View Poll Results: Would you use a microdrive (or harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

Voters
69. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, if I can get ~2x storage for the same price of CF

    16 23.19%
  • Yes, only if I can get ~4x storage for same price of CF

    32 46.38%
  • No way !

    21 30.43%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 58

Thread: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

  1. #21
    Senior Member wrx_sti_22b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Compassvale Lane
    Posts
    4,952

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Does Microdrive has the speed of 133X CF cards? Or even 80X?
    From Pentax to 4/3, back to Pentax and then back to M4/3 !?!?

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    Posts
    631

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hobbesyeo
    Microdrives can die on you if you are not careful handling it.
    Dropping it on the floor is almost certainly fatal.
    oh.. i've dropped mine like 6 or 7 times already.. onto hard concrete...it works fine though...

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Asia Southernmost Tip
    Posts
    678

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by slacker123
    oh.. i've dropped mine like 6 or 7 times already.. onto hard concrete...it works fine though...
    Wow! Cool! What brand? I think it also depends on the impact and how high it falls/land.

  4. #24

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Seriously, that's one of the last thing i'll ever touch. Bad experience with IBM 1GB microdrives in the past. I acquired 2, 1 of them spoilt and it's still in my drawer.
    My suggestion is, if you're shooting for $, stick with reliable media.

  5. #25

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by eawtan
    Please discuss your point of view.
    Has anyone factored power consumption?

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland, Finland
    Posts
    6,299

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon
    Has anyone factored power consumption?

    i used the seagate 4Gb and sold it away. on my 10d, it's a battery sucker. i'm not too sure how it performs on the newer bodies with better battery life.

  7. #27

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by drumma
    i used the seagate 4Gb and sold it away. on my 10d, it's a battery sucker. i'm not too sure how it performs on the newer bodies with better battery life.
    I believe it's going to be the same. The engineers worked so hard to reduce the power consumption of the electronics in the camera and there you go, plug in a power sucker and negate all the work done by the electronic engineers...

  8. #28

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    used the st 8gb yesterday taken more than 6gb worth of raws...the batt still remained full bar end of the day.yes the batt had been used for abt 7mths..it not new
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  9. #29
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    so far, if the price of CF/MD is a great different. is worth while to try out.
    if you think the event is important, then use a solid state CF.

  10. #30
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon
    I believe it's going to be the same. The engineers worked so hard to reduce the power consumption of the electronics in the camera and there you go, plug in a power sucker and negate all the work done by the electronic engineers...
    I wonder how it would fare on a power sucker like a D200? hahahaha... I dun dare to try, I think I'll stick to the normal CF cards....
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  11. #31
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08
    I wonder how it would fare on a power sucker like a D200? hahahaha... I dun dare to try, I think I'll stick to the normal CF cards....
    Yes. is sucks battery.
    still testing out.

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dover
    Posts
    1,070

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    will try only if they give 5 yrs warranty haha not like now, only one year

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    I use Hitachi 2GB microdrive for the last 2 years and so far so good...

  14. #34

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by behyx
    Seriously, that's one of the last thing i'll ever touch. Bad experience with IBM 1GB microdrives in the past. I acquired 2, 1 of them spoilt and it's still in my drawer.
    My suggestion is, if you're shooting for $, stick with reliable media.
    It is getting better in terms of reliability and ruggness. Thanks to early adopters paying for the R&D. I am sure in time to come, it will be reliable and rugged ENOUGH for most of the CS members' use; barring those who swear by Extrame IX cards shooting from fighter jets (or Bionix) and swimming in the Sahara or Area D.

  15. #35
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnet6
    Yes. is sucks battery.
    still testing out.
    Do let us know in comparision with a high speed card.


    Thanks in advance,
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  16. #36
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08
    Do let us know in comparision with a high speed card.


    Thanks in advance,
    Speed sure lose..
    but i don't shoot high speed all the time, as long as yr camera buffer is large enough, then is fine.
    i have tested out for a shoot, it can able to take my "speed" of shooting.
    even the "waking up" time is acceptable, can take shot immediately.

    *takes time to playback from slp, and abit of lag when moving from pic to pic.

  17. #37
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by idor
    I use Hitachi 2GB microdrive for the last 2 years and so far so good...
    time to upgrade to bigger capacity.

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnet6
    time to upgrade to bigger capacity.
    if i have $$$ I will.... the BBB virus is strong..

  19. #39
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnet6
    Speed sure lose..
    but i don't shoot high speed all the time, as long as yr camera buffer is large enough, then is fine.
    i have tested out for a shoot, it can able to take my "speed" of shooting.
    even the "waking up" time is acceptable, can take shot immediately.

    *takes time to playback from slp, and abit of lag when moving from pic to pic.
    Ok, but battery drainage? Much more? or just a lil more?
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  20. #40
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Would you use microdrive (harddisk type storage) for your digicam?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08
    Ok, but battery drainage? Much more? or just a lil more?
    not comfirm yet.
    need another to test out.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •