Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Macros and Close-ups

Macros and Close-ups The small world brought large. Photos of tiny things, from critters to exotic items.

Old 13th February 2006   #1
DeSwitch

Default Macro at Bottle Tree

Had been itching to get my hands on my camera. Finally Wife unlock cabinet liao. Went to Bottle tree Village with my son to take some photo. Main purpose was not Macro but to report on the Bottle tree to my wife. (we had never beeen there B4)

While resting on one of the 2 swings there, I notice something moving on the grass patch. This is what I caught. A very small blue Dragonfly. I was using my 70-300 zoom lens at that time. 1st pic taken with that. Then I switch to my Tamron 90mm.

#1 Taken with 70-300 zoom in normal mode.

#2 & 3 Taken with 90mm.

#4 Found the blue Dragonfly against green grass not contrasting so switch angle to get the rock BG.

Somehow, all my picture a bit OOF or was it my hand shake? all taken handheld and low level.

My standard drop liao after the long absent...

Last edited by DeSwitch; 13th February 2006 at 11:21 AM.
Old 13th February 2006   #2
DeSwitch

Default Re: Macro at Bottle Tree

Not sure if this can be posted in Macro section. This lovely flower caught my eyes because it sort of GLOW due to the sunlight shinning directly from above.

Old 13th February 2006   #3
Caomhin

Somehow, all my picture a bit OOF or was it my hand shake? All taken handheld and low level.

Yes... probably! Use a Monopod or Tripod if the critter stay still long enough for you. You'll see and feel the difference.
Sponsored Link
Old 13th February 2006   #4
DeSwitch

Originally Posted by Caomhin
Somehow, all my picture a bit OOF or was it my hand shake? All taken handheld and low level.

Yes... probably! Use a Monopod or Tripod if the critter stay still long enough for you. You'll see and feel the difference.
Thanks Caomhin,

I tried using my tripod but as I adjust the distance, it flew away. Think my big tripod scared it away. The grass is olyabout 3 to 5 cm high and the dragonfly is only 3cm length. Quite a small one. slightly bigger than a damselfly. Anyone know what is the name of this dragonfly?

I just realise that my camera setting was "meddled" by my wife. My exposure was set to -0.7 as shown on the exif. No wonder most of my picture are under exposed. Tonight must recheck all my settings. The low angle was quite a challange to me.
Old 13th February 2006   #5
Caomhin

Yes, that does happen!
If they tend to be very frightened, try the Leopard Crawl with your cam bag supporting your Camera, then slowly inch in and move with the wind. You can get within 18-20cm for your shot... that is you are that kilat.

Got a couple of good shots recently by doing that.

[quote=DeSwitch]Thanks Caomhin,

I tried using my tripod but as I adjust the distance, it flew away. Think my big tripod scared it away.
Old 13th February 2006   #6
DeSwitch

My body bigger than the leopard leh. I think mine is elephant crawl. . Anyway I did a few shot using that technique but didnt get a good one. A few of the shot were within 30cm of teh dragon fly. The 350d viewfinder is really small to clearly see the head of the dragonfly. regreted not buying the angle finder. I forgot to attach my +4 closeup filter. It was inside my bag all along. Thought I left it at home.
Old 13th February 2006   #7
Caomhin

No worries. Just shoot and shoot some more. Thats how we all get better!
Old 14th February 2006   #8
ortega

looks like a case of too much DOF
the background is too busy and your subject does not stand out enough

usually for dragonfly, you need to watch them for awhile and they will usually go back to the same spot.

So stand there for awhile and let them get used to you being there
Old 14th February 2006   #9
DeSwitch

Originally Posted by ortega
looks like a case of too much DOF
the background is too busy and your subject does not stand out enough

usually for dragonfly, you need to watch them for awhile and they will usually go back to the same spot.

So stand there for awhile and let them get used to you being there

the 1st picture was taken with my zoom lens. Any idea what is the spices of this dragonfly? it really small and I had not seen a dragonfly so small before. Will be going back to retake this weekend. The one with the rock BG, it somehow get used to me around so it was quite still and allowed me to move closer. My focusing not that sharp I think. does my short-sight have any effect with my pictures? I had adjusted the diopter compensation on the view finder liao.
Old 14th February 2006   #10
melvynyeo

I think your picts suffer from handshake. I agree with ortega... too much dof

I have no idea what species this dragonfly is but the smallest i've seen is less than 2cm long at macritchie.
Old 14th February 2006   #11
DeSwitch

Originally Posted by melvynyeo
I think your picts suffer from handshake. I agree with ortega... too much dof

I have no idea what species this dragonfly is but the smallest i've seen is less than 2cm long at macritchie.
Agreed as I mention earlier, my hands are not steady. Very hard to hold my camera at this low angle. Its my first time taking macro at low level. How do you guys take low level macro. My Manfrotto tripod also cannot reach that low with the legs spread wide open.

I will be praticing at home with a small "piglet: keychain for low level macro these few nights before I go for a retake on Sat.
Old 14th February 2006   #12
ortega

prone down on the ground lor
Old 15th February 2006   #13
DeSwitch

prone down on the ground lor

I did the elephant crawl. but still got hand shake. old man liao I think.
Old 15th February 2006   #14
ortega

cannot be older than me right?
Old 15th February 2006   #15
DeSwitch

cannot be older than me right?

I dont know how old you are but I'm considered old liao. Maybe we are in the same age group... I mean real age not age in photography which I cannot conpare with any of you. (still baby)