Thread: Higher Aperture for Low Light?

Default Higher Aperture for Low Light?

Hi,

I am new to DSLR and sometimes try to shoot in low light at night. However my lens maximum aperture is F4 and I cannot get rid of camera shake even at high ISO. Will a higher aperture help in taking photos at night without tripod? I am looking at the 50mm F1.4 and wonder if that helps a lot. Thanks!

Default Re: Higher Aperture for Low Light?

Bigger aperture can help, but it really depends how low light you mean.
    At f1.4, indoor at ISO800 and above is ok. But if streetlights, out in the street, maybe still a problem at ISO1600. Moonlight, you will need a tripod.

f/4 to f/1.4 is 3 stops. Which probably will improve quite a lot in low light condition, but beware that, at f/1.4 (wide open) the image won't be sharp and the depth of view is very small, you probably need increase the aperture from f/1.4 to f/2.0 to get reasonable image.
    Last edited by zcf; 6th June 2006 at 04:49 PM.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

If you want to capture movement without much blur...set to the largest aperture size and shoot with the fastest shutter spd to get a decent exposure...if not... just set the aperture to f8, leave it on the tripod with a long exposure...you'll get decent shots at night with this.. just try an experiment...you're using a digital anyways..
    if my camera is there at the right moment, click, all I have to do is accept it.
    -edouard boubat

f4 to f1.4 is actually 3 stops which mean ur shutter speed will be around 8x faster. if you shoot at 1/10 wif f4, you will be able to get 1/80 with f1.4 which is a big increase. but like what Patryk said you will still have to use tripod under moonlight

Deregistered

It will help only if your blur is not caused by motion blur (ie: subject movement) else give you f/1.2 also no use.

Quote Originally Posted by espn
    It will help only if your blur is not caused by motion blur (ie: subject movement) else give you f/1.2 also no use.