Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > General, Reviews, Tech Talk

General, Reviews, Tech Talk Share tips & tricks, techniques, general photography chat.

Old 28th December 2002   #1
binbeto

Default Ext. Tube + Tele convertor

I have read somewhere but forgotten..

Anyone know how to stack ext tube, tele convertor and lens?

In what order?

Thanks
Old 28th December 2002   #2
denizenx

Default Re: Ext. Tube + Tele convertor

Quote:
Originally posted by binbeto
I have read somewhere but forgotten..

Anyone know how to stack ext tube, tele convertor and lens?

In what order?

Thanks
TC to lens.. tube to body.. use 1600000 film
Old 28th December 2002   #3
binbeto

Default Re: Re: Ext. Tube + Tele convertor

Quote:
Originally posted by denizenx

err.. my tele convertor has to be between the lens and body...

It is either
1) Lens-> ext tube-> TC-> body
or
2)Lens-> TC-> ext tube-> body
Sponsored Link
Old 28th December 2002   #4
Tweek

number 2 makes more sense?
Old 28th December 2002   #5
binbeto

Quote:
Originally posted by Tweek
number 2 makes more sense?
err.. i need a correct answer.. not a guess leh...

Maybe i will just try both option.

Thanks..
Old 29th December 2002   #6
denizenx

alamak then u just connect the other two togther?

TC got glass must be to ur lens for correct magni,
XTC no glass, used for enlarging the image circle of ur lens (ie lens + tc)

can?

hehe XTC dun use too much, wait die not my fault..
Old 29th December 2002   #7
binbeto

Quote:
alamak then u just connect the other two togther?

TC got glass must be to ur lens for correct magni,
XTC no glass, used for enlarging the image circle of ur lens (ie lens + tc)

can?

hehe XTC dun use too much, wait die not my fault..
I dun know what u are talking abt...

Ext tube make u focus closer... while TC magnify the image...
Old 29th December 2002   #8
Tweek

Quote:

err.. i need a correct answer.. not a guess leh...

Maybe i will just try both option.

Thanks..
actually it was an answer, not a guess. It does make more sense too.

I was wondering, if you already have the TC and ext tube, why don't you try it out? Don't have to wonder about the answer what.
Old 29th December 2002   #9
binbeto

Quote:
Originally posted by Tweek

actually it was an answer, not a guess. It does make more sense too.

I was wondering, if you already have the TC and ext tube, why don't you try it out? Don't have to wonder about the answer what.
I have both...

But u put it like a guess.. "It does make more sense too."
Old 29th December 2002   #10
Tweek

Quote:

I have both...

But u put it like a guess.. "It does make more sense too."
ok lah my bad. I was just trying to say that by common sense, number two is apparently the better choice. Anyway I've tried number two and it worked.
Old 29th December 2002   #11
denizenx

Quote:

I dun know what u are talking abt...

Ext tube make u focus closer... while TC magnify the image...
simpler english: extension tube works by enlarging the image circle of your lens projected on the film plane, hence it's macro + light loss + focus limited. hence u shd mount it on the body since it affects the film plane.

tc works by magnifying the image of the lens, but only works in more or less fixed position, hence it must be mounted immed behind the lens.

what was so hard to understand?

sigh... nvm.. since tweek has verified the combi...
Old 29th December 2002   #12
Silverelf

Default Re: Re: Ext. Tube + Tele convertor

Quote:

1600000 film
1Million 6 hundred thousand?
Old 29th December 2002   #13
denizenx

Default Re: Re: Re: Ext. Tube + Tele convertor

Quote:
Originally posted by Silverelf

1600000 film
1Million 6 hundred thousand?
nope, sixteen hundred thousand... LOL
I was trying my usual light tone lor.. but didn't carry through here...
Old 29th December 2002   #14
Silverelf

By the way.. what's the highest ASA anyone here has ever used?? And lowest of course....
Old 29th December 2002   #15
denizenx

Quote:
By the way.. what's the highest ASA anyone here has ever used?? And lowest of course....
me tried fuji 1600... go see my Birds! gallery... the eagles esp...
lowest is reala at iso 80 lor for me... impetus to buy IS lenses...
Old 29th December 2002   #16
mervlam

Quote:
Fujichrome Velvia (ISO 50)
Fuji Superia 1600
Old 29th December 2002   #17
Silverelf

Supposing I used one of the more 'uncommon' films.. eg 1600, 50 etc and sent it to my neighbourhood shop, would it make a very big difference than if I sent it to a colour lab or something like that?

Anybody knows?
Old 29th December 2002   #18
yellow_kiwi

i use 1600 quite often last time. always sent them to reliable developers. think i will never noe till someone tells me, coz i wont risk that myself. juz to prevent

cheerios

Last edited by yellow_kiwi; 29th December 2002 at 05:42 PM.
Old 29th December 2002   #19
denizenx

Quote:
Supposing I used one of the more 'uncommon' films.. eg 1600, 50 etc and sent it to my neighbourhood shop, would it make a very big difference than if I sent it to a colour lab or something like that?

Anybody knows?
not much diff... if the lab sucks, it consistently sucks...
Closed Thread