Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Others

Others All other makes/brands/DIY & misc photographic gadgets discussed here.

Old 11th November 2002   #1
darkness

Default Where to get Kenko LD-20T

I have a fren who's going over to Japan soon. I request him to get a Kenko LD-20T, however, I have absolutely no idea where it can be found. Does anyone know where? Read in this forum that someone mentioned that it cannot be found in Akibahara?
Old 11th November 2002   #2
chenwei

Default Re: Where to get Kenko LD-20T

Quote:
Originally posted by darkness
I have a fren who's going over to Japan soon. I request him to get a Kenko LD-20T, however, I have absolutely no idea where it can be found. Does anyone know where? Read in this forum that someone mentioned that it cannot be found in Akibahara?
wah! is it possible to get the raynox DCR-6600 for me at the same time? i dun mind give him the money first...

btw, why dun u get raynox 1850 pro? since LD-20T is 43mm if i am not wrong???
Old 11th November 2002   #3
darkness

Actually quite embarassing lah, I don't know him very well actually. I know him thru a forum (spug.net). Asking him to help me buy something already very paiseh liao, ask him to buy *another* thing will be even more paiseh...

The LD-20T uses a 52mm thread, from the Kenko's website. Seen some of the samples taken with G2 and it's simply fantastic!
Sponsored Link
Old 11th November 2002   #4
chenwei

Quote:
Actually quite embarassing lah, I don't know him very well actually. I know him thru a forum (spug.net). Asking him to help me buy something already very paiseh liao, ask him to buy *another* thing will be even more paiseh...

The LD-20T uses a 52mm thread, from the Kenko's website. Seen some of the samples taken with G2 and it's simply fantastic!
hahaa... nvm, i still asking around... my friend in US, taiwan all said help me to ask but still no reply...
Old 11th December 2002   #5
beluga

Default Re: Where to get Kenko LD-20T

Quote:
You should be able to get it from Yodobashi in Akihabara. Kenko just released a new batch of LD-20T on 25th Nov. I just got my friend to get it for me. Price is 9800 yen + 5% GST, would be 10290 yen. That's around SGD150. I did ask him to get more than one for me but unfortunately he one got 1 unit for me. I should be receiving it by next monday.

Below is a link to some image of the lens attached to the G2.
http://unotaku.boo.jp/dcw/equipments.htm

Last edited by beluga; 11th December 2002 at 05:20 PM.
Old 11th December 2002   #6
chenwei

Default Re: Re: Where to get Kenko LD-20T

Quote:
Originally posted by beluga

You should be able to get it from Yodobashi in Akihabara. Kenko just released a new batch of LD-20T on 25th Nov. I just got my friend to get it for me. Price is 9800 yen + 5% GST, would be 10290 yen. That's around SGD150. I did ask him to get more than one for me but unfortunately he one got 1 unit for me. I should be receiving it by next monday.

Below is a link to some image of the lens attached to the G2.
http://unotaku.boo.jp/dcw/equipments.htm
hi, when u received the lens, do u mind to take some sample shots and tell us how is it perform?
Old 11th December 2002   #7
beluga

Default Re: Re: Re: Where to get Kenko LD-20T

Quote:
Originally posted by chenwei

hi, when u received the lens, do u mind to take some sample shots and tell us how is it perform?
Sure! I reckon that it should be good since it's recommended by this guy, kazutoku. Here is his website:

http://kazutoku.cside21.com/G1andG2/report1_eng3.htm

Also, check out the list of lenses he evaulated and the comments he gave:

http://kazutoku.cside21.com/G1andG2/telewide_eng.htm

He has done quite an extensive research on it. Highly recommended LD-20T, Oly's B-300, tiffen and Canon's TC-58. Personally, if quality among these models are the same, I prefer LD-20T most because B-300 is too big and heavy, tiffen's one is only 43 mm diameter and thus will have less room to avoid vignetting and Canon's magnification is too low. Actual magnification is 1.85x, not 2.0x. My only complain is that it's silver in color. How I hope that it's black in color. I'm really tempted to spray it black.

Last edited by beluga; 11th December 2002 at 06:32 PM.
Old 11th December 2002   #8
beluga

Kenko also recently released a new lens, LD-183T. Magnification is 1.83x if I am not mistaken. I wrote to Kazotoku to ask him how good the quality is for this model. His reply is that the quality is bad.
Old 11th December 2002   #9
cillin

Any idea can used on S602 too?
Old 11th December 2002   #10
mpenza

I did see the 6600 while in London but the price is way too high!!! >>S$300 if I'm not wrong.
Old 11th December 2002   #11
chenwei

Quote:
Originally posted by mpenza
I did see the 6600 while in London but the price is way too high!!! >>S$300 if I'm not wrong.
i already got mine, at S$200

cillin the Kekno LD-20T should be able to used with 602, since it's 52mm thread. In fact I am thinking to buy either this or Raynox 1850, let's see begula's feedback i will decide then.
Old 11th December 2002   #12
mpenza

Kenko one is better....
Old 11th December 2002   #13
chenwei

Quote:
Kenko one is better....
but... very hard to get... can't find any friend to buy.... currently i am able to get raynox 1850 only.
Old 12th December 2002   #14
cillin

Quote:

but... very hard to get... can't find any friend to buy.... currently i am able to get raynox 1850 only.
Let me know if you have lobang to get the Kenko, might be interested if price is ok. I find Raynox 1850 smaple shot got vignette. Thnks.
Old 12th December 2002   #15
mpenza

Quote:

post some sample pics of the same scene taken with the Raynox and without....
Old 12th December 2002   #16
beluga

Quote:

cillin the Kekno LD-20T should be able to used with 602, since it's 52mm thread. In fact I am thinking to buy either this or Raynox 1850, let's see begula's feedback i will decide then.
Yea, will give it a try when I get it. I already got my 49 to 52 step up ring! Managed to get a hoya one at just 5 bucks.
Old 12th December 2002   #17
chenwei

Quote:

post some sample pics of the same scene taken with the Raynox and without....
ya, going to do so but recently no time. so far only tried my macro lens...

btw... anyone else got lobang to get this lens? tried ask around but got old model of kenko lens only...
Old 12th December 2002   #18
darkness

Kenko LD-20T doesn't work with S602?? Some who can read Japanese confirm from here? (Scroll all the way to the bottom). Babelfish's translation seems to imply so.
Old 12th December 2002   #19
chenwei

Quote:
Kenko LD-20T doesn't work with S602?? Some who can read Japanese confirm from here? (Scroll all the way to the bottom). Babelfish's translation seems to imply so.
wah... in my poor japanese, seem like it cannot be used... but how come? it said due to thread size a bit different???
Old 12th December 2002   #20
darkness

From the broken translation from Babelfish, it mention something abt abberations. Could it be due to the 6x zoom on the S602 couple with a 2x TC will cause too much CA for it to be usable??
Closed Thread