Thread: How do photos get chosen for the newspaper?

Default How do photos get chosen for the newspaper?

yea... can i know? i'm no pro, dun intend to become a full time shooter also...skills also cmi..

juz curious how some photos get chosen for the newspaper.. but sometimes.. the photos are not that great anyway..

Default Re: How do photos get chosen for the newspaper?

Most newspapers have a staff of photographers and/or selected freelancers who they assign jobs to. Often the staff and freelancers are relatively inexperienced, thus the quality of the photos. A newspaper story is more often then not, enhanced by a photo, regardless of quality - so if an assigned photographer brings back a 'bad' picture then that's what they have to work with.

Most newspapers will also publish photos submitted from the general public IF there is no internal source or the photo is significantly better then the internal source.
    sk.images, ex - cyber_m0nkey

Quote Originally Posted by cyber_m0nkey
    Most newspapers have a staff of photographers and/or selected freelancers who they assign jobs to. Often the staff and freelancers are relatively inexperienced, thus the quality of the photos. A newspaper story is more often then not, enhanced by a photo, regardless of quality - so if an assigned photographer brings back a 'bad' picture then that's what they have to work with.

Most newspapers will also publish photos submitted from the general public IF there is no internal source or the photo is significantly better then the internal source.
    curious, but thought some newspaper publishing houses do have in house photographers?

Quote Originally Posted by yukazunori
    curious, but thought some newspaper publishing houses do have in house photographers?
    Yes they do but they do not cover all events. Some media still buys off from other publishing companies.