Thread: My new E330 preflash problem

Default My new E330 preflash problem

Just bought my new E330 and I thought I could have some nice dinner shots in a friend's wedding. Unfortunately. the pop up flash gave so much preflashes before it actually flash and this really bother many of the guests especially children. This is the first time I use a SLR for such photoshoot.

Is preflash normal for Olympus E330 SLR when you initially focus by pressing gently on the snap button? How to avoid preflash other than cloising the pop up flash. I am quite new to this camera.

I don't have this problem with my Nikon 5400 compact camera. Can anybody advise?

Default Re: My new E330 preflash problem

The preflash act as a focusing aid for the camera in low light. You can disable it in the camera menu, epescially when photographing people.

You must have been taking photos during a dinner by candlelight. Under normal room lighting, my E-330 does not seem to require focus assist at all.

This is normal when the focusing system is not able to focus. Turning it off may result in out of focus pictures. Alternative is to get an external flash (FL-36 or 50) that has an AF illuminator which is not irritating.

Quote Originally Posted by Humvee333
    Just bought my new E330 and I thought I could have some nice dinner shots in a friend's wedding. Unfortunately. the pop up flash gave so much preflashes before it actually flash and this really bother many of the guests especially children. This is the first time I use a SLR for such photoshoot.

Is preflash normal for Olympus E330 SLR when you initially focus by pressing gently on the snap button? How to avoid preflash other than cloising the pop up flash. I am quite new to this camera.

I don't have this problem with my Nikon 5400 compact camera. Can anybody advise?