View Poll Results: Entry level equiment are use only by newbie

Voters
158. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes

    24 15.19%
  • no

    134 84.81%
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 134

Thread: Does the equipment you use determine if you are a newbie?

  1. #41
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    I use 300D also. Fellow CSers? I newbie hoh?

    Quote Originally Posted by clarinet
    Recently heard somewhere that a equiment determine if the photographer is a newbie or not. For example, entry level DSLR like 300D, 350D and D50 are use only by newbie.... Just want to see how many hold this view.

    Cheer
    Kind Regards
    My Picture Website

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    In this small world
    Posts
    3,142

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    I guess I would not know people are talking behind my back somehow until I saw this thread.


    There are one reason why I would require someone as per my thread for a ROM photographer:

    Professional who is bend on staying in the industry, not anyone who buys a DSLR and shoots for extra money, which means responsibility over his/her reputation in the long run.


    This may sound cruel to new photographers into this business, but if you are serious and confident of your pictures, there is no need to be fearful of any requirements unless you are empty vessels. I did not even bother looking at the gears of those who send me their online portfolios and I had been discussing which photographer's pictures would suit the needs.

    Any seasoned or experienced photographer should know to provide the online portfolio in an online environment, or at least provide some contacts to meet offline for discussion if that is preferred for him/her. If I need to ask then one would provide, I can say this person would not stay long in any industry.

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,350

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    "Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?"

    Good question. Again, the answer is, "Yes and No".

    I'm sure any of us can spot a newbie miles away, especially when they're decked out in expensive gear but are constantly scratching their head and unaware of what to do to make things right. Of course, 'newbie' could also mean a person who is still new to their equipment and is in the process of learning.

    Entry-level gear does not make the owner a newbie, but it CAN be limiting in some ways. For example, it's hardly imaginable that an entry-level P&S can shoot full-frame (uncropped), frame-filling shots of the big cats' faces at the zoo. A telephoto lens on an SLR is more likely to achieve such a result. Going to the other extreme, very clear, high quality macro shots will need some additional help or improvisation in order to be achieved on a P&S camera.

    In low light, it's possible to bump up the ISO on most DSLRs and shoot handheld while still getting good quality pictures. Most P&S will only support up to ISO 400, and even then, the resulting images will probably be destroyed by image noise itself.

    Again...good question...it's how people think that counts.

  4. #44
    Senior Member Cheesecake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    I live in a haunted house!!!!!
    Posts
    16,385

    Default Re: Does the equiment you use determine if you are a newbie?

    right equipment for the right job. deliver when u're asked to! that's all!
    You'll Never Walk Alone! - i have the best job in the world!

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    strewberry farm
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by theITguy
    I guess I would not know people are talking behind my back somehow until I saw this thread.


    There are one reason why I would require someone as per my thread for a ROM photographer:

    Professional who is bend on staying in the industry, not anyone who buys a DSLR and shoots for extra money, which means responsibility over his/her reputation in the long run.


    This may sound cruel to new photographers into this business, but if you are serious and confident of your pictures, there is no need to be fearful of any requirements unless you are empty vessels. I did not even bother looking at the gears of those who send me their online portfolios and I had been discussing which photographer's pictures would suit the needs.

    Any seasoned or experienced photographer should know to provide the online portfolio in an online environment, or at least provide some contacts to meet offline for discussion if that is preferred for him/her. If I need to ask then one would provide, I can say this person would not stay long in any industry.

    I think I need to make some clarification. I just went to your thread on ROM photographer. I'm not refering to you, as per say in the PM i send you. Hope I clear some doubt before it lead to some ugly suitation

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    In this small world
    Posts
    3,142

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by reminisce
    oh, that guy sounded rather snobbish. I can't even be bothered to quote him.

    It's got to be the most rubbish crap I've ever heard. What's more he didn't even bother to ask to see portfolio. As if having a "pro" camera automatically means portfolio is guaranteed good.

    There are more reasons behind the decision to ask for better gears than you think. As an interest or hobby, the photo counts. In commercialised photography it is not just the photos that counts.

  7. #47
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Confirm, if you use anything <$3K you are newbie. Anything above 3K you are pro.

    That's why Paul Yeo is a PRO and I want to learn to be like him

  8. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    strewberry farm
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Confirm, if you use anything <$3K you are newbie. Anything above 3K you are pro.

    That's why Paul Yeo is a PRO and I want to learn to be like him
    Paul Yeo? intro leh, i want to learn also...

  9. #49
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by clarinet
    Paul Yeo? intro leh, i want to learn also...
    PM him, he my idol

  10. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    strewberry farm
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    PM him, he my idol
    wait for you to intro... what if he later block me

  11. #51
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by clarinet
    wait for you to intro... what if he later block me
    He won't la... he not the usual pro.

  12. #52

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar
    Ever heard about a guy who went to a shop to buy a 1Ds Mark II and ask the shopkeeper to explain how to use it?
    I am not a pro. But I think I can reasonably say I am also not a "very" newbie.

    A friend lent me his digital P&S (Can't remember the model). You know what? I did not even know how to switch on the camera!

    So if you lend me a 1Ds Mk II, I may not even know which is top and which is bottom!

  13. #53
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    I am not a pro. But I think I can reasonably say I am also not a "very" newbie.

    A friend lent me his digital P&S (Can't remember the model). You know what? I did not even know how to switch on the camera!

    So if you lend me a 1Ds Mk II, I may not even know which is top and which is bottom!
    I believe you..

  14. #54

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by jsbn
    Actually its not only a matter of ergonomics. Better cameras, u CAN actually see the difference in the photos where things like colour, noise level, etc.

    Well, I'm talking abt good photos which are 'see-able'. Not a crap photo taken by someone who holds a SLR like he's holding a PnS - 2 hands on the body, major handshake, wrong exposures, wrong focusing and all usual problems u see with a newbie.
    Only in the digital world where the recording medium is built into the body. With film cameras and in the hands of an experienced photographer, pics taken with an old Nikon F will be as good as an F5 (if the same lenses are used).

  15. #55

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    I am not a pro. But I think I can reasonably say I am also not a "very" newbie.

    A friend lent me his digital P&S (Can't remember the model). You know what? I did not even know how to switch on the camera!

    So if you lend me a 1Ds Mk II, I may not even know which is top and which is bottom!
    That's because the manufacturers (Canon esp) pack their cameras with every conceivable function/gadget they can think of; to make their marketing dept happy. Half of which isn't necessary for taking a good photo.

    One day, photographers will probably have to graduate with a Degree in Engineering before they are allowed to use one.

  16. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    used to use a Canon G5. now use a Canon 20d. I'm still a newbie.

  17. #57

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tetrode
    That's because the manufacturers (Canon esp) pack their cameras with every conceivable function/gadget they can think of; to make their marketing dept happy. Half of which isn't necessary for taking a good photo.
    Ahh, makes me think of the old fashion Leica M.

    Everything functional.

    Nothing unnecessary.

  18. #58

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    Ahh, makes me think of the old fashion Leica M.

    Everything functional.

    Nothing unnecessary.
    You reminded me to think of Nikon FM, dont need battery also can operate ...
    AMPA * WPPI * J team

  19. #59
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by KNIGHT ONG
    You reminded me to think of Nikon FM, dont need battery also can operate ...
    my pinhole camera, don't need lens also can shoot.

  20. #60

    Default Re: Do the equiment you use determine if you are newbie?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    my pinhole camera, don't need lens also can shoot.
    Photograms - don't even need camera can also make photographs.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •