Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 55

Thread: PC or Apple?????

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by rueyloon


    big is like 20mb pictures..... ok to me that's big

    and for memory, try to go at least 384mb.

    the ibook have built in 128mb, so a 256mb cost about slightly over $100, which is not expensive. no need to go back to apple for memory as their's is more expensive, just go SLS.....

    rgs
    rueyloon
    oh, i got the quote from the apple shop at funan - said to upgrade by 256mb ram, got to pay $89 more ....

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by rueyloon


    define significant brother because I don't really see it !! HAAHHA

    ok, just for the fun of it, I dug this up

    http://www.psbench.com

    the score is normalized
    the test a list of photoshop actions.....

    2x 1333 G4 DDR OS9.2.2 (oc'd 1.25)346
    2x 1250 G4 DDR 10.2.1 316
    2x 1800 Athlon MP 312
    2x 2000 P4 Xeon 286
    2x 1533 Athlon MP 285
    2x 1533 Athlon MP 283
    2x 1466 Athlon XP 279
    2x 1000 G4 DDR 10.2 267
    2x 1000 G4 OS 9 260
    2x 1000 G4 OS X 10.1.5 254
    2400 P4 B 241
    2340 P4 (overclock) 239
    2400 P4 234
    1800+Athlon XP (1533 MHz) 226
    1577 oc'd Athlon XP (Lestat) 221
    1548 Athlon XP 214
    1667 Athlon XP 211
    1x 1533 Athlon MP 197
    2000 P4 Xeon 194
    1600 Athlon XP (1400 MHz) 191
    2x 533 G4 175
    1800 P4 173
    1508 Celeron (overclock) 167
    1400 PIII Tualatin 160
    2x 500 G4 OSX 152
    2x 450 G4 OS9 151
    1333 Athlon TBird 147
    2x 450 G4 OSX 10.1.5 143
    800 G4 Pbook OSX 1 MB L3 135
    733 G4 (miro7) 134
    667 G4 OS 9 no L3. 127
    466 G4 OS 9 123
    667 G4 OSX Pbook no L3 121
    466 G4 OS X 133 MHz bus 112
    450 G4 OSX 100 MHz bus 101
    500 G4 Pbook (OC'd 400) 103 (RUEYLOON"S COMPUTER)
    1000 Athlon TBird (PS6.01) 100
    700 G3 iBook 74

    interms of cost/performance, mac cannot win
    gosh - i just noticed this list of gibberish!!!! see until blur liao

  3. #23
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz


    aiya i dunno mah - cos i noticed that the cost between a 700 & 800 is $591 - since its such a big sum, was wondering if it could do wonders or something? hehehe
    Okay then, I shall be more helpful. I suppose (speculating) by spending the extra $591, you'll gain...

    1. Feel 'gooder' given it's 100 Mhz faster and gives you the impression that it'll become obsolete later
    2. save a bit of time, eg. time to cough once when loading and processing...

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    k ... another computer illiterate question.

    Assuming i stick to 700 & upgrade memory to 384ram - will there be any problems ie the memory is too much for a 700 to handle?

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz
    k ... another computer illiterate question.

    Assuming i stick to 700 & upgrade memory to 384ram - will there be any problems ie the memory is too much for a 700 to handle?
    Just like money, there's no such thing as too much. Is $100 million too much for you to handle? No right?

    Regards
    CK

  6. #26

    Default

    no way man!!!
    The more the better!!!!

    At 1GB ram I'm using.. it still not enough!

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by Bluestrike
    no way man!!!
    The more the better!!!!

    At 1GB ram I'm using.. it still not enough!
    ah di ...... dun be greedy

    another question: is it worth it paying extra $399 for extended 3 year warranty?

  8. #28
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz


    ah di ...... dun be greedy

    another question: is it worth it paying extra $399 for extended 3 year warranty?
    Wah...still got question? Aiya...list out all the specs, freebies, promotional upgrades and we'll dissect them for you, one by one!

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by AdamGoi


    Wah...still got question? Aiya...list out all the specs, freebies, promotional upgrades and we'll dissect them for you, one by one!
    ok teacher! here goes:

    iBook CDRom
    700 mhz powerpc 3
    128 mb sdram memory
    20 gb ultra ATA drive
    ATI Radeon 7500 16MB dedicated video memory
    cd-rom (24x) built in 56k v.92 modem
    airport ready
    5 hr batt life

    iBook Combo
    all the same as above except:
    800 mhz
    30 gb ultra ATA drive
    combo drive - dvd rom/cdrw - 16x8x8

    above 2 are 12 inch screen (diagonally)

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    oops forgot to include cost:

    iBook cdrom - $1850

    iBook Combo - $2441

    both prices inclusive of gst

  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bedok, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz
    oops forgot to include cost:

    iBook cdrom - $1850

    iBook Combo - $2441

    both prices inclusive of gst
    Wah so expensive.... with that kinda money, you can build a power PC, plus orignal photoshop software.

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by Digipix


    Wah so expensive.... with that kinda money, you can build a power PC, plus orignal photoshop software.
    build ah? dun want lah unless i am a pc expert

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bedok, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz


    build ah? dun want lah unless i am a pc expert
    No need to be expert, just need the cash... someone else will build for you.. hehehe.

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by Digipix


    No need to be expert, just need the cash... someone else will build for you.. hehehe.
    ya but if spoil - i gotta carry the thing all the way back to SLS - sounds very troublesome lah

  15. #35

    Default

    Hi,

    u seemed pretty firm on getting a Mac. Oh well, then i shant desuade u on ur decision

    if this is the only computer u will be working on, go for the combo option as u will probably need more HDD space in future and the CDR will come in pretty handy (for archival & cutting CDs to be send to labs - if you are doing digital). Also, don forget to upgrade the RAM.
    If money is a consideration here... then at least upgrade the RAM for the normal package...

    cheerios

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by beachbum
    Hi,

    u seemed pretty firm on getting a Mac. Oh well, then i shant desuade u on ur decision

    if this is the only computer u will be working on, go for the combo option as u will probably need more HDD space in future and the CDR will come in pretty handy (for archival & cutting CDs to be send to labs - if you are doing digital). Also, don forget to upgrade the RAM.
    If money is a consideration here... then at least upgrade the RAM for the normal package...

    cheerios
    well as long as i didn't part with my money - i don't mind any friendly dissuation or advice

  17. #37

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz


    well as long as i didn't part with my money - i don't mind any friendly dissuation or advice
    * togu wonders why lavender don't pay galaxynet a visit, since it looks like a long argument.....

  18. #38
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by togu


    * togu wonders why lavender don't pay galaxynet a visit, since it looks like a long argument.....
    huh? wats at galaxynet?

  19. #39

    Default

    Originally posted by lavenderlilz


    huh? wats at galaxynet?


    1. Click on the "Home" butoon on top of the page
    2. On the main page, look for this "Chat Online" button on the left
    3. Click on it
    4. Wait.....

    Done


  20. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    hErE lAh
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Originally posted by togu




    1. Click on the "Home" butoon on top of the page
    2. On the main page, look for this "Chat Online" button on the left
    3. Click on it
    4. Wait.....

    Done

    oh i c ... was about to until got the prompt of whether want to install irc applet - then better not cos its an office computer

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •