Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Others > FAQs and Feedback

FAQs and Feedback Frequently Asked Questions are kept in here. You can also feedback on the site/forum and suggest new ideas.

Old 25th April 2006   #1
wind30

Default Question to Mod: what is the stand for OT posts?

I am wondering what is CS stand on repeated senseless OT posts like

KRW ROCKS!!!

etc, etc, etc.

I have started a poll on the opinon of general CSers but I am wondering what is the official stand of the mods?

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=192290

Is it condoned in CS? I don't like it and I think there are two solutions depending on whether such OT posts are allowed in CS.

If it is not, then the mods should do something about it.

If it is allowed, then I can give those people a taste of their own medicine but that will turn very ugly.
Old 25th April 2006   #2
Chris Lim

Default Re: Question to Mod: what is the stand for OT posts?

Hi, i'm not like a seasoned poster. But i kinda believed we had this issue sot too long back. A huge hoo haa wa kinda created out of it and we all kinda came to a conclusion that it is unavoidable that new blood is pumped into the forum and as the friendly side of people gets too friendly at times, OT will happen. Thus perhaps all the mods can do or the thread starter can do is to punch in a friendly reminder from time to time to request that the people replying to the threads to keep in line with the original intention of starting the thread. Hope i kinda answered the question even though i'm not a MOD =) oh yeah.... if you are really pissed off by the over bearing amt of OT in ur threads, can always ask the mod in a PM or sth to help ya out wit it to. I'm sure they'll be more then happy to help =)
Old 25th April 2006   #3
espn

I vote for Wind30 to be a moderator for CS Then he can clean up all the posts
Old 25th April 2006   #4
zaren

wind30 roxxxx!!!!!!!!!!! yeah!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 25th April 2006   #5
wind30

Originally Posted by zaren
how do you like if people flood your Zaren photo a day thread with

Zaren roxxx!!!!! yeah!!!!!!

plus garbage. It is not that difficult to do it once a day. with big pictures embedded so that everyone has to scroll through tons of garbage to see your pics.

Most people don't do not cuz it is rude. But it really is not very diffcult.
Old 25th April 2006   #6
wind30

but since you don't mind OT I am sure you will not mind me doing it to your thread....
Old 25th April 2006   #7
nightpiper

i wud say some tolerence cud be give to OT posts. eg, in a discussion thread about buying a Canon 5D, someone ask "OT a bit: can my old P4 1.8GHz 256MB ram handle 12.8MP RAW files?"

but if OT posts like: "chiong post mai?" "u want money i burn give u lor" or "didn't realise 7th month come already so soon" these r really something everyone shud refrain from & mods step in to take action.

what i wud like to see the mods do is to have stricter actions for repeated "offenders" instead of juz send warning PMs.
Old 25th April 2006   #8
ndroo

Originally Posted by wind30
how do you like if people flood your Zaren photo a day thread with

Zaren roxxx!!!!! yeah!!!!!!
Yay! I was the first to do just that!
Old 25th April 2006   #9
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by nightpiper
i wud say some tolerence cud be give to OT posts. eg, in a discussion thread about buying a Canon 5D, someone ask "OT a bit: can my old P4 1.8GHz 256MB ram handle 12.8MP RAW files?"

but if OT posts like: "chiong post mai?" "u want money i burn give u lor" or "didn't realise 7th month come already so soon" these r really something everyone shud refrain from & mods step in to take action.

what i wud like to see the mods do is to have stricter actions for repeated "offenders" instead of juz send warning PMs.
got warning PMs? hmm i must be a good boi.. haven kena yet... sorry for the OT...
Old 25th April 2006   #10
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by espn
I vote for Wind30 to be a moderator for CS Then he can clean up all the posts
Dun be sarcastic lah... u willing to give up your top poster records?
Old 25th April 2006   #11
wind30

I agree that OT is inevitable.
At first when this kenrockwell thing started, it is ok. Just a jab at some famous internet reviewer. But it went on and on and on like some durcell bunny.....

Actually,
I do not expect the moderators to clean up all the posts. Rather I expect the moderators to have a public stand on this and the rest of the CSers will comply on their OWN ACCORD, being the reasonable adults we all are. We are all "guests" here and it is only basic courtesy to obey the house rules.

