Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > IR/UV Photography

IR/UV Photography Seeing the world in a different light.

Old 14th June 2006   #1
teerex

Default Next Outing, #10

Thinking about the next IR Shoot, #10 (no mistake this time )

How about going to Bishan Park, anyone familiar with that place?
Old 14th June 2006   #2
vortex

Default Re: Next Outing, #10

didnt we go there the last time?
Old 14th June 2006   #3
teerex

Originally Posted by vortex
didnt we go there the last time?
We went there once. But I'm not famliar as to how to get there from the Bishan MRT Stn.
Sponsored Link
Old 14th June 2006   #4
Qazwer

Bishan Park quite big leh ... which part huh?
Old 14th June 2006   #5
kevdead

How abt punggol beach? Don't know if you guys went alrdy?
Old 14th June 2006   #6
Qazwer

Not really leh. But the little woods there have quite a lot of insects one... Been there for macro shooting. Mosquitos a lot also.
Old 14th June 2006   #7
quekky

dun wan punggol beach lah, no shelter 1 leh...
Old 14th June 2006   #8
teerex

Originally Posted by Qazwer
Bishan Park quite big leh ... which part huh?
One of the reasons why I'm asking if anyone is familiar with that park.
Old 15th June 2006   #9
Dennis

Yeh, the last time I went to the wrong place and also had to go fishing for my lens cap.
Old 15th June 2006   #10
Francis247

Originally Posted by Dennis
Yeh, the last time I went to the wrong place and also had to go fishing for my lens cap.
Oh My...
Luckily it is lens cap only, but still have to look for a replacement.

Here are a few suggestions:

1) Punggol : Can try Matilda House and Punggol Beach
Pro: Can try capturing shots of the famous Matilda House
Can move over to Sungei Punggol side where there is quite a lot of nature vegetation
Con : The distance in between Matilda House and Punggol Beach is quite far.
Nothing much interesting except Matilda House.

2) NTU Campus
Pro: Nice Building Structure
Con: Very far in the West

3) Labrador Park
Pro: Nice Jetty outstretch into the sea
Con: Transportation
May not have many interesting subject for a 4 hours shooting session

4) Kranji War Memorial
Pro: Nice Scenery
Old 15th June 2006   #11
teerex

Originally Posted by Francis247
Oh My...
Luckily it is lens cap only, but still have to look for a replacement.

Here are a few suggestions:

1) Punggol : Can try Matilda House and Punggol Beach
Pro: Can try capturing shots of the famous Matilda House
Can move over to Sungei Punggol side where there is quite a lot of nature vegetation
Con : The distance in between Matilda House and Punggol Beach is quite far.
Nothing much interesting except Matilda House.

2) NTU Campus
Pro: Nice Building Structure
Con: Very far in the West

3) Labrador Park
Pro: Nice Jetty outstretch into the sea
May not have many interesting subject for a 4 hours shooting session

4) Kranji War Memorial
Pro: Nice Scenery
Thanks for all your suggestions Francis.

Labrador Park: Nothing much really, except for the long jetty reaching out to the sea.

NTU Campus: Don't think there's a lot of foliage for a mixed green and architecture shoot.

Kranji War Memorial: Really is too far for some.

From your list looks like Matilda House and the area around is ideal for a shoot. How far is the Punggol Beach from Matilda House, any means of public transport?

So it's between Bishan Park and Matilda house for the shoot on 25th June 2006 #10.

Since you live around there and familiar with the area. Would you be kind enough to take the lead for the group to Matilda House and the surrounding area? If you're available on that day, can start a thread for the outing?

May be a bit far for some (including me), but I guess many do not realise the house is standing there beside the MRT Stn.
Old 15th June 2006   #12
leews2001

just wondering, would you guys think the area around seletar air base is interesting for photo shoot? since now its open to public access...
Old 15th June 2006   #13
teerex

Originally Posted by leews2001
just wondering, would you guys think the area around seletar air base is interesting for photo shoot? since now its open to public access...
Thanks for you suggestion.

Is it accessable by public transport? Most of us depend on that to go around.
Old 15th June 2006   #14
Qazwer

I can do free ferry service from Sengkang MRT to Punggol.
Old 15th June 2006   #15
Francis247

Originally Posted by teerex

From your list looks like Matilda House and the area around is ideal for a shoot. How far is the Punggol Beach from Matilda House, any means of public transport?

So it's between Bishan Park and Matilda house for the shoot on 25th June 2006 #10.

Since you live around there and familiar with the area. Would you be kind enough to take the lead for the group to Matilda House and the surrounding area? If you're available on that day, can start a thread for the outing?

May be a bit far for some (including me), but I guess many do not realise the house is standing there beside the MRT Stn.
Hi Teerex,

No problem. Will get back to you soon.
Old 15th June 2006   #16
teerex

Originally Posted by Francis247
Hi Teerex,

No problem. Will get back to you soon.
Thanks Francis. Leslie has volunteered his freey services.
Old 15th June 2006   #17
leews2001

Originally Posted by teerex
Thanks for you suggestion.

Is it accessable by public transport? Most of us depend on that to go around.
ye, i dont drive either.

here is the map

can walk from LRT: Thanggam (700m) along jalan Kayu
or by bus more direct: 103, 858 (woodland, yishun), 86A (amk)
Old 15th June 2006   #18
yilishengxian

When is this going to be held? I gotta try to make myself free ...
Old 15th June 2006   #19
teerex

ye, i dont drive either.

here is the map

Thanks, can consider this place on another outing. I may recce the place first, hope I don't get lost.
Old 15th June 2006   #20
Qazwer

ye, i dont drive either.

here is the map

Looks like near to Jalan Kayu ... That part of Singapore is quite interesting for IR.
Closed Thread