Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 23rd February 2006   #1
imar

Default Nikon 17-35 / Tamron 17-35

i'm considering between the two above, the Nikon is very expensive. Is the Nikon 17-35 really worth the $$$ it commands? Thoughts/views of current users on the Nikon 17-35 are much appreciated.
Old 23rd February 2006   #2
soma

Default Re: Nikon 17-35 / Tamron 17-35

Originally Posted by imar
i'm considering between the two above, the Nikon is very expensive. Is the Nikon 17-35 really worth the $$$ it commands? Thoughts/views of current users on the Nikon 17-35 are much appreciated.
never try nikon but the tamron lens not bad. if you have nikon kit lens 18-70 than don't need it. i post a few picture here http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...179498&page=23 the picture just resize only. using d70 with the tamron lens no filter. speed as good as the kit lens or slight better when light is low. But for that price you can't ask for more liao.
Old 23rd February 2006   #3
Cheesecake

Originally Posted by soma
never try nikon but the tamron lens not bad. if you have nikon kit lens 18-70 than don't need it. i post a few picture here http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...179498&page=23 the picture just resize only. using d70 with the tamron lens no filter. speed as good as the kit lens or slight better when light is low. But for that price you can't ask for more liao.
wa, got the kit lens dun need the AFS17-35 f2.8D? maybe its too costly la... right? and the range almost covered too... but... haha

dunno abt the tamron..

as for the AFS17-35, if u can afford this AFS17-35 f2.8D lens, then go and get it by all means.
what i like abt it... high flare resistance, constant f2.8(good result even at f2.8!), sharp.. and all the jazz...

this question in fact has been asked numerous times. run a search and see how other users of the AFS17-35 has to say abt this superb lens.
Old 23rd February 2006   #4
rahul

Sorry, what do you mean ?
The Tamron lens doesnt show any better performance compared to the Kit lens ? implying its not worth the buy?

Originally Posted by soma
never try nikon but the tamron lens not bad. if you have nikon kit lens 18-70 than don't need it.
Old 23rd February 2006   #5
espn

Do a search, there's a thread on the 17-35 and it's images.
Old 23rd February 2006   #6
TMC

I find it worth every cent. Tamron needs to step down to get better pics unlike the nikon. f2.8 is sharp enough without sharpening in PS. 2nd hand lens prices are getting more affordable too.
Old 24th February 2006   #7
Astin

Originally Posted by imar
17-35mm cost abt $3k
For the same money, u can buy:
20mm $830
35mm $500
50mm $170
85mm $620
And use the spare change to buy a 2nd hand 20-35mm
(I am probably the only guy to say it is NOT worth the $$$ for the 17-35mm)
Old 24th February 2006   #8
espn

That's because you a prime guy
Old 24th February 2006   #9
wiz23

Originally Posted by Astin
17-35mm cost abt $3k
For the same money, u can buy:
20mm $830
35mm $500
50mm $170
85mm $620
And use the spare change to buy a 2nd hand 20-35mm
(I am probably the only guy to say it is NOT worth the $$$ for the 17-35mm)
not so ex lah ... don't scare him leh second hand can get for abt $2k or below. Brand new the most $2650

quality wise worth every cent
Old 24th February 2006   #10
NikLeica

Yes....more so if you travel to the US, Japan or HK where mint used 17-35 goes from 1500 - 1650 SGD and new ones for 2,100 - 2,200 SGD.
Old 24th February 2006   #11
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by NikLeica
Yes....more so if you travel to the US, Japan or HK where mint used 17-35 goes from 1500 - 1650 SGD and new ones for 2,100 - 2,200 SGD.
yeah... and not forgetting ur airfares (to and fro), hotel stay, currency conversion rates, taxes...
Old 24th February 2006   #12
yyD70S

Why are lenses so pricy here ???
Old 24th February 2006   #13
markccm

different class.

shoot at F2.8 & blow up to 100%.
u will be able to tell liao.
Old 24th February 2006   #14
espn

Originally Posted by markccm
different class.

shoot at F2.8 & blow up to 100%.
u will be able to tell liao.
Old 24th February 2006   #15
Luval

Originally Posted by wiz23
not so ex lah ... don't scare him leh second hand can get for abt $2k or below. Brand new the most $2650

quality wise worth every cent

yah . 2nd hand will cost ard 2.2 - 2.5.
Gotten mine @ 1.8
Old 24th February 2006   #16
Luval

Get the AFS 17 - 35 . If you can afford it .. I was a WA person also .. started with Tokina 19 -35 mm .. Very slow .. next when to nikon 18 - 35 F3.5... ( not bad , faster than the tokina) then later went back to sigma 17 -35 and finally AFS 17 - 35.. you will appreciate it at F2.8.. it just simply irresistable..
Old 24th February 2006   #17
espn

Originally Posted by Luval
yah . 2nd hand will cost ard 2.2 - 2.5.
Gotten mine @ 1.8
Normally, any trinity glass below S2K sold, I'd be wary of it. It's not impossible, but I'd be careful if I were you.
Old 24th February 2006   #18
Astin

Originally Posted by yyD70S
Why are lenses so pricy here ???
Nikon Singapore are u hearing us???
Old 24th February 2006   #19
wiz23

Originally Posted by espn
Normally, any trinity glass below S2K sold, I'd be wary of it. It's not impossible, but I'd be careful if I were you.
U mean even for 2nd hand? There are quite a number of AFS 17-35 & 28-70 in B&S going for abt $1.9k leh
Old 24th February 2006   #20
soma

Originally Posted by rahul
Sorry, what do you mean ?
The Tamron lens doesnt show any better performance compared to the Kit lens ? implying its not worth the buy?
Different is not much. (apply to tamron) Nikon kit lens is already very capable lens liao for that range.

never try nikon 17-35 but for that price it should be hell lot of different.
Closed Thread