Anyway don't forget to VOTE!!

We can talk all day but ultimately I think it is good to see what the general CS public feel about this.
Old 25th April 2006   #12
espn

Originally Posted by zaren
Can't agree more
Old 25th April 2006   #13
espn

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
Dun be sarcastic lah... u willing to give up your top poster records?
Who cares about post counts? I was never the one that like to bother with it, but some others just care so much to take note of it, nothing I can do, yeah?

I still vote for Wind30 to be a moderator so that he can stand up to OT posts
Old 25th April 2006   #14
zhang3feng

with ESPN ard things will sure get funny...
Old 25th April 2006   #15
espn

Don't get off topic, I'm being serious in here.

There are too many people obsessed with Kings and post counts They don't even know the joke behind it before they joke about it.

Vote for Wind30!!!
Old 25th April 2006   #16
roygoh

Originally Posted by wind30

I am wondering what is CS stand on repeated senseless OT posts like

KRW ROCKS!!!

etc, etc, etc.

I have started a poll on the opinon of general CSers but I am wondering what is the official stand of the mods?

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=192290

Is it condoned in CS? I don't like it and I think there are two solutions depending on whether such OT posts are allowed in CS.

If it is not, then the mods should do something about it.

If it is allowed, then I can give those people a taste of their own medicine but that will turn very ugly.
To find out CS's official stand towards OT posts, please read the Official Terms of Use.

We have so far not been very strict about this. Not that we have a choice, as there are too many posts in CS compared to the number of moderators available.

There were many posts/threads that were moved/edited/deleted because of flooding of OT posts, but there is no way for the mods to catch up.

Since you have an impression that the mods are not doing anything about this, we welcome any suggestions from you on how to prevent or minimize OT posts in CS.

Having said that, we definitely do not agree to any member taking advantage of the resource limitation and use posting OT comments as a means to irritate other members.

At the end of the day, every member here should ask themselves what kind of forum they want CS to be and then behave accordingly. While the admins and mods can try our best to shape CS into what we envisioned it to be, it remains greatly in the hands of members to determine the outcome of CS.

Thanks.

- Roy
Old 25th April 2006   #17
espn

Seriously, why not up wind30 to be a moderator, he's been pretty active and eager to help shape CS the way he expects it to be.

I'm sure he will help CS in many ways.
Old 25th April 2006   #18
zac08

Originally Posted by espn
Seriously, why not up wind30 to be a moderator, he's been pretty active and eager to help shape CS the way he expects it to be.

I'm sure he will help CS in many ways.
Moderators can only do so much. It's up to the members to control themselves and keep the forum running smoothly. How we want the forum to continue is all up to us.

Your choice, your call.
Old 25th April 2006   #19
wind30

roy,

thanks for the reply. Please understand that I am not trying to tell you guys how to run CS. All I offer is my single opinon and I started a poll so we can see what is the general feeling of the public. (else I would not have started the poll. The poll is a public poll so it is transparent)

Since you have said "Having said that, we definitely do not agree to any member taking advantage of the resource limitation and use posting OT comments as a means to irritate other members. "

I ASSUME that the moderators is against such posts.

As the moderators are relatively hands off and unobtrusive, people don't really know whether whether certain postings are within the rules.

Actually until now I still am not very sure if the numerous kenrockwell + variations postings have crossed the line or not as there isn't any signals from the moderators. And this movement seem to be gathering strength to the irritance of those who cannot appreciate the "joke"

Since you ask for suggestions on how to improve the situation, here is mine,
1) Post public warnings to offenders. This will make the official stand of the moderators clear and most polite mature people will follow the house rules of the forum. Hopefully no drastic action will be required.

2) let them taste their own medicine lor.... but this is really a bad solution.
Old 25th April 2006   #20
espn

Originally Posted by zac08
Moderators can only do so much. It's up to the members to control themselves and keep the forum running smoothly. How we want the forum to continue is all up to us.

Your choice, your call.
Yup it's all up to us, that's why I'm suggesting and nominating wind30 for the moderator job so that they can do more with manpower.
Closed Thread