Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Mac Mini

  1. #1

    Default Mac Mini

    Do u think the Mac Mini is powerful enough for CS2 / Aperture to process my RAW files?

  2. #2
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh
    Do u think the Mac Mini is powerful enough for CS2 / Aperture to process my RAW files?
    Have not tried.
    why not you make yr way down to PC show and try the application. see how does it responds.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    the new intel core duo mac mini will be best. but same as any gadgets, wait for the 2nd batch before purchase.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    i'm looking at getting a mini myself but not now.. only when i head overseas (won't want to lug my desktop there)

    currently you won't get the maximised the "full" power of the processor since CS2 would be running on rosetta instead of being a universal binary

    http://www.adobe.com/products/pdfs/intelmacsupport.pdf

    maybe someone who does have a intel-based mac machine can do some sort of benchmarking with CS2?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    i read reviews that the current intel chips will not do justice to the CS2 software, it may be slower.

    I actually bought the G5 imac (non intel version) for $2688 today as i already own the current software, no point for the intel version. Rushing to buy the last few sets before its gone.

    For my work the older model is 'better'

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Earth,Heaven and Beyond
    Posts
    1,004

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/con...id=7-7891-8185

    very good read, even though it's not the mac mini. Doesn't seem to be much of a difference for now.

  7. #7
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    the intel mac mini has got problems, read here

    http://www.macintouch.com/readerrepo...dex.html#mar10

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Earth,Heaven and Beyond
    Posts
    1,004

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    speaking of which, Mac mini (intel or not)doesn't support aperture. It doesn't have a dedicated graphics card which aperture needs.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by Castlesinthesky
    speaking of which, Mac mini (intel or not)doesn't support aperture. It doesn't have a dedicated graphics card which aperture needs.
    Wat about Lightroom?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    High Lander
    Posts
    366

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh
    Do u think the Mac Mini is powerful enough for CS2 / Aperture to process my RAW files?
    No way. It can't even install Aperture. CS2 is crawling on Mac Mini (even with 1GB RAM). Lightroom is currently available as a Beta version with known issues. UI is similar to Aperture. Read here: http://www.danielsroka.com/article_lightroom.php


    IMHO, forget abt Mac Mini, intel version or otherwise.
    YOL
    Last edited by YOL925; 11th March 2006 at 09:31 AM.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sgp/China/TW
    Posts
    659

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Mac mini are not really for heavy applications like CS2 but the intel version is not stable at current stage, after a update from apple or the "CS3" will highly recommended then...

  12. #12
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Rumours are out that Adobe CS3 is only to be out next year first quarter.

    If you're gonna buy an Intel Mac Mini now, it actually runs Photoshop slower than the old G4. That's from what I gather across all reviews I've read so far.

    Sidenote. I have a 1.42ghz MMini, it runs slightly faster/smoother than my Pentium 2ghz.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sgp/China/TW
    Posts
    659

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    then hav the see see look look kinda attitude lor...
    Last edited by roti; 11th March 2006 at 09:20 PM.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    468

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Can't install aperture, unless you got a hardware hack. Get the max 1gb ram if you intend to use with CS2.

    I'm using one.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by syke
    Can't install aperture, unless you got a hardware hack.
    Correction: "unless you got a software hack"

    But don't ask me how.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    468

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by cocoa
    Correction: "unless you got a software hack"

    But don't ask me how.
    lol... my my... silly me..

    You can easily find the hack on BT.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Earth,Heaven and Beyond
    Posts
    1,004

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by syke
    lol... my my... silly me..

    You can easily find the hack on BT.

    You don't even need BT

  18. #18

    Default Re: Mac Mini

    Hey hey hey... enough hor.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •