl mentioned that the sigma lens (let say 70-300mm APO Macro) has both nikon mount and canon mount...
    humm... just wondering if can differentiate them from the design of the lens (pls bear with me hor cos i only see the nikon lens b4 but haven't see the canon lens )
    anyone can help to explain?
    thanks in advance leh :P
    For Sigma, the non-DC Nikon mount lenses will have an aperture ring while all Canon mount lenses have no aperture ring. Do note that newer Nikon lenses eg. DX, G series do not have aperture rings.

    Nikon mount lenses have a protruding lever at the lens mount for stopping down of aperture while Canon mount have none.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •