Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Marketplace > Consumers Corner

Consumers Corner Want to find out or give info on where, how much, how good, what to buy? Here is where you should be.

Old 15th February 2006   #1
Isaiahfortythirtyone

Default I have to pay $21 to clean CMOS sensor under warranty

brought my 350D in today to fix my faulty pop up flash. when i asked to clean the CMOS, the guy told me that i need to pay $21, even if it's under warranty. General maintainence (CLA), however, is free.

can anyone confirm this? i thought many ppl had free CMOS cleaning before?
Old 15th February 2006   #2
Wai

Default Re: I have to pay $21 to clean CMOS sensor under warranty

Originally Posted by Isaiahfortythirtyone
brought my 350D in today to fix my faulty pop up flash. when i asked to clean the CMOS, the guy told me that i need to pay $21, even if it's under warranty. General maintainence (CLA), however, is free.

can anyone confirm this? i thought many ppl had free CMOS cleaning before?
yes, confirmed, affirmative, positive

doesn't matter if it is a 300D or 1Ds MKII, the same charges apply
Old 15th February 2006   #3
solarii

Hmm... just curious... what do they do for general maintenence if they don't clean the sensor?
Sponsored Link
Old 15th February 2006   #4
zaxh81

Originally Posted by solarii
Hmm... just curious... what do they do for general maintenence if they don't clean the sensor?
re calibration?
Old 15th February 2006   #5
vince123123

So Canon charges for sensor cleaning even though its within the warranty period?

AFAIK, Nikon does not, and no, this is not a N vs C war.

Originally Posted by Wai

Old 15th February 2006   #6
Wai

Originally Posted by vince123123
So Canon charges for sensor cleaning even though its within the warranty period?

AFAIK, Nikon does not, and no, this is not a N vs C war.
it used to be free (during the 10D days), but once the news about free sensor cleaning is made known here, everyone starts to abuse it and send their DSLR for cleaning, so whose fault in the end?

probably that's why they started to charge for cleaning service. IMO, it is fair because sometimes a few dust spots wont affect the image and most dust spots can easily blown away by the users themselves.

If one bought a car...cannot expect the service center to wash the car for you if you send it in every week right just for washing right?

Last edited by Wai; 15th February 2006 at 07:04 PM.
Old 15th February 2006   #7
Isaiahfortythirtyone

Originally Posted by Wai
it used to be free (during the 10D days), but once the news about free sensor cleaning is made known here, everyone starts to abuse it and send their DSLR for cleaning, so whose fault in the end?

probably that's why they started to charge for cleaning service. IMO, it is fair because sometimes a few dust spots wont affect the image and most dust spots can easily blown away by the users themselves.

If one bought a car...cannot expect the service center to wash the car for you if you send it in every week right just for washing right?

ahh okok so my info is outdated. thanks!
Old 15th February 2006   #8
Astin

Originally Posted by Wai
Actually now many car service centre do a car wash after they finish the servicing, those that I know well are Volkswagen and Honda (Kah Motor).
Old 15th February 2006   #9
vince123123

Hmm if its a free and not under-the-table service, I'm not sure it can be abused - unless you are saying that abuse means send in every week. Well a limit can be imposed to prevent such abuses.

Originally Posted by Wai

Old 15th February 2006   #10
wind30

dun complain hor. Fujifilm charges $80+ to clean sensor even for BRAND NEW set.

This is much more ridiculous than $20.
Old 16th February 2006   #11
Wai

Originally Posted by Astin
Actually now many car service centre do a car wash after they finish the servicing, those that I know well are Volkswagen and Honda (Kah Motor).
I got my old 1D sensor cleaned without additional cost too, but that was after paying few hundred dollars to replace the LCD, PCB...etc

what i meant was....you can't just send the car to the service centre and ask them to wash for you....if you dont have anything for them to service at the first place
Old 16th February 2006   #12
Belle&Sebastain

Originally Posted by vince123123
Hmm if its a free and not under-the-table service, I'm not sure it can be abused - unless you are saying that abuse means send in every week. Well a limit can be imposed to prevent such abuses.
well, canon is selling lots more products nowadays so cannot anyhow do free things anymore. Take a look at the revamp service centre! from 3 service staff, they hire 4, now counter got 6 people, more than my ocbc bank at tampines.

2 of the canon staff knows me by my name, none of the ocbc staff knows my, see who is the richer company now!

Last edited by Belle&Sebastain; 16th February 2006 at 12:46 AM.
Old 16th February 2006   #13
Wai

Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
2 of the canon staff knows me by my name, none of the ocbc staff knows my, see who is the richer company now!
i didn't went to canon service center for more than 6 mths, and i was suprised that the 2 of the staff remember me by name too.

When i send in my friend's camera for service last month, the staff very quickly printed out the service report with all my particulars on it. I was suprised cos the camera was registered under my friend's name, so no way he can get my info based on the serial number. i also haven't even tell him my name or contact number, yet he still remember my name and manage to pull out my particulars from the database. (

Based on the number of customers they have to handle daily...i was impressed
Old 16th February 2006   #14
Belle&Sebastain

Originally Posted by Wai
i didn't went to canon service center for more than 6 mths, and i was suprised that the 2 of the staff remember me by name too.

When i send in my friend's camera for service last month, the staff very quickly printed out the service report with all my particulars on it. I was suprised cos the camera was registered under my friend's name, so no way he can get my info based on the serial number. i also haven't even tell him my name or contact number, yet he still remember my name and manage to pull out my particulars from the database. (

Based on the number of customers they have to handle daily...i was impressed

me too, very impressed! a little embrassed too, go there too frequently for the free coffee
Old 16th February 2006   #15
Sandman77

free Kopi ...
Old 16th February 2006   #16
gryphon

Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
me too, very impressed! a little embrassed too, go there too frequently for the free coffee
Hummm... i think i shd go down now for free coffee juz a few floors below me
Old 17th February 2006   #17
DT_

Originally Posted by Wai

those who had bigger cmos 'wu hua' ley.....
Old 17th February 2006   #18
user111

Originally Posted by Isaiahfortythirtyone
whats so problematic with that
Old 18th February 2006   #19
Virgo

Mitsubitshi too. Apologies for OT.

Anyway, DIY if you don't want to fork out the $21. I do the cleaning myself.

Originally Posted by Astin

Last edited by Virgo; 18th February 2006 at 10:10 AM.
Old 18th February 2006   #20
Isaiahfortythirtyone

Originally Posted by Virgo
Mitsubitshi too. Apologies for OT.

Anyway, DIY if you don't want to fork out the $21. I do the cleaning myself.
huh? guys. i think you missed the point of my whole thread.

i was asking to confirm if i really had to pay $21 for cleaning because i rmemeber reading before that many got their sensors cleaned FOC. i wasn't complaining about having to pay for cleaning. in fact id rather pay than clean it myself. i don't trust myself to do a better job than the folks at canon.

anyway, thread closed.
Closed Thread