Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Film recommendation

  1. #1

    Default Film recommendation

    Will be going to the " Disney On Ice"..wanna to take some shots..using my EOS300..can anyone recommend any film that will be suitable for this kind of low light environment? Cannot use flash...prohibited.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by Paladin
    Will be going to the " Disney On Ice"..wanna to take some shots..using my EOS300..can anyone recommend any film that will be suitable for this kind of low light environment? Cannot use flash...prohibited.
    Fuji Press 800. $6.50 at Foto Guide. If necessary, push it to 1600 (just set your ISO to 1600 and tell the lab to push one stop). Be careful of underexposure due to the mass of white ice. Compensate +1 stop. Light might be a problem, distance might be a problem, so beg borrow buy or steal a Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L (IS) USM or Sigma 70-200mm f2.8.

    Regards
    CK

  3. #3

    Default Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Fuji Press 800. $6.50 at Foto Guide. If necessary, push it to 1600 (just set your ISO to 1600 and tell the lab to push one stop). Be careful of underexposure due to the mass of white ice. Compensate +1 stop. Light might be a problem, distance might be a problem, so beg borrow buy or steal a Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L (IS) USM or Sigma 70-200mm f2.8.

    Regards
    CK
    Got the 300mm zoom that comes with the kit. The best that I have...or maybe CK you wanna lend me??

  4. #4

    Default

    no no. That won't do. Get a f2.8 at the very least.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by Paladin


    Got the 300mm zoom that comes with the kit. The best that I have...or maybe CK you wanna lend me??
    Well, if your camera can take Nikon lenses.....

    Regards
    CK

  6. #6

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Well, if your camera can take Nikon lenses.....

    Regards
    CK
    I do have a NikonF401....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by Paladin


    I do have a NikonF401....
    Ok, $100 a day, $1500 deposit.

    Regards
    CK

  8. #8

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Ok, $100 a day, $1500 deposit.

    Regards
    CK
    Wah..daylight robbery!!! On a serious note, what is the concept of pushing the 800 to 1600? Can explain?

  9. #9
    Mouse
    Guests

    Default

    Pushed film behaves like a film of that speed. However, due to the tolerance level of the film, you may expect more grain, poorer colour and less contrast.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by Paladin


    Wah..daylight robbery!!! On a serious note, what is the concept of pushing the 800 to 1600? Can explain?
    Well, that lens cost me $1680, if you run away with it how?

    Anyway, pushing simply means to set your camera to the desired ISO rating (which will be higher than the film's). Then you tell the lab to "push" the film to that rating you've set.

    E.g. to push Press 800 to 1600, set your camera to 1600. Shoot as usual, then go to the lab (don't bother going neighbourhood labs) and ask them to "push one stop" or "push to 1600".

    Expect more grain, poorer colour, etc. Contrast also increases, so you lose shadow/highlight detail as well.

    Regards
    CK

  11. #11

    Default

    My impression is if you push to 1600 with a 800 film, you are telling the camera that you are having a 1600 film when you actually have 800. The camera will them meter everthing at 1600 setting. Won't that make the taken shots underexpose?? a little bit confuse here.....

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Paladin
    My impression is if you push to 1600 with a 800 film, you are telling the camera that you are having a 1600 film when you actually have 800. The camera will them meter everthing at 1600 setting. Won't that make the taken shots underexpose?? a little bit confuse here.....
    You WILL be underexposing one stop. That's why you tell the lab to "push" the film one stop (VERY important). They will alter their film processing to make that 800 film into 1600. Of coz, there ain't nothing as a free lunch, so you have to contend with grain, increase in contrast, poorer colours, etc. as a side effect.

    Pushed Press 800 (@1600) looks something like this:

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...=&threadid=822

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...=&threadid=823


    Regards
    CK

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by ckiang


    E.g. to push Press 800 to 1600, set your camera to 1600. Shoot as usual, then go to the lab (don't bother going neighbourhood labs) and ask them to "push one stop" or "push to 1600".

    Expect more grain, poorer colour, etc. Contrast also increases, so you lose shadow/highlight detail as well.

    Regards
    CK
    I just shot Fuji xtra 400 on 800 ISO manual setting. So which Lab do you recommend that know how to "push one stop"??

    I tried asking the neighbourhood Lab... they say "huh??" when I mentioned it. Don't want to ruin this roll of film as it contain shots of my friend's wedding!!!

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Film recommendation

    Originally posted by Snowcrash


    I just shot Fuji xtra 400 on 800 ISO manual setting. So which Lab do you recommend that know how to "push one stop"??

    I tried asking the neighbourhood Lab... they say "huh??" when I mentioned it. Don't want to ruin this roll of film as it contain shots of my friend's wedding!!!
    Try Colour Lab Photo Finishing at Adelphi.

    Regards
    CK

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    What time do they open until?

    Me work quite far away from city area...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Snowcrash
    What time do they open until?

    Me work quite far away from city area...
    10am to 7:30pm on weekdays,
    10am to 4:30pm on Saturdays,
    closed on Sundays/Public Holidays.

    Forgot to mention, they have a $5 surcharge for push processing. You can also try Konota at Penisula Shopping Centre (which I have no experience with).

    Regards
    CK

  17. #17

    Default

    can a trans slide film be push too?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by franciskc
    can a trans slide film be push too?
    Yes. In fact, slides can push better, though some perform better when pushed than others, and some can be pushed further than the others.

    Regards
    CK

  19. #19
    ClubSNAP Admin Edmund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    Originally posted by Ninja
    What happen if I had shot half of a 400 iso film rated at 400, then decided to rate it at 800 for the rest of the film ? Is it possible to push if I do that?
    Theoretically yes, but processing labs won't do that for you (i.e. they will not cut the film to the frame you specify and process each part separately). So the answer is NO, you must use the entire roll at whatever rating you have set it at from the beginning.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Ninja
    What happen if I had shot half of a 400 iso film rated at 400, then decided to rate it at 800 for the rest of the film ? Is it possible to push if I do that?
    I sure hope you have not done that yet, coz you're in big trouble if you do. For pushing, you can only push the whole roll, not half-half.

    If you push half, the results you get back will be half underexposed. not good.

    Regards
    CK

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •