Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

  1. #1

    Default Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    For example, 350D with Canon mount, 350D with Nikon mount, etc?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    Is it possible for dRebelXT to potentially cannibalise his own business and bankrupt himself for a niche group of people?
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    use adoptor to "convert" to different mount, but have to use manual focus/aperture.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  4. #4

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by jsbn
    Is it possible for dRebelXT to potentially cannibalise his own business and bankrupt himself for a niche group of people?
    hehe I think I used too much open source softwares so thinking everything
    should made free and made possible.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf
    use adoptor to "convert" to different mount, but have to use manual focus/aperture.
    Maybe some smart peoples could hack the firmware of cameras to make it accept
    different lens. Are the hardware connectors between different mount also incompatible?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    I'm sure u've got eyes to see, hands to feel and a brain with common sense.

    No amount of software hacks, even if its possible, could physically alter the lens mount shape and grooves of any camera.
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    what he meant was to make an adaptor with sensor contact 2 to fix between the lens and body, plus film way hack to enable the reading and usage of the other party lens. May be need to hack the lens chip also?
    It might be possible, but it probably will be very costly and time consuming to do that.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  8. #8
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    if i am not wrong, there is an adaptor to use Nikon Glass on Canon body
    Last edited by ortega; 2nd March 2006 at 04:10 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Westy
    Posts
    2,671

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    if i am not wrong, there is an adaptor to use Nikon Glass on Canon body
    i think there is, but i think what the thread started meant was a canon cam WITH a nikon mount, and not an adaptor.. which i think is quite er... no point? both systems have a great range of lenses for their users, dun see the need for any of them to do that...

    and the potential problems it could create..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    It makes no economic sense (other than those that make economic sense - like PictBridge system) to create a 'standardised mount' or system in which every single manufacturers adopt to.
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default Re: Is it possible to make DSLR with different mount?

    technically possible but may not make business sense for Nikon and Canon to do it. Kodak did it though when they offered different Canon and Nikon version of the essentially same body (e.g. Kodak DCS SLR/c and Kodak DCS SLR/n).

    from: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0403/04031802kodakslrc.asp
    "brings Kodak back full circle to the 'good old' Kodak DCS days when they would have both a Nikon and Canon mount of each camera"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •