Thread: Confused

Default Confused

Hi all,

I'm very interested into getting my first DSLR to experiment with.
    I'm looking at the Nikon D50 and D70.

But I'm totally new to DSLR. Pardon me if the following questions sounds funny to you.

Shutter count? There's a limit to this? Roughly what's the cost to have that replaced? What's to be replaced? How long does it take?

I see example: D70 body (xxx price). / D70 Kit (xxx price). So D70 Kit means it comes with the body and lens?

Should I be getting a 2nd hand one instead? My main concerned would be, I won't even know what to check for a 2nd hand camera.

I've been reading quite abit but I still couldn't figure out what the lens mm means... does it mean, the higher numbers, the further I can shoot? Really confused here. 17-55mm , 17-35mm etc etc.....

Should I be getting Nikkor lenses or other 3rd party lenses? Does this depends on my budget or? I've been reading and searching that I should not go with the kit lenses? Boy, I'm confused again....

Should I also invest in a box of some sort? Dry box? Electronic box?

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Confused

You can get the answers if you searched thru the Nikon Sub-forum.

But anyway, I'll help out a bit here. There is a lifespan to the shutter unit and for these 2 models, it seems to be about 15,000 shots. Check cost thru Nikon Singapore.

A kit means it comes with a kit lens (should be the 18-70mm)

The lens focus lenght is a such, you get to see a different perspective with different zoom lenghts. 17mm is meant for wide angles and the longer you go, 70mm and more it will focus even more tighter on the object which you are aiming on. i.e. 20mm, mebbe can get the whole body in, at 70mm, mebbe only left the head and shoulders.

If you are getting Nikon, then go for Nikkor lenses if your budget allows as they are designed for their own cameras. But there are also some 3rd party lenses which aren't too far off from the Nikkor quality. Look around and read more.