Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 1st April 2006   #1
net-g

Default Why choose Nikon?

This is for all the Nikon D/SLR users here. Why do you choose Nikon instead of say, Canon as your gear?

Am interested to find out all the reasons, aside from "Nikon is the Best".
Old 1st April 2006   #2
TMC

Default Re: Why choose Nikon?

This has potential to downgrade to a flame war so threadstarter be ready to close it.

my 2 cts: D70 over 300D at point of purchase.
Old 2nd April 2006   #3
ngcwd

Originally Posted by net-g
This is for all the Nikon D/SLR users here. Why do you choose Nikon instead of say, Canon as your gear?

Am interested to know why did you choose Nikon over other makes? Don't tell me it starts with a 'N'.
Sponsored Link
Old 2nd April 2006   #4
eugenep
Advertiser

Originally Posted by TMC
This has potential to downgrade to a flame war so threadstarter be ready to close it.

my 2 cts: D70 over 300D at point of purchase.
Mine was the same... i was given to choose btw D70 and 300D... so i get D70
Old 2nd April 2006   #5
N-user

Version 1

errrr.... I was very confuse also... with D50, D70, D200, 350D, 20D, 30D..... then I kena feed lots of poison in the N thread........ then before I realise it, got a bag full of N lens and a D200....

Version 2

I was very confuse, so i decide to ask for devine intervention.... go temple pray pray, then throw the coin lor.... head for N, tail for C........... then kena 3 times all head lor.... so bo bian....
Old 2nd April 2006   #6
UandMe

cause it came out with the cheapest dSLR and i'm a cheapo.
Old 2nd April 2006   #7
Witness

my dad uses a nikon.... so ......
Old 2nd April 2006   #8
S11loop

to be frank i tried before minolta ( short phase ) then canon ( for a while from flim to dslr ) and for now nikon ( longest duration ) . Let me share some of my frank comments with everyone here ... forget abt all the cheesy spec u read on those ads and stuff . Take other people comment on equipment with a pinch of salt ( not because u cant trust them but sometime people are very bias against their own brand machiem their father own the shares or own the whole company like that ) .

You have to be in a very clear mind state and if possible get 2nd hand equipment and try . Dont comment on other brand if u only hear say before from others . Try it and u will know whats missing and if its important to u .

For now i am using nikon for everything i am doing but will consider using reliable brand like canon next time for different stuff if i got the resources to allow me to do so .
Old 2nd April 2006   #9
zaxh81

Because kena poison to * * *.
Old 2nd April 2006   #10
markccm

iirc, there is a similar thread oredi...
Old 2nd April 2006   #11
espn

Originally Posted by markccm
iirc, there is a similar thread oredi...
Got quite a few actually...
Old 2nd April 2006   #12
net-g

Originally Posted by ngcwd
Am interested to know why did you choose Nikon over other makes? Don't tell me it starts with a 'N'.
For me because D50 is the cheapest DSLR you can get. If 350D was cheaper, I would have gotten that
Old 2nd April 2006   #13
coldman

i like the 1/500 flash synco speed in D70.

anyway to me : Nikon = New Camera, Canon = Camera. since i need to buy a new camera, so you say which brand i buy lei?

Last edited by coldman; 2nd April 2006 at 10:31 AM.
Old 2nd April 2006   #14
icarus

I like Nikon's user friendly camera controls. Prefer dials to 'wheels'
Old 2nd April 2006   #15
Stanly

For me because D50 is the cheapest DSLR you can get. If 350D was cheaper, I would have gotten that
Haha.....thats for me too.....

Anyway, I prefer the grip and construction of D50 to EOS350......
Old 2nd April 2006   #16
hellrock

Because Minolta has forsaken me. Thinking of getting the d70s for starters. Any suggestion.?
Old 2nd April 2006   #17
theRBK

Because the D200 is the best all round camera out there... will get it tomorrow...
Old 2nd April 2006   #18
tsdh

There are several threads similar as this. The oldest was started at 2002 by Ckiang:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=4969

I'm a Nikon user, but not because it is better than others.
In the early 1980s, I was using Canon AE-1, and happy with it until the end of 80s when Canon intoduced the EOS lens mount and dropped its FD mount. That means, I had to ditch all of my FD lenses and change the entire system if I want to get a new lens or body. And soon or later, I have to upgrade due to the better zoom lens (at that time, zoom lenses were not mature yet). Unhappy with that, then I moved to Nikon since I have to change the whole system anyway.
So far I'm happy with Nikon lenses, but a bit disappointed with their digital bodies.
Old 2nd April 2006   #19
net-g

Originally Posted by tsdh
There are several threads similar as this. The oldest was started at 2002 by Ckiang:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=4969
Must have a new thread like this once in a while mah. Many newbies becoming Nikonians liao, so maybe this thread more aimed towards newbies.
Old 2nd April 2006   #20
espn

Originally Posted by hellrock
Because Minolta has forsaken me. Thinking of getting the d70s for starters. Any suggestion.?
Good choice.
Closed Thread