Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34

Thread: Printing from digital cameras

  1. #21

    Default

    Originally posted by Necroist
    When you guys mean by 3:2 ratio, do you mean the size of the image itself?

    Example : 900X600 resolution?
    Basically yes.

    But not only 900 x 600. You can use any ratios that's 3:2. For example.

    1600 x 1066
    1500 x 1000
    3000 x 2000

    Any ratio, as long as it's 3:2.


  2. #22

    Default

    Yozz! Juz got my digital photos developed today. I was really satisfied with the results! Filled with vibrant colours & sharpness. Newbies point of view I guess....

    Anyway, 1 thing to point out. Like togu said, any size 3:2 will fit. But 900x600 is not recomended. I croped 1 of my photos into 900x600. It looks alright on screen. But when it's developed, it doesn't turn out as good as the rest.

  3. #23
    MingGuan
    Guests

    Default

    It's an advantage when I'm selecting the travel photographs out from my piles of photos for an exhibition. However, it's a chore when I have tons of photos from my travel trip to print/store on CD.

    I use PS to cleanse photos of color cast, hot pixels, deal pixels etc problems. I think there's a certain standards I set for myself whenever I show my friends my travel photos. My friends are avid photographers too, and seriously, they can notice the differences / problematic photos. So setting my digital photos through PS is a chore that I have to do, in order to present my photos to my friends.


    Originally posted by Gr|ever


    Hmm... isn't that the advantage rather than a problem? You can improve how your photo will look before you print it out. But since you find it a problem, then you can neglect the PS part, right?

  4. #24

    Default

    I went for digital developing today to the same shop for the 2nd time. They charged me 35 cents per photo (4R) before. But now, they're charging me for 50 cents! I ask'em why & they told me it's because this time, I wanted to develope more than 1 photo for the same picture. Anyone know the logic behind this?

  5. #25

    Default

    simply becoz there'll be more effort in "handling" different # of prints on specific file. imagine how easy it'll be to simply print one copy of each file instead of having to specify X number for this and that file...

    to get around this, just make exact copies of the same file in the quantity u need for each. in that case, the print shop don't even have to know about it...and u should be charged the lower cost.

    btw check out http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...threadid=21961 for great value printing...

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by Xihe
    You can also resize it. For 4R, the minimum resolution is 1024x768.

    There is also another way to develop photos. Online.
    http://www.kodakexpress.com.sg/
    http://www.fujifilm.com.sg/
    Never resize pics. It just result in lower quality prints.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  7. #27

    Default

    Originally posted by Gr|ever

    Anyway, 1 thing to point out. Like togu said, any size 3:2 will fit. But 900x600 is not recomended. I croped 1 of my photos into 900x600. It looks alright on screen. But when it's developed, it doesn't turn out as good as the rest.
    900x600 is horrible!

    You should keep as much as the original resolution as you can when you crop. Don't limit yourself to fixed size intervals, just set the marquee tool to 3:2 ratio and crop off as little as possible. This will ensure that you get the maximum sharpness out of your images.

    A lightly cropped 6MP image from the 602 gives excellent 8R portrait shots.

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Facing the little Island Ubin
    Posts
    404

    Default

    rafffles city got digtal camera printing?
    basement? or first floor

    thx
    got a onsite printing machine?
    so i just burn all my pics onto a CD then let them crop for me?

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore bo gway hai!
    Posts
    396

    Default

    Wouldnt it be just great if the 602z had a 3:2 aspect ratio like what some other digicams offer?

    hehe i hate to crop too....

    esp. when i have to do prints...

    its such a hassle...

  10. #30

    Default

    Originally posted by Gr|ever
    I went for digital developing today to the same shop for the 2nd time. They charged me 35 cents per photo (4R) before. But now, they're charging me for 50 cents! I ask'em why & they told me it's because this time, I wanted to develope more than 1 photo for the same picture. Anyone know the logic behind this?
    Gr|ever,

    You could try E-Colour. 100pcs or more 30c each. Next day collect.

    more info here

  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    "You Are Here"
    Posts
    276

    Default

    I do the following:

    In Photoshop, change image resolution to 300dpi.
    Then, change print size to match the original pixel count (because by changing the resolution, it adds pixels).
    Then, crop to whatever size you want.


    Gives real photo-quality prints on my Deskjet 930C with glossy paper.

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    you don't have to change the DPI if you're sending to the shops to prints (cos you won't get a better pic than the original source).

    Also, you don't have to adjust print size and resolution to print if you use some other programs like Irfanview instead of Photoshop......
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    Saw this post and actually I have a nagging question so I hope Gr|ever won't mind me adding another question...


    I am trying to print those A6 (4R 4x6in, 102x152mm) sized photo papers. How do you keep the pictures centered?? I am trying to print borderless on my Epson, but it does not seem to work. I always get undeven borders...

    Does anyone know what is the max size I should set in Photoshop to get a nicely centered print?


    Thanks & Happy Chinese New Year!

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    it's easy when you use a software like Irfanview to print. You could download from www.irfanview.com .
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •