![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
I was considering between these few films to shoot a friends solemnisation ceremony. It will be conducted mostly indoors with a large glass wall to let in some ambient light (will sill use flash).
Colour: 1. Fuji NPC 2. Kodak Portra 160 or 400 VC 3. Fuji NPH I would like to ask your opnions on these few films and your expereinces with them. So far i have only tried NPC and like the results under good lighitng. It handles dull lighting pretty well as its a natually high contrast film but i wonder how it would handle people with flash. I am not familliar with b/w films so maybe some of you can reccommend some to me? Also is it possible to shoot with a high iso film to use the ambient light more? |
|
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
|
if u can find the Pro-series of fuji film in the stores, u can try it. this is my current favourite for both the 35mm and 120 format. so far, i've no complaints abt using this film with flash - as long as i bounce it off something (which is much preferred anyway). http://www.fujifilm.com/JSP/fuji/epa...tsPortrait.jsp BnW - some wedding photogs here like the fuji neopan. i bought some b4 over at konota (neopan 1600). at ISO1600, shld be more than enuf to shoot in ambient lighting. ![]()
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
|
I think thier new Pro series replacess thier older NP seires ( it was NPC/NPS160 and NPH400 previously) and ye sii like how my first roll or NPC turned out. Thanks for your feedback and help. |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 | |
|
|
mebbe its just me, but i almost never push my BnW film. so, i'm afraid i can't answer ur question on how neopan will behave when u push it 1 stop. can't remember how much is 1 roll of neopan 1600 at konota already... bought last yr. ![]()
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
I will most likely develop in bedok since i kex offers b&w developing and scanning all in one shop . Might go down konota to see prices liao.. thanks agian.
|
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
|
![]()
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
|
Latest batch of NPC scanned there.. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
spelling error..i think
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
Do not use NPC (now replaced by Pro160C) if your friends are wearing traditional black and white. The high contrast of NPC/Pro 160C will not hold details in both black and white. NPS/Pro 160S is the preferred film for that sort of application.
I do not know the way that you are accustomed to using flash, but if you do want to use flash, you can only let ambient light infleunce the exposure if the flash is only being used as a low-level fill, otherwise it will overwhelm the available light. In general, you will have to throttle down your flash and open up your lens, and shoot at about 1/30s or even less. Keep in mind the colour temperature of the environment as this will influence film choices. IMHO, if shooting under tungsten lighting indoors, a lower contrast film (NPH400/ NPZ800/Natura1600) is preferable, because unless you are shooting with correction filters, it will be a lot easier to correct, or partially correct the tungsten cast when printing. I recently shot a wedding with available light only, using NPZ800 and Natura 1600. IMHO, Natura 1600 is the best high speed film available now, though you have to purchase it direct from Japan as Fuji does not import it here. Its contrast and colour balance is a lot like NPS/ Pro 160S, but with an effective speed of about 800to 1000. I agree with student that you should not use B&W if you are unfamiliar with it. There are too many variables, and high quality processing is not available in Singapore, unless you DIY. Last edited by LKSC; 15th January 2006 at 01:54 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
|
My suggestion is to use a chromogenic film like Ilford Xp2 and let it be processed the usual way. |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
|
Last edited by raptor84; 15th January 2006 at 07:15 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
|
For ilford, they have both traditional and C41 B&W film. Different film types got diff iso. Here are a few for eg. 1. Ilford Delta 100 (ISO 100) 2. Ilford Delta 400 (ISO 400) 3. Ilford Delta 3200 (ISO 3200) 4. Ilford FP4 (ISO 125) 5. Ilford HP5 (ISO 400) 6. Ilford Pan F (ISO 50) 7. Ilford XP2 super (ISO 400) This is a C41 process B&W film. As for why can it be processed by C41, think it got to do with how the emulsion works. |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
|
I just read that the illford hp2+ can only be exposed at 800 and processed normally and founf out that kodak also makes a BW400CN thats also processed by c41. Anybody used this before?
Also does anyone know where to find FUJI NPZ (800 speed) film? and how the quality is? Last edited by raptor84; 15th January 2006 at 09:41 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
|
personally don't like the chromogenic films xp2 & 400cn, too clean. but convenient lah, tradeoff.
NPZ reviews http://www.photographyreview.com/cat...2_3120crx.aspx |
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
|
Used BW400CN but only a few roll. So far no complain. Click on the thread below. Not too sure if you like this kind of effect.
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...hlight=bw400cn I would recommend Fuji press 800 if you are going on colour. Can be bought at penisular area.
|
|
#19 | |
|
|
Kodak 400CN is also a chromogenic film and can be processed in the usual way by most photoshops. The choice of XP2 and 400CN is a matter of choice. They are very similar, although I personally prefer XP2. The advantage of chromogenic films is ease of development and little grain. They can be used for "dreamy/softer" effects. |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
|
if u dun intend print the traditional way via an enlarger,it will be better to use a hi speed color film instead.
Scanning and converting them to B&W/sepia/blue etc.. print is MUCH faster and easier,u get the color option if u like as well! Fuji range of hi speed film is really impressive. |
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|