Thread: Recommendations for a newbie

Default Recommendations for a newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm new to photography and I would need some recommendations.

I've recently inherited my friend's manual SLR stuff. I'm rather interested to pick up photography and will definitely foreseen this interest going on for some time.

His setup is a Nikon F65 and 2 lenses.

I know that film photography is definitely expensive cos of the film that I will have to buy and the high developing costs. My question is should I invest money in a digital SLR instead? Which digital SLR would you recommend then?

Default Re: Recommendations for a newbie

canon 350D or nikond70s maybe..the price also reasonable for newbie..i'am a newbie too..

Blog Entries

since you already inherited 2 lenses from your friend
    you should be looking at reusing these lenses

so either a Nikon D50, D70s

if it is a long run consideration then go digital

Quote Originally Posted by gammatian
    Hi everyone,

I've recently inherited my friend's manual SLR stuff. I'm rather interested to pick up photography and will definitely foreseen this interest going on for some time.

I know that film photography is definitely expensive cos of the film that I will have to buy and the high developing costs. My question is should I invest money in a digital SLR instead? Which digital SLR would you recommend then?
    wat lenses are those? i suppose if it comes with F65 not those very old ones la. those very old lenses may not be compatible with newer SLRs/DSLRs.

u got any budget? D50/D70(s) are good choices for newbies. or u can consider 2nd-hand also. many D70(s) are selling in the buy n sell forum here. i got mine from there too.