Thread: Symmetry

Default Symmetry

Snow on the rooftiles
    I am a newbie to the world of photography
    Feel free to comment to make the picture better.

Default Re: Symmetry

Quote Originally Posted by vinu
    Feel free to comment to make the picture better.
    The picture reminds me of home, so maybe that's why I like it.

There's one trivial thing that would vastly improve the picture: leave that ugly signature out .

The translational symmetry is nice, but maybe it is almost too perfect - if the tiles look all exactly alike, there's no particular spot that would invite the eye to rest. So maybe including an imperfect tile would not be a bad idea. On the other hand, it is hard to tell from a small image - it could be that in the full-resolution image, the details of the snow patches suffice to distinguish the individual tiles.

One last nitpick: the top border of the photo runs through a region without snow, creating the illusion of an irregularity at the very top, which on closer inspection of course isn't there. That also constributes to me feeling a bit restless when looking at the image.

Edit: corrected some garbled text.
    Last edited by LittleWolf; 5th March 2006 at 09:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by LittleWolf
    The picture reminds me of home, so maybe that's why I like it.

There's one trivial thing that would vastly improve the picture: leave that ugly signature out .

The translational symmetry is nice, but maybe it is almost too perfect - if the tiles look all exactly alike, there's no particular spot that would invite the eye to rest. So maybe including an imperfect tile would not be a bad idea. On the other hand, it is hard to tell from a small image - it could be that in the full-resolution image, the details of the snow patches suffice to distinguish the individual tiles.