Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

  1. #1

    Default GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    hi all,

    quite tempted to get the E-1 combo package from cameta.com. as the price is below
    SGD 2k and that is my dream DSLR since my JC days, I am seriously considering it. I am also looking at E-500.

    What do you folks say? should i get the older camera E-1, with only 5mp or get the e-500 which is a newer model but wont satisfied myself since i was shooting with SLR for 5 years already.... Headache sia....

    but seriously since i am new to digital slr, is 5mp really enough?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    JB, SG
    Posts
    3,529

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Again dun me fooled by megapixel count.

    If u shoot those 6megapixel DSLR like D70 with Fine JPEG, the compression ratio is so high that the end result is around 2.5mb.

    with E1 , u can choose SHQ compression ratio as 1/2.7. A JPEG file that is average 3.8mb.

    I am sure 3.8mb contain more detail than 2.5m JPEG pic.

    Visit Olympus studio at High Street, there are couple of poster size bird photo. U will be surprised with the quality of E1 output.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    181

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by wong_se
    Again dun me fooled by megapixel count.

    If u shoot those 6megapixel DSLR like D70 with Fine JPEG, the compression ratio is so high that the end result is around 2.5mb.

    with E1 , u can choose SHQ compression ratio as 1/2.7. A JPEG file that is average 3.8mb.

    I am sure 3.8mb contain more detail than 2.5m JPEG pic.

    Visit Olympus studio at High Street, there are couple of poster size bird photo. U will be surprised with the quality of E1 output.
    seriously, the megapixel count does not really matter. Like what wong_se has said, 3.8mb contain more detail then 2.5m JPEG. Furthermore, there are a lot of olympus accessories for the E-1. Go ahead and fufill your dream!

  4. #4

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    wow, well, i will seriously think about it.

    as for sensor on the E-1 compared to later E-system say E-500, E-300,

    will the color of the pictures taken be jus as rich as E-500 and E-300?

    sorry about my question but i am really new to digital slr , what is higher "mp" for, people are coming out with cameras with more than 10mp, does that really help on the photo quality?

    million thanks....

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    AMK, Singapore
    Posts
    527

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    True.. low jpeg compression that is one of the good point where Olympus is better than the other brands. Both the 1/2.7 and 1/4 compression used by Olympus are better than the best jpeg levels offer by the other brands..

    But many of the pros or enthusiats shoot raw so no diff..

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    If you do alot of large size enlargement; I mean really large ones. Then 10 mp and above is better. For normal enlargement up to A3, a 5mp is more than enough. Also don't forget, the higher the mp, the more processing power is required by your PC as well as storage space.

    E500 and E1 cater to different usage, the E500 for those who don't need elements protection while E1 for those who need to use their cam in adverse condition.
    Look at your requirement lor.
    Last edited by Moonstone; 23rd June 2006 at 09:42 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuatan1984
    wow, well, i will seriously think about it.

    as for sensor on the E-1 compared to later E-system say E-500, E-300,

    will the color of the pictures taken be jus as rich as E-500 and E-300?

    sorry about my question but i am really new to digital slr , what is higher "mp" for, people are coming out with cameras with more than 10mp, does that really help on the photo quality?

    million thanks....
    It only helps in prints. Depend on how big you want to print it. For the E1, I have printed only A4 size and it is tack sharp even if you put it right at your noise. If you want to print A3 and view it REAL CLOSE, I guess a 10MP camera will help. but this kind of thing is very subjective. Different people has different standards for how sharp is sharp enough

    As for the sensor, the technology is identical to E500 and E300. Although E1 has less MP than E300/500 it has higher dynamic range due to the larger pixel size. There is a white paper somewhere in the net with the technical specs of both sensors. I can't seem to find it anymore.

    One nice thing about E1 is that it has an external WB sensor which makes its WB very accurate and the colors are very nice off camera.
    Last edited by wind30; 23rd June 2006 at 09:47 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    JB, SG
    Posts
    3,529

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuatan1984
    as for sensor on the E-1 compared to later E-system say E-500, E-300,

    will the color of the pictures taken be jus as rich as E-500 and E-300?
    If u shot in RAW, i believe there is not much difference between E1 and E500 in terms of the colour.

    but if u shot in JEPG, the camera have done some processing before U see it on the LCD or on your PC.

    If picture colour is not that rich..u can ;

    1) adjust the settings in camera
    2) adjust the saturation in PS

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    JB, SG
    Posts
    3,529

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by wind30
    If you want to print A3 and view it REAL CLOSE, I guess a 10MP camera will help. but this kind of thing is very subjective.
    When one go to a photo exhibition...he will admire the photo from a distance.

    If there is a photo printed in a poster size...and he moves that real close (ie..less than 1 foot distance) to check sharpness..then he is more trying to find fault.


    Even with 15 megapixel camera, if will enlarge it to 100% crop...I believe we can always find fault here and there..ie..corner detail not as sharp. etc..etc..

  10. #10

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    generally for hobbyists, mp not very impt. but u have to consider sometimes u need to crop yr photos,
    u end up with 3-4mp photo. is this acceptable to u?

    E1 does not have built in flash, do u need such a feature? or u prefer to use external flash for all occasions that need one.

    a metal body cam like E1 is always feels more solid and nice to use....
    i like metal body cam & need built in flash also, so i choose e300.

  11. #11

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    The E-1 combo will give you the wonderful 14-54mm which is a excellent len which also do simple macro shot.

    Is there any feature on the E-1 that really attracts you compared to the E-500?
    (prefer heavier and weather proof built? prefer externally accessible controls? don't really use internal flash? smaller LCD preview is ok? like to use manual focus?)

    It seems that you have some equipment feature wish that is already not satisfied by E-500?

    Read the review and detail on www.dpreview.com which provide comprehensive information comparing the specification of both camera.

    E-1 picture quality is superb so don't worry on this aspect.

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuatan1984
    hi all,

    quite tempted to get the E-1 combo package from cameta.com. as the price is below
    SGD 2k and that is my dream DSLR since my JC days, I am seriously considering it. I am also looking at E-500.

    What do you folks say? should i get the older camera E-1, with only 5mp or get the e-500 which is a newer model but wont satisfied myself since i was shooting with SLR for 5 years already.... Headache sia....

    but seriously since i am new to digital slr, is 5mp really enough?

  12. #12

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    E-1's color fidelity is a key for me to keep it.
    Comparing to E-500, E-1's body is much more durable especially for its toughness and weathersealed (this one also very important!)

    Megapixel resolution will affect only if you print more than 1 m x 1 m size. So.. do not worry to go for E-1 imo..

  13. #13

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    The shutter life of the E-1 is also much much longer than E-xxx series

    Quote Originally Posted by zuikoku
    E-1's color fidelity is a key for me to keep it.
    Comparing to E-500, E-1's body is much more durable especially for its toughness and weathersealed (this one also very important!)

    Megapixel resolution will affect only if you print more than 1 m x 1 m size. So.. do not worry to go for E-1 imo..

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    JB, SG
    Posts
    3,529

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by ch5800
    The shutter life of the E-1 is also much much longer than E-xxx series
    150,000 shutter count before it will die. Compared to most consumer DSLR at 50k.

  15. #15

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by wong_se
    150,000 shutter count before it will die. Compared to most consumer DSLR at 50k.
    Wow, really Pro's grade....

  16. #16

    Default Re: GET E-1 or jus settle with E-500?

    Quote Originally Posted by wong_se
    150,000 shutter count before it will die. Compared to most consumer DSLR at 50k.

    hmmm.. how to noe my shutter count? Im using E300

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •