Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Olympus

Olympus Discover Your Wonder

Old 16th May 2006   #1
chancy

Default Official Zuiko Digital Lens Price Revision At Mytikas

Hello,

Kindly note that at long last, the long awaited revised price list for Olympus E-System lenses is here.

The new RRP list along with current RRPs is available online at Mytikas.

While prices for some items remains unchanged or slightly revised, there's no doubt that for the rest, street prices will fall in tandem and affordability of these goes up by a few notches :-)

Cheers,
Old 16th May 2006   #2
NMSS_2

Default Re: Official Zuiko Digital Lens Price Revision At Mytikas

when is this going to be effective from in retail? retail @ 20% cheaper than in SRP? how come no fisheye in the discount package! sianz
Old 16th May 2006   #3
chancy

Hi NMSS_2,

As I understand, the information is simultaneously released to dealers & Mytikas. If the dealer network is large, the dissemination process may take a while. The deviation from RRP will vary from dealer to dealer. So compiling a revised street price listing may prove useful :-)

Hope this clarifies,

Cheers,

Last edited by chancy; 16th May 2006 at 09:57 PM.
Sponsored Link
Old 16th May 2006   #4
tomcat

Luckily for me, the price did not drop for the 11-22mm and 7-14mm. Otherwise I would really bang.
Old 17th May 2006   #5
chancy

Hi Tomcat,

It does seem that non of their top Super High Grade series of lenses received a price mark down, so the price premium for these are retained.

From those I talked to, they felt the 50-200 is over-priced and many have set sights on buying from overseas; the price reduction for this lens appears to target the pent up demand for it and its price perception.

IMO, the 11-22 & the 50-200 are the next step to move from kit lenses for the general photo enthuasiats, I was hoping that the wide angle will get a price reduction to entice buyers to this very practical & optically great focal length.

Cheers,
Old 17th May 2006   #6
MIA

Originally Posted by chancy
Hi Tomcat,

It does seem that non of their top Super High Grade series of lenses received a price mark down, so the price premium for these are retained.

From those I talked to, they felt the 50-200 is over-priced and many have set sights on buying from overseas; the price reduction for this lens appears to target the pent up demand for it and its price perception.

IMO, the 11-22 & the 50-200 are the next step to move from kit lenses for the general photo enthuasiats, I was hoping that the wide angle will get a price reduction to entice buyers to this very practical & optically great focal length.

Cheers,
Hi Chancy,

Check with some dealers, seems like the street price of 7-14mm got a slight revison as well. Just for your info
Old 17th May 2006   #7
wind30

Originally Posted by MIA
Hi Chancy,

Check with some dealers, seems like the street price of 7-14mm got a slight revison as well. Just for your info
so what are the prices?

not sure if Mytikas has any part (like feedback, etc) in getting the overdue price revision, but if they has, a big thanks

maybe can go back to olympus. buy camera for my wife as first anniversary present
Old 17th May 2006   #8
raycsk

Originally Posted by wind30
not sure if Mytikas has any part (like feedback, etc) in getting the overdue price revision, but if they has, a big thanks
I dun think so
Old 17th May 2006   #9
MIA

so what are the prices?

maybe can go back to olympus. buy camera for my wife as first anniversary present

U might wanna call up some dealers to check?
Old 17th May 2006   #10
Red-I

Was eyeing the teleconverter EC-14. Asked for E-quote from Cathay.... but price only $10 lower than before! Cheers.
Old 17th May 2006   #11
harmony

Hope this would translate into a more affordable 14-54mm which I am eyeing...
Old 17th May 2006   #12
igpenguin

wondering about the street pricing of the 50-200 and extension tube..
Old 17th May 2006   #13
chancy

Originally Posted by MIA
Hi Chancy,

Hi MIA,

In my opinion, although dealers may have peg street price adjustments by some fixed percentage relative to RRP, a major price revision does offer the 'psychological' opportunity by both sides (dealer & customer) to start negotiating streets prices on a 'clean slate'. Just guessing, else you might have gotten a lucky quote on the 7-14mm :-)

Cheers,
Old 17th May 2006   #14
siaolang22

fyi , pple. just bought my 11-22 from cathay 2day 4 $1100-, lensbaby 2.o $ 240- ' ANYBODY SELLING 7-14 OR 18-180 PLS pm ME THKS'
Old 18th May 2006   #15
Hacker

Oracle has it selling for $1000.
Old 18th May 2006   #16
plastic

Everyone who has gone down to Hill Street and thump Olympus' door and telling them about online purchase would have ruffled their feathers... Its a collective effort. For one, I am liking Oly even more because we can really go "drink coffee" with their guys and tell them what we feel and they seem to be listening.

(How about the 150mm loaner?) ha ha ha... I am pushing it...
Old 18th May 2006   #17
plastic

Originally Posted by Hacker
Oracle has it selling for $1000.
Where's Oracle? Actually, is there a list of dealers and their contacts sitting around somewhere?
Old 18th May 2006   #18
shchow

yes.

http://www.mytikas.org/portal/viewtopic.php?t=125

btw, Oracle is a CSer here..
Old 18th May 2006   #19
plastic

Originally Posted by shchow
yes.

http://www.mytikas.org/portal/viewtopic.php?t=125

btw, Oracle is a CSer here..
Ha ha ha... paiseh...

Aiyah, so it was in the other place... no wonder I kept finding and cannot seem to find it... I remember seeing it somewhere... thanks for the reminder. Must be getting old.
Old 18th May 2006   #20
siaolang22

Originally Posted by tao
What? CP increased their price on the 11-22mm? End of last year, I was quoted $1070 inc GST before I bought it cheaper from another source.
huh! wah lan eh!!!! tsk tsk , wish u could tell me earlier bro. $30 bucks diff. can buy me 6 bottles of beer leh! waaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!
Closed Thread