Thread: Digging for Gold

Default Digging for Gold

Thank you for all your comments.

Digging for Gold

Arms Wide Open

This is my first try at macro. Loved the experience. wish i knew how to increase DOF

cheers

Default Re: Digging for Gold

love both pics, especially the first.

i expected a pic of someone digging his nose... ah.. never mind... pics look excellent!! to increase DOF use a smaller apperture (larger f/ number)
    Many are culled, few are chosen

Quote Originally Posted by Trigger Happy
    i expected a pic of someone digging his nose... ah.. never mind... pics look excellent!! to increase DOF use a smaller apperture (larger f/ number)
    Hahahaha...me too. Thought might have caught a taxi driving digging. Oh well.

Very nice pictures.
    I was not aware can get so close to bees, will it sting you?
    Last edited by dRebelXT; 6th February 2006 at 08:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dRebelXT
    Very nice pictures.
    I was not aware can get so close to bees, will it sting you?
    well depends.. if you dont disturb them and as long as they dont see u as a danger they wont sting but getting them into focus is the real issue.. they wont stay still..

Thanks Trigger_Happy for the tip but i tried that already.. still DOF is really shallow in macro... any other way?

what was your set up (f/ number, shutter speed, focal length etc) for the bee shot?

what was your set up (f/ number, shutter speed, focal length etc) for the bee shot?
    this shot was f8|1/320|ISO400|50mm with 25mm extention tube

for my earlier shots i was using f16.. but DOF still shallow and moreover the bees would come blur.. then i switched to f8 or f11.. had to go for such coz needed atleast 1/300 to capture bee's wings (in case they flew) and i already went up on ISO to 400.. for once i thought of pushing to f16 and ISO800 but was hesitant on image quality