Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

View Poll Results: What is the Plural of "Canon EOS 1Ds"?
1Ds 2 8.00%
1Ds's 2 8.00%
1Dses 4 16.00%
1Dss 0 0%
1Ds'es 4 16.00%
1Dssssssssssss 2 8.00%
1Ds' 3 12.00%
This is so confusing! Heck, I'd buy TWO D1s instead. 8 32.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th December 2002   #1
ckiang

Default Canon 1Ds in plural?

Just stumbled upon this (ok, a fellow photog brought it up over ICQ first).

What's the plural of 1Ds?

"I have 2 Canon 1Ds" (= I have two Canon 1D(plural) or I have two Canon 1Ds (the 11mp SLR) ?

Or??

Old 17th December 2002   #2
ckiang

Come on, I thought there are LOTSa Canon users?

Old 17th December 2002   #3
BlueAngel

aiya we are photographers ......not linguists
Sponsored Link
Old 17th December 2002   #4
mylau

1Dass
Old 17th December 2002   #5
denizenx

I prefer 3D ass, dun like flat flat type...
Old 17th December 2002   #6
Zoomer

I am 5 Canon '1Ds's.
Old 17th December 2002   #7
Klipsch

ITs 1Ds'es for me.
Old 17th December 2002   #8
Darren
ClubSNAP Admin

Its EOS-1Di

As in plural of Hippopotamus is Hippopotami; or plural of radius is radii.

On the other hand, can also use Hippopotamuses or radiuses altho they sound a bit funny.

Well, since its not on the vote, I say its EOS-1Di .... as in "I can't believe I have TWO EOS-1Diiiiiiayaiayaiayayayaiii ... and took out a 2nd mortgage on my house to buy them "

Old 17th December 2002   #9
denizenx

'i' is to replace "us" leh...
so many ixus become ixi... but of cos many buses is not bi...
nor is pi a string of unending pus..
Old 17th December 2002   #10
denizenx

"I got 2 1Ds"
"What? u wearing both at the same time? yucks."
Old 17th December 2002   #11
sriram

Singular = "unaffordable"
Plural = "unaffordables"
Old 17th December 2002   #12
ninelives

1ds = singular

1dp = plural

s=singular

p= plural

answer Canon 1Dp

simple ?
Old 17th December 2002   #13
ckiang

To think Canon came up with such a name.....

Red Dawn posted same in dpreview.com, results were more interesting:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...essage=3977336

Among them, the post of the day:

Quote:
Person with one 1Ds = more money than me
Person with two 1Ds's = has too much spare cash
and

Quote:
If someone has one 1Ds, he has one great camera,

He who owns more than one 1Ds has a camera store.

Old 17th December 2002   #14
ninelives

Quote:
Originally posted by ckiang
To think Canon came up with such a name.....

Red Dawn posted same in dpreview.com, results were more interesting:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...essage=3977336

Among them, the post of the day:

and

hehe, i replied liao.
Old 17th December 2002   #15
Adam Goi
ClubSNAP Idol

"...erm Uncle (pointing at the 1Ds which is on the shelf) can I have 2 Canon 1Ds cameras?"
Old 17th December 2002   #16
ckiang

Quote:
Originally posted by AdamGoi
"...erm Uncle (pointing at the 1Ds which is on the shelf) can I have 2 Canon 1Ds cameras?"
Ah, a teacher is a teacher. That sounds about correct.

To be more precise...

"Can I have 2 Canon EOS 1Ds cameras?"

Old 30th December 2002   #17
Goondu

Quote:
Originally posted by ckiang

Ah, a teacher is a teacher. That sounds about correct.

To be more precise...

"Can I have 2 Canon EOS 1Ds cameras?"

Yes you can, but you may not.
Old 17th November 2007   #18
jlchong

Default Re: Canon 1Ds in plural?

Canon didnt think of that. cos usually people can only afford one mah.. haaahaha
Closed Thread