Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 50

Thread: Who Got the Coolscan III at Sitex?

  1. #21

    Lightbulb

    But seriously... my intention of wanting to get one of the Coolscan III was so that I can archive my slides. I already have a D100, but I wanna digitize my 35mm slides.

    Alas, I missed out on the meager 40 units available.


    Is anyone out there willing to let me borrow/use their CS III for a nominal fee?

    Pls email me at engineermunn@yahoo.com

  2. #22

    Default

    oh yes... actually, anyone with a dedicated 35mm scanner would help.... no need to be CS III owner...

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Under your skin
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Hi charv,

    well actually, i didn't take half day. didn't take full day either. took a 'friday' extended lunch break. helps that my office is just 10 mins away. *erm.. thinking he shouldn't be saying this too loudly* *but he works till 11pm everynight anyway so...*

    but yes! it was well worth the stand!


    Originally posted by charvy


    Hey there roch, I thought I find u familiar too. So I was right. u took leave for it? For me I had to take half day off and rushed down from town.. hehehee... guess it was all worth it.

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Wherever there's a good shot waiting
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Originally posted by rochkoh

    well actually, i didn't take half day. didn't take full day either. took a 'friday' extended lunch break.

    but yes! it was well worth the stand!
    Roch!! Tsk tsk tsk...

  5. #25

    Default

    LoL!! So those who were standing behind me were all from CS. Can't believe it!!

  6. #26

    Default

    Wow, .. lucky u.. my office is 45mins away.. but then again, I am too tired (from queuing) to go back to office.. It's been a long time since I last queued for so long..

    Gonna made a killing out of my colleague since I have to take a half day to queue for him.. then again.. I get to benefit too.. hahaa.. shhh... hope he doesn't see this


    Originally posted by rochkoh
    Hi charv,

    well actually, i didn't take half day. didn't take full day either. took a 'friday' extended lunch break. helps that my office is just 10 mins away. *erm.. thinking he shouldn't be saying this too loudly* *but he works till 11pm everynight anyway so...*

    but yes! it was well worth the stand!



  7. #27

    Default

    Originally posted by charvy
    LoL!! So those who were standing behind me were all from CS. Can't believe it!!
    Next time all must wear CS t-shirts.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    So, we have:

    1. ckiang
    2. rochkoh
    3. jasonho
    4. beachbum
    5. tony k
    6. charvy
    7. argent2

    Anyone else? Let's see what proportion of the 40 sets are sold to CS members.

    Regards
    CK

  9. #29

  10. #30
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Originally posted by argent2
    ahem...
    Ok ok...can someone spare a cough drop for argent2?

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Did someone ask for strepsils?



    Or more precisely, a Leica flavoured one?
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Under your skin
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Then there's
    1. kongg
    2. yslee (who jumped in in front of me)

    Simon was there, dunno what for - he didn't queue.
    So was Megaweb.. but only for *ahem*.



    Originally posted by ckiang
    So, we have:

    1. ckiang
    2. rochkoh
    3. jasonho
    4. beachbum
    5. tony k
    6. charvy
    7. argent2

    Anyone else? Let's see what proportion of the 40 sets are sold to CS members.

    Regards
    CK

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default

    1. kongg
    2: Errz
    3. yslee

    hehe

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    740

    Default

    quick! post some pics of the scans leh and let us see the quality..

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    S'pore, AMK
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Wah... I didn't realised I was sandwiched between you guys & gal as I was actually busy doing some video editing for my friend's wedding.

    I left for Sim Lim Square straight away to get the Adaptec SCSI card. There I saw 4-5 Chinese guys carrying their LS-30s also looking for SCSI cards. I think one of them bought the Adaptec 2906 card for $99 at one of the shops on 4th / 5th sty.


    Anybody thinking of downloading & using the Vuescan?

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Under your skin
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Greetings,

    For those who are intending to get a SCSI card for their new purchase, do read the following from Nikon:

    http://www.nikon-euro.com/nikoneuro_..._scan_en_0.htm

    In particular,

    http://www.nikon-euro.com/nikoneuro_..._gen_en_a1.htm

    Just bought a SCSI card that's not compatible with the scanner.

    Now i need to find a place to sell it.

    So near (it's just in front of me) and yet, so far..

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Errz
    1. kongg
    2: Errz
    3. yslee

    hehe
    So we have:
    1. ckiang
    2. rochkoh
    3. jasonho
    4. beachbum
    5. tony k
    6. charvy
    7. argent2
    8. Errz
    9. YSLee
    10. kongg

    That makes up a whopping 1/4 of the scanner stocks!

    Regards
    CK

  18. #38
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    S'pore, AMK
    Posts
    151

    Default NikonScan 3.1.2

    Originally posted by Jason Ho

    For those who are using XP and Adaptec 2940 series card, remember to download this ASPI update . Else your Coolscan III cant be detected by NikonScan program.

    For those who are interested to download NikonScan 3.1.2 (latest FULL version), you can download it at this site . Enjoy! [/B]

    Hi Jason,
    thanks for your above info, it's very useful.
    This morning I was using the NikonScan 2.5.1 and experienced some problems with poorly focused mounted-slides scans.

    After going to Nikon's site to download the 15MB NikonScan 3.1.2 & used it, no more unfocused slides problem.
    The new version is also more user friendly.

    N.B.
    I'm using
    - Adaptec 2906 PCI SCSI II Card @ $95 &
    WireTek 1.8m Fast SCSI II cable DB50M/DB25M @ $30
    from M Technic Resources Sim Lim Square (SLS) #06-41
    - Pentium 233 MHz PC with 128MB RAM
    - Windows 98 SE
    So far computer never hang...
    Most probably is because NikonScan was the only application running. I've yet to try using Photoshop 5.0 to run at the same time.


    I've done some samples scans using different ICE settings on the same slide to compare with my previous
    1.3MB JPEG file Drum Scanned at Ultra High Definition 3072 x 2048 by ColorLab. I notuiced that there are some dust on it.

    After scanning the same slide at 3600x2440 pixels using my CS III (LS-30), the following are what I observed

    No ICE
    - A lot of small specks of dust are seen. I didn't expect so many black spots, but they can't be mould as I kept them sleeping in the dry cabinet for the last 4 months since it was 'born'.

    With ICE
    - No dust at all.

    With ICE & sharpened
    - Almost same, I can't really tell the difference


    Out of the 4 scan images, I like the ones with ICE turned on as there no dust.
    I like it much better than Colorlab's drum scan as I was also able to control the color & contrast.
    The resolution is also slightly better.

    N.B. I used NikonScan TOOL PALETTE --> CURVES menu's 'WHITE DOPPLER' to select the whitest spot on the photo.
    All my under-exposed slides are then corrected.


    With this scanner's good performance at the price I paid,
    I'm really happy. The quality is good enough for me at this moment. With the images saved as TIFF files in CMYK, I'm able to use it for my charity organisation's printed magazine.

    But when I opened the TIFF file in Photoshop 5.0,
    it prompted me 'Profile mismatched'.
    Have to do the input conversion from
    'Nikon CMYK 4.0.0.3000' to 'CMYK'
    Anybody can advise how I can avoid this problem as it's quite time consuming to do the conversion everytime I open CYMK TIFF files......



    Happy shooting & scanning

  19. #39
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sin jia por lor...
    Posts
    463

    Default

    and me me!! hee.. was number 23 or 24..

  20. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    153

    Default

    me no. 32 or 33.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •