Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: how to 100% crop in CS2

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default how to 100% crop in CS2

    how to define a crop area in pixels and have the 100%-sized crop zone? right now if I just type in the size I want, it gives me a crop rectangle with the correct ratio but unrestricted size, and it resizes to the specified size after cropping. I want it NOT to resize? can or not?

  2. #2

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    I dun hv CS2 with me now, but if my memory serves me correct, there are some tiny check boxes on the right side of the aspect ratio which u can set. u just need to uncheck or check it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    so you actually understood what I was asking? lol. OK I go have another look.

  4. #4

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Hmmm...

  5. #5

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    The crop tool doesn't allow u to do tt.
    U have to
    1. create a layer from background (if it's a background)
    2. from the menu, Image --> canvas size
    3. type in your dimensions
    4. move the layer until u want the portion to be shown
    5. flatten image.

  6. #6

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Let me paraphrase for hwchoy

    By default, if you set your crop rectangle at 800 px X 600 px and crop your unresized original picture,

    the cropped portion will be resized to 800 px x 600 px.

    What he wants is to have a unresized crop which is 100% the actual size.

  7. #7

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by AReality
    The crop tool doesn't allow u to do tt.
    U have to
    1. create a layer from background (if it's a background)
    2. from the menu, Image --> canvas size
    3. type in your dimensions
    4. move the layer until u want the portion to be shown
    5. flatten image.
    Cheem

  8. #8

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    try this..

    1. select crop tool
    2. set style to "fixed size" - see pic below
    3. enter height and width. add 'px' for pixels, eg 1000 px
    4. select area to crop


  9. #9

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by madmacs
    try this..

    1. select crop tool
    2. set style to "fixed size" - see pic below
    3. enter height and width. add 'px' for pixels, eg 1000 px
    4. select area to crop

    ya, something like that, is this a customized skin for cs2? mine looks quite different.

  10. #10

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by wong1979
    ya, something like that, is this a customized skin for cs2? mine looks quite different.
    this one is mac screenshot..

  11. #11
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    that's a mac he's using..

    if i want 100% crop, i just zoom in to 100% and crop accordingly lor...
    eat. drink. shoot

  12. #12
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by wong1979
    ya, something like that, is this a customized skin for cs2? mine looks quite different.
    that's a mac he's using..

    if i want 100% crop, i just zoom in to 100% and crop accordingly lor...
    eat. drink. shoot

  13. #13

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by madmacs
    try this..

    1. select crop tool
    2. set style to "fixed size" - see pic below
    3. enter height and width. add 'px' for pixels, eg 1000 px
    4. select area to crop

    I dun think tt's a crop tool rite?
    Tt's the rectangular marquee tool.

    Dun think can crop using this method.
    But can copy the marqueed area, then create new image, paste inside.

  14. #14
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    can crop...

    use the marquee tool, select the area. click "image"->"crop"
    eat. drink. shoot

  15. #15

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by AReality
    I dun think tt's a crop tool rite?
    Tt's the rectangular marquee tool.

    Dun think can crop using this method.
    But can copy the marqueed area, then create new image, paste inside.
    oops..my mistake. i did mean rectangular marquee

    anyway...after selecting the area you want to crop, select Image, Crop to crop the selection.

  16. #16

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy
    how to define a crop area in pixels and have the 100%-sized crop zone? right now if I just type in the size I want, it gives me a crop rectangle with the correct ratio but unrestricted size, and it resizes to the specified size after cropping. I want it NOT to resize? can or not?
    not sure about CS2, using PS7 here. i usually use rectangular marquee tool to do that. choose style->fix size, CTRL-C to copy, CTRL-N to open a new file, CTRL-V to paste. this way i never have to risk messing the original file.

  17. #17
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    if you don't save you don't mess the original file
    eat. drink. shoot

  18. #18

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Ahhh...

    We learn something new everyday.


    .

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    thanx guys! learned how to use the marquee tool

    evenstar, with the crop tool you can't fixed the size of the cropping rectangle leh.

  20. #20

    Default Re: how to 100% crop in CS2

    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy
    how to define a crop area in pixels and have the 100%-sized crop zone? right now if I just type in the size I want, it gives me a crop rectangle with the correct ratio but unrestricted size, and it resizes to the specified size after cropping. I want it NOT to resize? can or not?
    If you want 100% crop (i.e. just a crop of original picture and no resizing), then only specify the width and height (in inches for the wanted ratio) but leave the resolution (pixel per inch) box blank :

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost....84&postcount=4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •