Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Thread: Nikon CoolScan III Film Scanner S$199. Good?

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sin jia por lor...
    Posts
    463

    Default

    no lar.. just happen to have money at the right time.. hee

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx
    try lor... maybe can sell it at markup LOL..

    the cp800 is like so old. granted at 200 it's cheap, but it's like 4 gens old... the lifespan+performance has changed so much..
    LOL... use as webcam?
    Old? I am still using my equally old Coolpix 950. Almost 3 years old liao. Images still good. If I am not wrong, the 800 is a scaled down 950, should be quite capable too. $199 is cheaper than the better webcams!

    Regards
    CK

  3. #23
    ziyter
    Guests

    Default

    How does a film scanner works ?

    can scan any film including slides,etc?

    Is the quality equally good as if pic taken on Digi Cam or at least as good as pic scan using scanners?

    Can anyone assist to give an elaboration ?

  4. #24

    Default

    Originally posted by ziyter
    How does a film scanner works ?

    can scan any film including slides,etc?

    Is the quality equally good as if pic taken on Digi Cam or at least as good as pic scan using scanners?

    Can anyone assist to give an elaboration ?
    A film scanner scans film for a living. As long as it's film, it can scan. However, for negatives, due to the orange mask, you may need to do additional work. Read this somewhere, I may be wrong.

    Top end film scanner scans at 4000 dpi. The one on sale scans at 2700 DPI. Depending on who you ask and what is the film being scanned, some will say the scan wins hands down, some will say the 1D/D1 can rival the scan, very few will say digicam is better.

    I think even if you scan at 1200 DPI, your scan is going to be way much better than from scans from prints.

    Regards,
    JK

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    I think rival d60/1Ds or etc only if u use slides constantly.. if u use kodak Max think sony 707 also can beat..
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  6. #26

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx
    I think rival d60/1Ds or etc only if u use slides constantly.. if u use kodak Max think sony 707 also can beat..
    IMO, no match. I've seen scans from many sources, incl the new coolscan IV, but the quality is much worse than my 707. Ultra noisy.

  7. #27

    Default

    Originally posted by Zoomer


    IMO, no match. I've seen scans from many sources, incl the new coolscan IV, but the quality is much worse than my 707. Ultra noisy.
    I take it you mean Kodak max? I'd think most pro film scans pretty well.

    Regards,
    JK

  8. #28

    Default

    Originally posted by tanjk


    I take it you mean Kodak max? I'd think most pro film scans pretty well.

    Regards,
    JK
    I haven't a clue why a Kodak Max user would want a coolscan IV. Getting a HP photosmart should be good enough for that.

    Scan of regular ISO 100 negative using a HP cs5100 photosmart scanner:

    http://members.tripod.com/~tsc/travel/803.htm

  9. #29

    Default scanning

    Originally posted by tanjk


    I take it you mean Kodak max? I'd think most pro film scans pretty well.

    Regards,
    JK
    I do agree I have scan some slides on the cheap acer 2720s. which turn out really vibrant.. Sometimes I find digital shots too sterile.

    BTW here is sample of a scan
    http://www.pbase.com/image/6620413
    http://www.pbase.com/image/6620125
    Last edited by Minority; 1st December 2002 at 01:05 PM.

  10. #30

    Default

    Originally posted by erwinx


    I haven't a clue why a Kodak Max user would want a coolscan IV. Getting a HP photosmart should be good enough for that.

    Scan of regular ISO 100 negative using a HP cs5100 photosmart scanner:

    http://members.tripod.com/~tsc/travel/803.htm
    seriously seriously.. this one is scanned using the HP cs5100? are you very sure? and this is flatbed+film adapter? or dedicate film scanner?

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by behyx


    seriously seriously.. this one is scanned using the HP cs5100? are you very sure? and this is flatbed+film adapter? or dedicate film scanner?
    5100 is a dedicated SCSI Film Scanner, 2400dpi.

    Regards
    CK

  12. #32

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    5100 is a dedicated SCSI Film Scanner, 2400dpi.

    Regards
    CK
    oh... if i am not wrong, somebody have this scanner, but it is at another CSpian's place is it? please correct me.. thanks

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by behyx


    oh... if i am not wrong, somebody have this scanner, but it is at another CSpian's place is it? please correct me.. thanks
    Ruey Loon has this scanner, it's with me. Don't need it now, any takers for $150 (his price)?

    Regards
    CK

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    so ckiang u got film scanner now? got anymore of those vintage street shots? wanna eat ur brains...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  15. #35

    Default

    Originally posted by tanjk


    I take it you mean Kodak max? I'd think most pro film scans pretty well.

    Regards,
    JK
    No, I wouldn't think that I would see all Kodak 400 MAXs.

    An example: http://www.pbase.com/image/6620413
    Noisy!

    Any way to correct this?

  16. #36

    Default

    Originally posted by Zoomer


    No, I wouldn't think that I would see all Kodak 400 MAXs.

    An example: http://www.pbase.com/image/6620413
    Noisy!

    Any way to correct this?
    Buy a better scanner with better dynamic range. This was scan with a 2720s taken witha Kodak Supra 100 using a 20mm lens.
    I think the Sigma 20 f1.8 is not very sharp...

    This is taken with a 28-70 2.8fL on a Fuji slide 100. Scan with the same 2070s scanner. I feel itsNot that noisy.
    http://www.pbase.com/image/6892286
    Last edited by Minority; 2nd December 2002 at 08:48 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •