Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Setting up softbox

  1. #1

    Default Setting up softbox

    Hello...

    I have troubles setting up softboxes, always fail to insert all the metal rods. Must use a lot of force is it?

    Can anyone here give me some tips to set it up fast and correctly? If have pics, lagi best!

    Cheers...

  2. #2
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    must bend the rods to go in

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Where is the instruction sheet?
    What the brand and model of this softbox?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    must bend the rods to go in
    Yah... I bend really hard loh... very afraid that I will tear the softbox!

    Just curious, how much time you take to set up a square softbox?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    Where is the instruction sheet?
    What the brand and model of this softbox?
    Ha, there is no instruction sheet. The brand is Jinbei. It comes with 4 long matal rods where you have to insert into the attachment which is to be attach to the strobe.

  6. #6
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Have not use Jinbei before, but heard is same mount as Bowns.

    Have you change car tyres before? You need to fasten the nuts in diagonally, softbox also the same, fix the 2 rods diagonally first, if there is a making of the hole of the adopts ring, that one should be the last one to go in.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    Have not use Jinbei before, but heard is same mount as Bowns.

    Have you change car tyres before? You need to fasten the nuts in diagonally, softbox also the same, fix the 2 rods diagonally first, if there is a making of the hole of the adopts ring, that one should be the last one to go in.
    Thanks! Will try that later...

    Also, how much time you usually take to set one up? Becos, I think I will take very very long.

  8. #8
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by canonlaser
    Thanks! Will try that later...

    Also, how much time you usually take to set one up? Becos, I think I will take very very long.
    hard to say lar,
    small size 5~10 mins. large one 6' is about 30mins.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    hard to say lar,
    small size 5~10 mins. large one 6' is about 30mins.
    I think I will take more than 5-10 mins man...

    Ha... I can't believe spending 30mins on a softbox man... Thats really time consuming!

  10. #10
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    don't worry, with practice, you can set up easier and faster.

  11. #11
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    When softboxes are new, it takes an especially long time to set up. When its older and more broken it, it will get easier.

    THe bigger it is, the harder it is. And when I first set up my new softboxes, I had to use a rather substantial measure of force to push the rods in - you won't tear the softbox as the force is made towards the mounting ring and not towards the fabric - ie you insert the rods into the fabric part first, then into the metal ring.

    Catchlight's diagonal mounting tip is used my many people, including myself.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    Have not use Jinbei before, but heard is same mount as Bowns.

    Have you change car tyres before? You need to fasten the nuts in diagonally, softbox also the same, fix the 2 rods diagonally first, if there is a making of the hole of the adopts ring, that one should be the last one to go in.
    yeap diagonally 1st...

    anyway my step normally like tis... list the equipment 1st... hehe

    1x white front diffuser
    1x internal reflector cover
    1x frame
    4x metal rod

    optional, gobo, etc... not going into that...

    1st place 2 rods on the frame, diagonally,

    insert 1 of the rod into 1 of the corner of the white front diffuser, remember not to poke on the diffuser instead... there is a pocket for it.

    bend the other rod, and slide in the other rod into the white diffuser

    put in the other 2 rods

    place the reflector cover over the frame & velcro the white diffuser to the cover.

    viola...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by vince123123
    When softboxes are new, it takes an especially long time to set up. When its older and more broken it, it will get easier.

    THe bigger it is, the harder it is. And when I first set up my new softboxes, I had to use a rather substantial measure of force to push the rods in - you won't tear the softbox as the force is made towards the mounting ring and not towards the fabric - ie you insert the rods into the fabric part first, then into the metal ring.

    Catchlight's diagonal mounting tip is used my many people, including myself.
    Thanks, this is really helpful! Think I will use pure brute force on my softbox liao...Haha.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    yeap diagonally 1st...

    anyway my step normally like tis... list the equipment 1st... hehe

    1x white front diffuser
    1x internal reflector cover
    1x frame
    4x metal rod

    optional, gobo, etc... not going into that...

    1st place 2 rods on the frame, diagonally,

    insert 1 of the rod into 1 of the corner of the white front diffuser, remember not to poke on the diffuser instead... there is a pocket for it.

    bend the other rod, and slide in the other rod into the white diffuser

    put in the other 2 rods

    place the reflector cover over the frame & velcro the white diffuser to the cover.

    viola...
    Yo Del, you made it sounds so easy... Think I have to practise more and more to be efficient. Thanks for your tips!

  15. #15

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Anyone else has any innovative methods to add??

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by canonlaser
    Yo Del, you made it sounds so easy... Think I have to practise more and more to be efficient. Thanks for your tips!
    actually the hard 1 is the rod... u should bend the rod few times to make it 'bendable'... using it to cane somebody is a good idea...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    actually the hard 1 is the rod... u should bend the rod few times to make it 'bendable'... using it to cane somebody is a good idea...
    u like to try?

  18. #18

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    wah you guys must be using hard-ass rods.
    I'm using photoflex which has quick release straps at the ends of the softboxes which really help speed things up. takes me about 5 mins,tops. 4 ft type

    I once bought a chimera softbox. took me 2 days to set it up.
    yup!2 days.haha.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by canonlaser
    Anyone else has any innovative methods to add??
    Get the inflatable 1s.
    Just blow up the whole thing can liao.
    No need use so much force.


    .

  20. #20

    Default Re: Setting up softbox

    Quote Originally Posted by mattlock
    wah you guys must be using hard-ass rods.
    I'm using photoflex which has quick release straps at the ends of the softboxes which really help speed things up. takes me about 5 mins,tops. 4 ft type

    I once bought a chimera softbox. took me 2 days to set it up.
    yup!2 days.haha.
    Hi Mattlock, how much you purchase your photoflex? From CP?

    Ha... 2 days to set up a softbox is indeed a killer! Hope you don't dismantle it after that time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •