View Poll Results: Entry level equiment are use only by newbie

Voters
158. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes

    24 15.19%
  • no

    134 84.81%
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 134

Thread: Does the equipment you use determine if you are a newbie?

  1. #61

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    I am not a pro. But I think I can reasonably say I am also not a "very" newbie.

    A friend lent me his digital P&S (Can't remember the model). You know what? I did not even know how to switch on the camera!

    So if you lend me a 1Ds Mk II, I may not even know which is top and which is bottom!
    As long as you can tell the front from the back you'll be OK

  2. #62

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by cyber_m0nkey
    As long as you can tell the front from the back you'll be OK

    Then my mug-face got photographed instead of the beautiful model, how?

  3. #63

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    I'm a newbie using 300D for the past 2 years.
    My equipment will always be better than my skills.

  4. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    2,548

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    No it doesn't.

    Good quality work can be produced by just about any modern camera be it film or SLR. It's entirely up to the photographer.

    With that said the modern levels of automation in cameras (AF, automatic exposure control etc) have enabled people with little to zero knowledge to take at least passable shots, something that was much harder to do 20-30 years ago, when wielding an SLR meant you had to have some foundations in the basics such as exposure theory to make a shot that was printable.
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

  5. #65

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    I am newbie also.

  6. #66
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    Photograms - don't even need camera can also make photographs.
    ,



    Ever thinking of taking self portrait by using photocopy machine?

  7. #67

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by clarinet
    Recently heard somewhere that a equiment determine if the photographer is a newbie or not. For example, entry level DSLR like 300D, 350D and D50 are use only by newbie.... Just want to see how many hold this view.

    Cheer
    i dun even own a DSLR. that makes me even less than a newbie!

  8. #68

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    ,



    Ever thinking of taking self portrait by using photocopy machine?


    I did that long ago! The photocopy machine had to be changed after that!

  9. #69

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by zaren
    no need to change the machine. just replace the glass.

    No!No!No!

    My head is heavy, but NOT THAT HEAVY! (Cannot compare to Einstein lah!)

    The glass was OK. Just that the thingy that moves beneath the glass refused to work anymore!

    Sigh! My mug shot was simply too gorgeous for it to handle!

  10. #70

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    No!No!No!

    My head is heavy, but NOT THAT HEAVY! (Cannot compare to Einstein lah!)

    The glass was OK. Just that the thingy that moves beneath the glass refused to work anymore!

    Sigh! My mug shot was simply too gorgeous for it to handle!
    just luv ur humility doc.

  11. #71

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by zaren
    just luv ur humility doc.
    Paiseh! Paiseh!

    You praise me too much lah!

    I feel a swell of vascular dilatation flaring up! Unfortunately I suffer from a severe case of hypertrophic epidermosis, so you won't be able to see the flush from the vascular dilatation that resulted from your unabashed luv!

  12. #72
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    He won't la... he not the usual pro.
    I'm a newbie lousy pro who dunno how to turn on the beep beep sound in d2x

  13. #73
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    I am also a newbie

  14. #74

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by clarinet
    Recently heard somewhere that a equiment determine if the photographer is a newbie or not. For example, entry level DSLR like 300D, 350D and D50 are use only by newbie.... Just want to see how many hold this view.

    Cheer
    a pro using an entry level camera will still take better pix than a novice like me!!!

  15. #75

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    Paiseh! Paiseh!

    You praise me too much lah!

    I feel a swell of vascular dilatation flaring up! Unfortunately I suffer from a severe case of hypertrophic epidermosis, so you won't be able to see the flush from the vascular dilatation that resulted from your unabashed luv!
    i've seen ur pixs...they are really good!!!

  16. #76

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by loudhailer
    i've seen ur pixs...they are really good!!!
    hmm...if we keep this up, will student's head explode?

  17. #77

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by zaren
    hmm...if we keep this up, will student's head explode?
    hahaha...

  18. #78

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by zaren
    hmm...if we keep this up, will student's head explode?

    Oh, No! No! No!

    You know the wonderful sensors in the wonderful D2X or 1Ds MkII? ( Shall limit my self severely! )

    These wonderful sensors are housed in equally wonderful housings.

    And ahem!

    You know what I am saying, right? Rest assured! My head will take A LOT of praises!

  19. #79
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, CanonGraphers.org
    Posts
    3,157

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by loudhailer
    a pro using an entry level camera will still take better pix than a novice like me!!!
    I don agree...in terms of composition...maybe..but in terms of color and sharpness...no.

  20. #80
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by JediForce4ever
    I don agree...in terms of composition...maybe..but in terms of color and sharpness...no.
    Not all great pictures has to be sharp and clear.

    anyway, you would be surprise that most digi piont n shoot produce sharper and brightly-coloured picture (over sharpen and over saturated color)

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •