Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Mac help needed

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Mac help needed

    hi all, just got a imac over the weekend...
    i'm a total newbie in mac so i'm having problem connecting
    to my D-link wireless router via the airport....anyone can help with that? thx....
    i can actually receive the signal but failed from ISP onwards base on the diagnostic....

    currently using neighbours' signal to surf net....

    cheers,
    kross
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  2. #2

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Maybe you can go to http://www.macuser.org.sg/forum
    It's a forum specialising in Apple products.

    Another good choice would be http://discussions.apple.com/categor...categoryID=132
    That's the Apple Discussion Board for iMacs.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by kross
    hi all, just got a imac over the weekend...
    i'm a total newbie in mac so i'm having problem connecting
    to my D-link wireless router via the airport....anyone can help with that? thx....
    i can actually receive the signal but failed from ISP onwards base on the diagnostic....

    currently using neighbours' signal to surf net....

    cheers,
    kross
    Call your ISP! they are better at helping you.
    At least they helped me

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by kross
    hi all, just got a imac over the weekend...
    i'm a total newbie in mac so i'm having problem connecting
    to my D-link wireless router via the airport....anyone can help with that? thx....
    i can actually receive the signal but failed from ISP onwards base on the diagnostic....

    currently using neighbours' signal to surf net....

    cheers,
    kross
    im not a mac expert but chances are you're not connected to the net via your ethernet. go to system preferences > Network > under 'show' check on built-in-ethernet and go to your TCP/IP. click on DHCP and 'apply now'. sorry if it does not work. just suggesting a possibilty scenario...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    near the Equator
    Posts
    1,255

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    I assume you are surfing wirelessly.

    Do see if your Airport can detect the network SSID, and if not, you may have to enter your SSID and WEP key of your modem to get it to work.
    We live in an age when unnecessary things are our only necessities. - Oscar Wilde

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by LazerLordz
    I assume you are surfing wirelessly.

    Do see if your Airport can detect the network SSID, and if not, you may have to enter your SSID and WEP key of your modem to get it to work.
    yes, it can detect the ssid network and i've connected to it with full signal after i key the WEP.... however, the connection failed at isp when i open safari as indicated by the diagnostic....
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by rolzink
    im not a mac expert but chances are you're not connected to the net via your ethernet. go to system preferences > Network > under 'show' check on built-in-ethernet and go to your TCP/IP. click on DHCP and 'apply now'. sorry if it does not work. just suggesting a possibilty scenario...
    thx for the suggestion but i'm using Airport, mac's wireless connection which does not require connection via ethernet....i think...
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by alucard
    Can you open a terminal and type in ifconfig? My guess is that your router isn't configured correctly. Check the DNS settings in your router. Usually located at http://192.168.1.1/setup
    thx....will check that out when i get home....
    can't wait to get my hands on the mac!
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    got frustrated and bought airport express....flawless...
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Your wireless router is a D-Link and you are using the on board wireless adapter on your imac to connect? I think the question asked was whether the ethernet cable is hooked up to your router.

    Have you keyed in the correct network settings in Internet Connect? Username, password etc...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by Terence
    Your wireless router is a D-Link and you are using the on board wireless adapter on your imac to connect? I think the question asked was whether the ethernet cable is hooked up to your router.

    Have you keyed in the correct network settings in Internet Connect? Username, password etc...
    yes, the cable was hooked up to my wireless router....settings done but still failed at isp...not sure if they are correct.......
    then i tried connecting the ethernet cable via the router to the mac and it worked....

    i'm using the airport express now and the connection speed is way faster wirelessly than via router-mac using cable...
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    So if everything is hunk dory with the airport express, where's the problem?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Check your Safari settings and uncheck all the proxies. Safari -> Preferences -> Advance -> Change Settings (Proxies). For Singnet BB, Singtel Magix & Starhub MOL, the proxies are transparent and you won't need to manually set the settings.

    Secondly, check that you've received a proper IP address from the router's DHCP server. For D-Link routers, this would be 192.168.0.X where X is a number from 2 to 254. That is, unless you have set a different IP address group on your router.

    Aside from these, check also that you do not have Super-G w/ Turbo on. Setting to Super-G would be sufficient. For your 802.11 settings, leave it as Mixed-mode rather than G-only or B-only.

    If you're using Starhub MOL, the DNS servers would be 202.156.1.58 & 202.156.1.38 for East side and 202.156.1.68 & 202.156.1.48 for Bukit Batok area. You can confirm this on the router Status page.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Mac help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by Firefox
    Check your Safari settings and uncheck all the proxies. Safari -> Preferences -> Advance -> Change Settings (Proxies). For Singnet BB, Singtel Magix & Starhub MOL, the proxies are transparent and you won't need to manually set the settings.

    Secondly, check that you've received a proper IP address from the router's DHCP server. For D-Link routers, this would be 192.168.0.X where X is a number from 2 to 254. That is, unless you have set a different IP address group on your router.

    Aside from these, check also that you do not have Super-G w/ Turbo on. Setting to Super-G would be sufficient. For your 802.11 settings, leave it as Mixed-mode rather than G-only or B-only.

    If you're using Starhub MOL, the DNS servers would be 202.156.1.58 & 202.156.1.38 for East side and 202.156.1.68 & 202.156.1.48 for Bukit Batok area. You can confirm this on the router Status page.
    thx....that definitely helps!
    will check it out at a later stage....now enjoying connection via the airport express!
    flickr me....
    exposure medium: 30% film, 70% sensor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •