Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Olympus C730UZ - External Flash?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Japan / China
    Posts
    1,928

    Default Olympus C730UZ - External Flash?

    hi, just like to find out other than the original FL-40 flash, what are other options? are any 3rd party external flash for the 730uz?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    nope, if u're looking for one that FL40 compatible
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Midnight
    Guests

    Default Re: Olympus C730UZ - External Flash?

    Originally posted by rncw
    hi, just like to find out other than the original FL-40 flash, what are other options? are any 3rd party external flash for the 730uz?
    The C-730UZ will work with just about any other flash with PC sync cable connection. However, if you want a flashgun that works in TTL mode, the current available alternatives to the FL-40 are (a) the Metz 32MZ-3 or 54MZ-3 (actually, there are a few more compatible models in that series, but these two are the popular choices); and (b) the Promaster 5550DX or 5750DX. One of the regulars on the DPReview Olympus Talk forum has put together a pretty useful writeup on flash options for Olympus digicams.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Japan / China
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    thank alot Tweek & Midnight !!!

    Tweek: where did you bought the flash, cable and bracket? i understand that the flash & cable can be bought at AP or CP but how about the brancket?

    Midnight: any idea what are the price ranges like for the mentioned flashes?

    so it's Metz 32MZ-3 or 54MZ-3 + FL-BK01(bracket) + FL-CB01(cable)?

    or

    Tweek's combi?
    Last edited by rncw; 26th November 2002 at 03:46 PM.

  6. #6

    Default

    saddly all olympus compacts don't have a hotshoe it would look alittle awkward to have a external flash.... on a bracket...
    but still it's the only way to light thigns up...

  7. #7

    Default Re: Re: Olympus C730UZ - External Flash?

    Originally posted by Midnight
    The C-730UZ will work with just about any other flash with PC sync cable connection. However, if you want a flashgun that works in TTL mode, the current available alternatives to the FL-40 are (a) the Metz 32MZ-3 or 54MZ-3 (actually, there are a few more compatible models in that series, but these two are the popular choices); and (b) the Promaster 5550DX or 5750DX. One of the regulars on the DPReview Olympus Talk forum has put together a pretty useful writeup on flash options for Olympus digicams.
    so a) and B) choices can be found locally?

    and it can utilize olympus ttl capabilities? that's great... always though there was only one camera which can use which is the FL-40...

  8. #8

    Default

    C-5050Z, E-10, and E-20 got hotshoe

  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by Acieed
    C-5050Z, E-10, and E-20 got hotshoe
    as for e-10 /20 cause not compacts...

    the 5050 is the only one which has it... 1 / many many

    throughout the c-xxxxz series and c-xxxuz sercies...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Japan / China
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    what about the SCA 3202? does that comes with the flash or have to be purchased seperately? what's the price range like?

  11. #11

    Default

    on the web site for metz there isn't a mount for olympus.

    http://www.metz.de/1_metz_2000/m_pag...name=mecablitz
    Last edited by SianZronG; 26th November 2002 at 08:54 PM.

  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by rncw
    thank alot Tweek & Midnight !!!

    Tweek: where did you bought the flash, cable and bracket? i understand that the flash & cable can be bought at AP or CP but how about the brancket?
    no probz. Bought the flash (Vivitar 285hv) from Fotoguide, the cable (FL-CB04) from AP, and the bracket from CP. CP has some variety of brackets, L or straight ones, hanging on the display wall next to the camera pouches.

  13. #13

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    no probz. Bought the flash (Vivitar 285hv) from Fotoguide, the cable (FL-CB04) from AP, and the bracket from CP. CP has some variety of brackets, L or straight ones, hanging on the display wall next to the camera pouches.
    dose it run on TTL?

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by SianZronG
    dose it run on TTL?
    Don't think so, only as Auto/Manual. Save up and get the FL-40 TTL, bounce/swivel, GN 40 meters and AF Assist illuminator.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    no probz. Bought the flash (Vivitar 285hv) from Fotoguide, the cable (FL-CB04) from AP, and the bracket from CP. CP has some variety of brackets, L or straight ones, hanging on the display wall next to the camera pouches.

    How much did u pay for those? Anyone tried using canon speedlite on the camera? Wonder if it works.

    Btw, wat's the price for the remote control and the wide angle len? Is the remote control useful? Thanks

  16. #16

    Default

    Originally posted by omega



    How much did u pay for those? Anyone tried using canon speedlite on the camera? Wonder if it works.

    Btw, wat's the price for the remote control and the wide angle len? Is the remote control useful? Thanks
    i guess it will work but only in auto / manual mode there issn't a TTL mode.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •