Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Do I need to calibrate??

  1. #1
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Do I need to calibrate??

    I was lookin at Eye One V 2 and Spyder Pro calibration tool. Which one shall i choose? Mainly photoshop or do I really needed one?

    Here's the story:

    I had 2 incident happen that after retouching my photos, ppl tend to complain its abit dark. I thought it was their eyes prob, but its not when I brought my portable hdd to coy to check on the screen and it appear to be dark (about 1/2 stop down)! *Its proven when I had the photos printed out @ KT. The girl also mention that its abit dark. Now what Im facing the problem is that I do not how to make sure my brightness / contrast on my CRT is correct or not. Ideas?

    Was wondering is there anyway I can manual set this two? My Brightness is set at 50 and Contrast at 90 on Samsung Sync Master 793DF CRT. Using Dual screen of Analog and DVI. However, analog seem to be sharper then DVI appear on my CRT.

    Does calibration helps on the control of brightness and contrast as well?

    guideline, please?

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Eye One Display V 2.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    You can see the Macworld comparison review between the ColorVision's Spyder2PRO Studio with Gretag Macbeth's Eye-One Display 2 & Monaco's OptixXR Pro here http://www.macworld.com/2005/03/revi...ator/index.php

    I am also running the MO for Spyder2PRO here http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=176295

  4. #4

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by josho
    I was lookin at Eye One V 2 and Spyder Pro calibration tool. Which one shall i choose? Mainly photoshop or do I really needed one?

    Here's the story:

    I had 2 incident happen that after retouching my photos, ppl tend to complain its abit dark. I thought it was their eyes prob, but its not when I brought my portable hdd to coy to check on the screen and it appear to be dark (about 1/2 stop down)! *Its proven when I had the photos printed out @ KT. The girl also mention that its abit dark. Now what Im facing the problem is that I do not how to make sure my brightness / contrast on my CRT is correct or not. Ideas?

    Was wondering is there anyway I can manual set this two? My Brightness is set at 50 and Contrast at 90 on Samsung Sync Master 793DF CRT. Using Dual screen of Analog and DVI. However, analog seem to be sharper then DVI appear on my CRT.

    Does calibration helps on the control of brightness and contrast as well?

    guideline, please?
    Hm...

    Need help here too.

    New to digital-photography and associated processing, can someone pls enlighten me as to what exactly calibration does? Is it simply making "what i see on my screen close to the final print resut" ? Or is there more?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by mm63
    You can see the Macworld comparison review between the ColorVision's Spyder2PRO Studio with Gretag Macbeth's Eye-One Display 2 & Monaco's OptixXR Pro here http://www.macworld.com/2005/03/revi...ator/index.php

    I am also running the MO for Spyder2PRO here http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=176295

    Look like the write prefer Spyder alot then Eye One v2. hmm..

  6. #6
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Get the EyeOne... forget the Spyder...

  7. #7

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    y forget the spyder?

  8. #8
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Get the EyeOne... forget the Spyder...
    Reason?

    Pro always say one sentence without giving any reason.

  9. #9
    Senior Member azul123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Eastern Bloc
    Posts
    2,776

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    If you have done comparisons already, can tell how much on the 2 products? thinking of getting a Calibration device, prefers to have my photos they way I like it than having the Color Labs making adjustments on my behalf.

    ../auzl123

  10. #10
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    azul!!! Long time no see!!! haha... I guess Spyder Pro is cheaper then Eye One. I am really wondering which could be the better one though. But after seeing the url Bleuwhale gave, seem like Spyder Pro is much better.

    But Pro say Eye One v2 without giving me any reason why. lol

    I shall see what the rest got to say and make some comparison on how they feel...

  11. #11
    Senior Member azul123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Eastern Bloc
    Posts
    2,776

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by josho
    azul!!! Long time no see!!! haha... I guess Spyder Pro is cheaper then Eye One. I am really wondering which could be the better one though. But after seeing the url Bleuwhale gave, seem like Spyder Pro is much better.

    But Pro say Eye One v2 without giving me any reason why. lol

    I shall see what the rest got to say and make some comparison on how they feel...
    Ya lah... long time no see, now using S3Pro already ah?... good for you .

    As for the Calibration device as long as they can get the job done and print as wysiwyg is ok.

    ../azul123

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Not sure about Eye One but seems like Spyder is a waste of time on PC. At least my friend tried it for 2 months toying with it and doesn't seemed to work. Finally, I bought over for my Mac and after the calibration, sent a Macbeth chart shot with a DSLR to colour proofing and BINGO. It's 90-95% close in colour.

    If your problem is all about brightness on your screen, why not just try the calibration steps in PS. Not unless you are Pro handling digital workflows everyday and precision means business. Just my two Baht worth of thoughts.

    Or try talk to ESPN, if I didn't remember wrongly saw him mentioned in another thread regarding the comparison. Sorry if I'm wrong, I must be dead wrong if I did. Sign of getting old.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by Witness
    y forget the spyder?
    most people will say cos spyder is cheap.... some will quote from magazine saying that spyder is not as accurate as eye1. My personaly opnion is thatif you already spend tons of $$$ getting good photography equipment and high end monitor why not just get the better product of the 2? if you are just doing photography for fun and is on a low budget sypder will definately suit your needs.... its all about balancing the books.

  14. #14
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    Quote Originally Posted by idor
    most people will say cos spyder is cheap.... some will quote from magazine saying that spyder is not as accurate as eye1. My personaly opnion is thatif you already spend tons of $$$ getting good photography equipment and high end monitor why not just get the better product of the 2? if you are just doing photography for fun and is on a low budget sypder will definately suit your needs.... its all about balancing the books.
    PRO comment

  15. #15

    Default Re: Do I need to calibrate??

    For software only calibration using your eyes, I recommend QuickGamma. It's free too.

    Highly recommended by color expert Norman Koren.
    http://www.normankoren.com/makingfin...tml#QuickGamma

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •