Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 19th March 2006   #1
rawbean

Default 1st outing for my Canon 30D

My Canon 30D doing its stuff at Clarke Quay and surrounding area. Happy viewing.

http://www.rawbean.com/ocular/
click on "Travel:Elsewhere" > "Singapore - Clarke Quay"

Rest of my photos are taken with Lumix FZ5

Len used: Tamron 18-200mm
Lazy DI (i.e each pic takes less than 2 min of "makeup")
Old 19th March 2006   #2
SimonKing

Default Re: 1st outing for my Canon 30D

Very nice photos you have there.I like the way you compose your shots & the use of colours.The design of your website is very nice too.Keep up the good work! I guess it's time i pick up my 30D & shoot some pictures too
Old 19th March 2006   #3
rawbean

Originally Posted by SimonKing
Very nice photos you have there.I like the way you compose your shots & the use of colours.The design of your website is very nice too.Keep up the good work! I guess it's time i pick up my 30D & shoot some pictures too
Thanks, still learning but today's weather is really bad .. so gloomy.
Sponsored Link
Old 21st March 2006   #4
Love_sky

Nice color ..
Old 21st March 2006   #5
ullyss

hmmm, hey raw, you can do better than this!

lucky didnt join for the shoot, he he heh.
Old 21st March 2006   #6
rawbean

Originally Posted by ullyss
hmmm, hey raw, you can do better than this!

lucky didnt join for the shoot, he he heh.
No L lens leh .. how to do ... weather bad also .. God's fault ... :P plus lazy to DI.

Hey better go for Clifford Pier soon
Old 21st March 2006   #7
rawbean

BTW,

i cheat and have to add blue sky even ... so sad

Old 21st March 2006   #8
Snoweagle

Originally Posted by rawbean
No L lens leh .. how to do ... weather bad also .. God's fault ... :P plus lazy to DI.

Hey better go for Clifford Pier soon
U don't need an L lens to get gd pics. Some 3rd party ones do just as good or even better.
Old 21st March 2006   #9
jnet6

Originally Posted by Snoweagle
U don't need an L lens to get gd pics. Some 3rd party ones do just as good or even better.
Correct! but-
Every lens tell it storys...
Old 21st March 2006   #10
Snoweagle

Originally Posted by jnet6
Correct! but-
Every lens tell it storys...
Yes, but of course the originals are definitely better in terms of resale value but the price is an issue. Pay for what you get as they say.
Old 21st March 2006   #11
rawbean

Lightbulb Re: 1st outing for my Canon 30D

Yes, but of course the originals are definitely better in terms of resale value but the price is an issue. Pay for what you get as they say.
Juz utterance ...

Wld it be like buying a Ferrari. Cannot maximise its value due to environmental constrains and lack of skill? Juz a show off piece?

Or is it that expensive lens can even make a little child drive like his dad?
Old 21st March 2006   #12
heheapa

Agree... equipments just little help on your work but how well do you handle your equipment is much more contribute to your art works.
Old 21st March 2006   #13
Snoweagle

Originally Posted by rawbean
Juz utterance ...

Wld it be like buying a Ferrari. Cannot maximise its value due to environmental constrains and lack of skill? Juz a show off piece?

Or is it that expensive lens can even make a little child drive like his dad?
Not to that extent. If one's pocket allows, of course it's on to the L lens. Other than that, 3rd party ones works just as well, though AF wise is not as fast and quiet as their USMs.
Old 23rd March 2006   #14
ullyss

Buy a Cheapo zoom lens, 18-200mm. 3rd party.
Choose which range you shoot most. Stick with it.
Then consider buying a L lens after u are more comfortable in that range.

I used to have 24-70 70-200, 70-300, 17-40. All very heavy lens! Seldom use as the result.

Then what i am using now?

Am getting old now, hand shake cannot carry those heavy L lens, now i stick to only shooting with 16-35.
Now I am a one lens camela person. still find my 16-35 too heavy. need to cut down.
I am thinking of just a 14mm fixed len when i can afford this ridiculously priced expensive prime.

Its not the equipment.... its the camela person. This camela person too old to carry heavy expensive lens. Too old already.

Clifford pier on this coming sunday morning? Can wait up early?
Old 23rd March 2006   #15
Snoweagle

I used to have 24-70 70-200, 70-300, 17-40. All very heavy lens! Seldom use as the result.

Am getting old now, hand shake cannot carry those heavy L lens, now i stick to only shooting with 16-35.
Now I am a one lens camela person. still find my 16-35 too heavy. need to cut down.
I am thinking of just a 14mm fixed len when i can afford this ridiculously priced expensive prime.

Its not the equipment.... its the camela person. This camela person too old to carry heavy expensive lens. Too old already.

Actually the 17-40 is not heavy at all, quite light actually. The 70-200 is only heavy with the f/2.8 versions.
Old 23rd March 2006   #16
rawbean

What time? don't tell me 4am hor ... after that we can discuss the trip...
Old 24th March 2006   #17
ullyss

Actually the 17-40 is not heavy at all, quite light actually. The 70-200 is only heavy with the f/2.8 versions.
erm snoweagle, even at 16-35, my hand shake and buckle under the weight.

what to do, getting old. sigh.
Old 24th March 2006   #18
Snoweagle

erm snoweagle, even at 16-35, my hand shake and buckle under the weight.

what to do, getting old. sigh.
LOL dun worry bro, if you really want to use this lens without handshake, can consider using it with a monopod
Old 24th March 2006   #19
honda

how about giving sigma 18-50/2.8 a try. Its sharp n relatively light.
http://singaporephoto.blogspot.com
Old 24th March 2006   #20
dragos

here's mine first outing with the 30D also..

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=185813
Closed Thread